The Clockk Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Clockk in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Clockk
The Insider’s Guide
Automatic time tracking that groups your workday by project

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among time tracking apps, read from Clockk’s own pages.
Made by Clockk.com Inc. · checked Oct 6, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Clockk’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Clockk’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 6, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.2
GPA, above 4 of the 42 other time tracking apps we grade
Clockk is an automatic time tracker for people who bill clients across several projects a day. A desktop app and a browser extension record the active window, the sites visited, draft emails and calendar events, and the web app groups that activity by project so it can be assigned and locked into a timesheet. There is no start and stop timer and no screenshots, and managers see only the timesheets a person submits.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Clockk, taken from its own pages and our grades.
- 1
Best for timesheets without a start and stop timer
Clockk notes what you work on through a desktop app and a browser extension, then the web app sorts it by project so you can lock it into a timesheet, with no timer to remember.
- 2
Paid plans start at $8 a month for each person
As its pricing page puts it: $8 per user / month, billed annually.
- 3
There is a free plan
Express plan, where an account lands if the trial is not upgraded: the daily Timesheet Cheatsheet email, same-day access to the Activity view and three months of limited tracked data retention.
- 4
It runs on 3 platforms
Web, macOS and Windows, with a browser extension too.
- 5
Tracking without timers
The Mac or Windows desktop app records the active window by app and document name, and a browser extension records each page's URL and title. Nothing has to be started or stopped.
- 6
Activity view
Each day is laid out project by project, showing the files, apps, web apps, calendar events and emails behind the time. Items are assigned to a project once or always.
- 7
AI project grouping
Clockk learns from past assignments and assigns matching work to the same project. On supported apps it reads the document or account name to tell projects apart.
- 8
A 2.2 GPA, above 4 of 42
That is against the other time tracking apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
The plain part of Clockk you could make: time tracking and reports. What surrounds it you could not. The 5 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.
Clockk at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $8 per user / month, billed annually
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of every paid plan, no credit card required; the pricing page does not state its length
- Runs on
- Web, macOS, Windows, Browser extension
- Made by
- Clockk.com Inc.
- Category
- Time Tracking
- Our grade
- 2.2 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for timesheets without a start and stop timer
Clockk notes what you work on through a desktop app and a browser extension, then the web app sorts it by project so you can lock it into a timesheet, with no timer to remember. There's no phone app, time can't be pinned to single tickets, the free plan shows today only, FreshBooks is the only outside tool connected so far, and budgets and team reports wait for Studio at $15 a user.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | Insight is $8 a user a month paid yearly, $12 monthly, which is mid-table for a time tracker. The bit agencies actually want, tags, project budgets, team reports and the FreshBooks link, waits on Studio at $15, and that is a long way above what this category charges. |
| Free plan and trial | C | Express is free and it's where you land if you don't upgrade after the trial, but it's drawn tight: the Activity view shows today only, and limited data is kept for three months. The trial itself needs no card. |
| Features | C | It records the active window, the pages you visit, draft emails and calendar events, then groups them by project with some AI help, and locks the result into a timesheet. But time can't be pinned to a single ticket or task, which the FAQ confirms, and there's no timer for the times you'd want one. |
| Ease of use | C | No store rating on record. You install a desktop app and a browser extension, then connect Gmail, Outlook or Exchange and your calendars, and you still assign each day's work to projects before it counts. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web, Mac, Windows and a browser extension, with an API and hooks into Gmail, Outlook and Google Calendar. No phone app, and the FAQ says one is a long way off. FreshBooks is the only invoicing tool connected so far. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Clockk is for
- Fits if you bill several clients in one day and forget to start a timer
- Works for teams that want timesheets without screenshots
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you track time away from your desk, because there's no mobile app and one is a long way off
- Not for you if time has to land on single tickets in a project tool, which Clockk won't do
- Tight if you stay on Express, as it only shows the current day and keeps limited data for three months
- Pricey if you need tags, project budgets, team reports or FreshBooks, as they start on Studio at $15 a user
- Watch out: FreshBooks is the only live integration, QuickBooks and Clio are announced only, and the trial length isn't stated
Good to know
Good for
- Freelancers and agencies that bill hours to several clients in a day
- People who forget to start and stop timers
- Teams that want timesheets without employee monitoring
Worth knowing
- There is no mobile app; the FAQ says one is planned but still a long way off.
