The Campaigner Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Campaigner in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Campaigner
The Insider’s Guide
Email marketing with multi-path workflows and audience insights
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among email marketing and newsletter tools, read from Campaigner’s own pages.
Made by J2 Global Canada, Inc. · checked Oct 18, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Campaigner’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Campaigner’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 18, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.4
GPA, above 7 of the 27 other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade
Campaigner is an email marketing platform for businesses that want automation and segmentation without a full marketing suite. It sends campaigns built in drag-and-drop or HTML editors, runs simple and multi-path workflows, personalizes content when an email is opened, and connects to online stores for cart and purchase emails. Plans are priced by contact count, and text messaging is sold as a separate product.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Campaigner, taken from its own pages and our grades.
No App Store rating on record, and it's a web app where the work is building templates, segments and branching workflows.
- 1
Best for segmented email for small online stores
Campaigner is a straight email tool with real depth: multi-path workflows, segments by behaviour, content that changes for each reader, and cart emails for WooCommerce, BigCommerce and Shopify stores.
- 2
Paid plans start at $14 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $14 per month for up to 1,000 contacts.
- 3
You can try it first
30-day free trial with full access to every feature
- 4
It runs on Web
Web.
- 5
Editors and templates
Drag-and-drop and HTML editors, mobile-ready templates, reusable content blocks, content pulled from RSS feeds or a URL, and an AI subject line generator.
- 6
Automation workflows
A visual builder for straight-line or multi-path workflows with time, rule, conditional and custom triggers, delays and an error check before launch. Advanced plan and up.
- 7
Segmentation and dynamic content
Segments by contact fields, campaign activity, form submissions and, on Advanced, location. Dynamic and conditional content changes an email for each reader.
- 8
A 2.4 GPA, above 7 of 27
That is against the other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace Campaigner you would be making newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Campaigner at a glance
- Pricing
- Free trial, from $14 per month for up to 1,000 contacts
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- 30-day free trial with full access to every feature
- Runs on
- Web
- Made by
- J2 Global Canada, Inc., since 1999
- Category
- Email Marketing & Newsletters
- Our grade
- 2.4 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for segmented email for small online stores
Campaigner is a straight email tool with real depth: multi-path workflows, segments by behaviour, content that changes for each reader, and cart emails for WooCommerce, BigCommerce and Shopify stores. Essentials is $14 a month for up to 1,000 contacts. But workflows and dropping Campaigner's branding both need Advanced at $35, and there's no free plan.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | Essentials is $14 a month for up to 1,000 contacts, right at the middle of what email tools charge, and $72 at 10,000. But it has no automation workflows and keeps Campaigner branding; both need Advanced at $35. Campaigner doesn't say whether prices are billed monthly or yearly. |
| Free plan and trial | C | No free plan, but a 30-day free trial with full access to every feature, and no card is mentioned. A month is long enough to run a real campaign or two. |
| Features | B | The whole job: drag-and-drop and HTML editors, A/B and multivariate tests, multi-path workflows with rule triggers, dynamic content, segments, landing pages and store-driven cart emails. Workflows need Advanced, and SMS is a separate product. |
| Ease of use | C | No App Store rating on record, and it's a web app where the work is building templates, segments and branching workflows. The builder checks for errors before launch, which helps, but expect some learning. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web only, with WooCommerce, BigCommerce, Shopify, Zapier, HubSpot, Salesforce, Google Analytics and Adobe Analytics, plus a REST API, webhooks and SFTP imports. No desktop or phone app, so B is the ceiling. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Campaigner is for
- Great if you run a WooCommerce, BigCommerce or Shopify store and want cart and back-in-stock emails
- Handy when you segment hard by behaviour and want emails that change for each reader
- Good for teams that move contacts in bulk over SFTP or the API
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you want automations on the cheapest plan, as workflows start on Advanced at $35
- Not for you if you mind someone else's logo in your emails, as Essentials keeps Campaigner branding
- Tight if you want texts too, as SMS is a separate product, Campaigner SMS
Good to know
Good for
- Businesses that want branching workflows at a low entry price
- Online stores sending cart and back-in-stock emails
- Teams that segment heavily by contact data and behavior
Worth knowing
- Essentials has no automation workflows and keeps Campaigner branding on emails; both need Advanced.
- Reputation Defender list cleaning costs 20% of the plan price, and transactional email is an add-on on Custom plans.
- The pricing page shows monthly prices without saying whether they are billed monthly or yearly, and gives no price above 100,000 contacts.
- Text messaging is a separate product, Campaigner SMS, which can add SMS steps to workflows.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$14
A month to start
Campaigner is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $14 per month for up to 1,000 contacts.
Campaigner doesn't say whether prices are billed monthly or yearly.
Essentials
$14
per month for up to 1,000 contacts, billing term not stated
Editors, templates, A/B and multivariate tests, autoresponders, landing pages and reports, with Campaigner branding. $72 a month at 10,000 contacts.
Advanced
$35
per month for up to 1,000 contacts, billing term not stated
Adds multi-path workflows with time and rule triggers, conversion tracking, purchase behavior and no branding. $124 a month at 10,000 contacts.
Custom
Custom
For large senders: sub-accounts, single sign-on, a dedicated account manager and deliverability consulting. Setup fees may apply.
Trying it first
30-day free trial with full access to every feature
Read from campaigner.com on Oct 18, 2026.
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
1
Place it runs: Web
Email marketing with multi-path workflows and audience insights. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, AI features, marketing automation, forms, email campaigns.
Workflows need Advanced, and SMS is a separate product.