- The free Express plan shows only the current day in the Activity view and keeps limited tracked data for three months.
- FreshBooks is the only third-party integration available today; QuickBooks and Clio are announced but not yet listed as live.
- Time cannot be attached to individual tickets or tasks in a project tool, a choice the vendor explains in its FAQ.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$8
A month to start, for each person. There is a free plan too
Clockk has a free plan. Paid plans start at $8 per user / month, billed annually.
Express
$0
Daily Timesheet Cheatsheet email, same-day access to the Activity view and three months of limited tracked data retention.
Insight
$8
per user / month, billed annually ($12 billed monthly)
Unlimited Activity view and data retention, AI project grouping, idle time detection and limited API access.
Studio
$15
per user / month, billed annually ($18 billed monthly)
Adds tags, project-user permissions, project budgets, team timesheet reports and integrations such as FreshBooks.
Agency
$20
per user / month, billed annually ($24 billed monthly)
Adds single sign-on with Microsoft Entra ID or Google, full API access, an admin assistant per seat (in beta) and an account manager.
The free plan
Express plan, where an account lands if the trial is not upgraded: the daily Timesheet Cheatsheet email, same-day access to the Activity view and three months of limited tracked data retention.
Trying it first
Free trial of every paid plan, no credit card required; the pricing page does not state its length
Read from clockk.com on Oct 6, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
Up to 33% less with annual billing
The pricing page lists Insight at $8 per user a month annually against $12 monthly (33% less), Studio at $15 against $18 and Agency at $20 against $24 (17% less each).
Stated on clockk.com
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
4
Places it runs: Web, macOS, Windows and Browser extension
Automatic time tracking that groups your workday by project. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, AI features, time tracking, reports.
But time can't be pinned to a single ticket or task, which the FAQ confirms, and there's no timer for the times you'd want one.
- Tracking without timers
- The Mac or Windows desktop app records the active window by app and document name, and a browser extension records each page's URL and title. Nothing has to be started or stopped.
- Activity view
- Each day is laid out project by project, showing the files, apps, web apps, calendar events and emails behind the time. Items are assigned to a project once or always.
- AI project grouping
- Clockk learns from past assignments and assigns matching work to the same project. On supported apps it reads the document or account name to tell projects apart.
- Email and calendar tracking
- The desktop app connects to Gmail, Outlook or Exchange, or an IMAP server to time draft emails, and imports Google and Outlook calendars or any public .ics feed.
- Timesheets, budgets and team reports
- Assigned time is locked in as a timesheet. Studio adds tags, project budgets, project-user permissions and team reports, including one listing who has not submitted.
- Private by design
- Clockk takes no screenshots and tracked activity is visible only to the person it belongs to. Employers see submitted timesheets, and tracking can be switched off at any time.
Where it runs
- Web
- macOS
- Windows
- Browser extension
What it works with
- FreshBooks
- Google Calendar
- Outlook Calendar
- Gmail
Clockk is made by Clockk.com Inc.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
4/42
Other time tracking apps it is graded above
Clockk's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 4 of the 42 other time tracking apps we grade, and level with 3.
It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 11 of 42) and worst on free plan and trial (C, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $8 a month for each person, against a middle price of $6.55 for the category: 21 of the 35 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.3 out of 4. 16 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 43 time tracking apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Clockk’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 8 of 42
- CFree plan and trialAbove 0 of 42
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 42
- CEase of useAbove 0 of 42
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 11 of 42
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 39 time tracking apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Clockk is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
The plain part of Clockk you could make: time tracking and reports. What surrounds it you could not. The 5 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 35 of the 42 other time tracking apps grade higher. It costs $96 a year.