- Editors and templates
- Drag-and-drop and HTML editors, mobile-ready templates, reusable content blocks, content pulled from RSS feeds or a URL, and an AI subject line generator.
- Automation workflows
- A visual builder for straight-line or multi-path workflows with time, rule, conditional and custom triggers, delays and an error check before launch. Advanced plan and up.
- Segmentation and dynamic content
- Segments by contact fields, campaign activity, form submissions and, on Advanced, location. Dynamic and conditional content changes an email for each reader.
- Audience Insights and AI Insight Builder
- A dashboard of contact demographics such as age, location and home ownership, and an add-on that builds mailing lists from a plain-language description.
- Ecommerce emails
- Free WooCommerce and BigCommerce plugins and a Shopify plug-in sync store data for abandoned cart and back-in-stock emails, with purchase history segments on Advanced.
- API, webhooks and SFTP
- A REST API, webhooks for contact, list and campaign activity, and scheduled SFTP imports and exports on every plan.
Where it runs
- Web
What it works with
- WooCommerce
- BigCommerce
- Shopify
- Zapier
- HubSpot
- Salesforce
- Google Analytics
- Adobe Analytics
Campaigner is made by J2 Global Canada, Inc., and has been around since 1999.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
7/27
Other email marketing and newsletter tools it is graded above
Campaigner's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 7 of the 27 other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, and level with 9.
It stands best on features (B, above 4 of 27) and worst on ease of use (C, above 1).
Its paid plans start at $14 a month, against a middle price of $14 for the category: 13 of the 26 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4. 3 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 28 email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. Campaigner’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 6 of 27
- CFree plan and trialAbove 2 of 27
- BFeaturesAbove 4 of 27
- CEase of useAbove 1 of 27
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 27
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 27 email marketing and newsletter tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Campaigner is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace Campaigner you would be making newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 11 of the 27 other email marketing and newsletter tools grade higher. It costs $168 a year.
What you could make
- Forms: an app builder makes this well.
What you could not
- Newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox.
- Email sent in volume that still reaches the inbox.
- It plugs into other products, WooCommerce, BigCommerce and Shopify among them, and has an API.
- AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
- The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.
What this rests on. Campaigner’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
iContact, Constant Contact, ActiveCampaign, GetResponse and Benchmark Email
The 5 tools Campaigner is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.6GPA
iContact
Free trial · from $9/mo
Email marketing for small businesses, with social posting built in.
- iContact also covers templates.
- 2.6GPA
Constant Contact
Free trial · from $10.20/mo
Email, SMS and social marketing for small businesses.
- Only Constant Contact lists an iOS app.
- Constant Contact also covers business texting.
- 2.4GPA
ActiveCampaign
Free trial · from $15/mo
Email marketing and multi-step automation priced by contacts.
- ActiveCampaign also covers sales pipeline and reports.
- 2.4GPA
GetResponse
Free plan · from $19/mo
Email marketing with automation, webinars, courses and landing pages.
- GetResponse has a free plan. Campaigner does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only GetResponse lists iOS and Android apps.
- GetResponse also covers paid newsletters and live chat.
- 2.2GPA
Benchmark Email
Free plan · from $16/mo
Straightforward email campaigns with every feature on every plan.
- Benchmark Email has a free plan. Campaigner does not, though it has a free trial.
- Campaigner also covers marketing automation.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
13
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Campaigner free?
No, Campaigner is a paid product, but you can try it first. 30-day free trial with full access to every feature.
How much does Campaigner cost?
Campaigner lists 3 plans. Essentials: $14 per month for up to 1,000 contacts, billing term not stated.
What platforms does Campaigner work on?
Campaigner is available on Web.
Does Campaigner have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Campaigner is listed for Web.
Does Campaigner have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Campaigner is listed for Web.
Is Campaigner open source?
Campaigner is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
Does Campaigner have an API?
Yes. Campaigner offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does Campaigner integrate with?
Campaigner's listing names WooCommerce, BigCommerce, Shopify, Zapier, HubSpot, Salesforce, Google Analytics and Adobe Analytics.
Who makes Campaigner?
Campaigner is made by J2 Global Canada, Inc. It dates from 1999.
What are the alternatives to Campaigner?
The closest alternatives to Campaigner in our directory are iContact, Constant Contact, ActiveCampaign, GetResponse and Benchmark Email.
How does Campaigner compare with other email marketing and newsletter tools?
Campaigner's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 7 of the 27 other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, and level with 9.
Is Campaigner good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Campaigner C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $14 a month, against a middle price of $14 for the category: 13 of the 26 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Campaigner?
To replace Campaigner you would be making newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Campaigner’s own pages on Oct 18, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 18, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Campaigner's own pages on 18 October 2026. Its pricing page refused our check on the day this card was written, so the card goes on the listing. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by J2 Global Canada, Inc. Prices change, so check campaigner.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
2,021
Tools graded, in 54 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
2,021
tools graded
54
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Campaigner, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/campaigner
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Campaigner: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 18, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/campaigner
Know someone choosing between email marketing and newsletter tools?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/campaigner/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded email marketing and newsletter tools after Campaigner, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Email Marketing & Newsletters Insider's GuideEvery one of the 28 email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, compared
- Zoho Campaigns Insider's GuideEmail, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns that tie into Zoho's apps3.0 GPA
- EmailOctopus Insider's GuideSimple, low-cost email marketing with a free plan for 2,5002.8 GPA
- Mailchimp Insider's GuideEmail and SMS marketing with automations, priced by contact count2.8 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Campaigner’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. Campaigner is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by J2 Global Canada, Inc. Prices and plans change: check campaigner.com before you buy.