What you could make
- Time tracking and reports: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- A real app for macOS and Windows. Something home-made would be a web page.
- It is priced for each person, which means accounts and billing for a team.
- It plugs into other products, FreshBooks, Google Calendar and Outlook Calendar among them, and has an API.
- AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
- What a company asks for before it lets staff use something: roles and permissions.
What this rests on. Clockk’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Timely, Memtime, Rize, Timing and Toggl
The 5 tools Clockk is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.6GPA
Timely
Free trial · from $9/mo
Automatic time tracking with AI-drafted timesheets for teams.
- Clockk has a free plan. Timely does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Clockk lists a browser extension.
- Only Timely lists iOS and Android apps.
- 2.0GPA
Memtime
Free trial · from $14/mo
Automatic desktop time tracker that keeps activity data offline.
- Clockk has a free plan. Memtime does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Clockk lists a browser extension.
- Only Memtime lists a Linux app.
- 2.2GPA
Rize
Free trial · from $9.99/mo
Automatic time tracker with focus tools and AI reports.
- Clockk has a free plan. Rize does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Clockk lists a web app.
- Clockk also covers reports.
- 2.4GPA
Timing
Free trial · from $9/mo
Automatic time tracking for Mac with no timers to start.
- Clockk has a free plan. Timing does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Clockk lists a Windows app.
- Only Clockk lists a browser extension.
- 3.0GPA
Toggl
Free plan · from $9/mo
Team time tracker with billing reports and capacity planning.
- Only Toggl lists iOS and Android apps.
- Clockk also covers reports.
- Toggl also covers tasks, kanban boards, Gantt & timelines and Pomodoro timer.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Clockk free?
Clockk has a free plan. Express plan, where an account lands if the trial is not upgraded: the daily Timesheet Cheatsheet email, same-day access to the Activity view and three months of limited tracked data retention.
How much does Clockk cost?
Clockk lists 4 plans. Express: $0.
What platforms does Clockk work on?
Clockk is available on Web, macOS and Windows. It also has a browser extension.
Does Clockk offer any discounts?
Clockk publicly lists the following: Up to 33% less with annual billing.
Does Clockk have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Clockk is listed for Web, macOS and Windows.
Does Clockk have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Clockk is listed for Web, macOS and Windows.
Is Clockk open source?
Clockk is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.
Does Clockk have an API?
Yes. Clockk offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does Clockk integrate with?
Clockk's listing names FreshBooks, Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar and Gmail.
Does Clockk have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial of every paid plan, no credit card required; the pricing page does not state its length.
Who makes Clockk?
Clockk is made by Clockk.com Inc.
What are the alternatives to Clockk?
The closest alternatives to Clockk in our directory are Timely, Memtime, Rize, Timing and Toggl.
How does Clockk compare with other time tracking apps?
Clockk's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 4 of the 42 other time tracking apps we grade, and level with 3.
Is Clockk good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Clockk C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $8 a month for each person, against a middle price of $6.55 for the category: 21 of the 35 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Clockk?
The plain part of Clockk you could make: time tracking and reports. What surrounds it you could not.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Clockk’s own pages on Oct 6, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Clockk's own pages on 6 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-06-10.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Clockk.com Inc. Prices change, so check clockk.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Clockk, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/clockk
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Clockk: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 6, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/clockk
Know someone choosing between time tracking apps?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/clockk/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded time tracking apps after Clockk, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Time Tracking Insider's GuideEvery one of the 43 time tracking apps we grade, compared
- Jibble Insider's GuideFree time clock and attendance tracker with GPS and face recognition3.4 GPA
- Clockify Insider's GuideTeam time tracker and timesheets with a free plan for 5 users3.2 GPA
- TimeCamp Insider's GuideTime tracking with attendance, billing and a free plan for any team3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Clockk’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Clockk is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Clockk.com Inc. Prices and plans change: check clockk.com before you buy.




