The Flodesk Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Flodesk in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Flodesk
The Insider’s Guide
Design-led email marketing and checkout for creators

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among email marketing and newsletter tools, read from Flodesk’s own pages.
Made by Flodesk Inc. · checked Oct 17, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Flodesk’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Flodesk’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 17, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.4
GPA, above 5 of the 24 other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade
Flodesk is an email marketing service for creators and small businesses that puts its designer templates first. Paid plans include unlimited sends and are priced by active subscribers, and the top plan adds sales pages and checkout through Stripe. Its old flat-rate unlimited plan closed to new members on December 2, 2025.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Flodesk, taken from its own pages and our grades.
The free plan can't send a single email, though, and Lite allows just one workflow.
- 1
Best for beautiful newsletters for creators
Flodesk is for creators who care how their emails look, with designer templates, custom fonts and checkout built in on the top plan.
- 2
Paid plans start at $19 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $19 per month for up to 1,000 subscribers, billed annually.
- 3
There is a free plan
Forms, landing pages, link-in-bio pages and segmentation with no subscriber limit, but no email sending or workflows.
- 4
It runs on Web
Web.
- 5
Designer templates and custom fonts
Email templates with custom layouts, custom fonts, personalized links and Canva imports, aimed at on-brand newsletters.
- 6
Forms, landing pages and link in bio
Pop-up, embedded and hosted forms, landing pages and a link-in-bio page, all available on the Free plan.
- 7
Workflows
Automated email sequences with resend to unopens and a send time optimizer. Lite gets one workflow; Pro and Everything have no limit.
- 8
A 2.4 GPA, above 5 of 24
That is against the other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace Flodesk you would be making newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Flodesk at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $19 per month for up to 1,000 subscribers, billed annually
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of paid features, no credit card required; the length is not stated
- Runs on
- Web
- Made by
- Flodesk Inc.
- Category
- Email Marketing & Newsletters
- Our grade
- 2.4 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for beautiful newsletters for creators
Flodesk is for creators who care how their emails look, with designer templates, custom fonts and checkout built in on the top plan. Paid plans start at $19 a month on yearly billing for 1,000 subscribers, with unlimited sends. The free plan can't send a single email, though, and Lite allows just one workflow.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | Lite is $19 a month for 1,000 subscribers on yearly billing, or $25 monthly, near the dearer end of what email tools charge. Unlimited workflows need Pro at $25, and checkout and sales pages need Everything at $49. Every paid plan sends without a cap. |
| Free plan and trial | C | The free plan has forms, landing pages, link-in-bio pages and segments with no subscriber limit, but it can't send email or run workflows. There's also a card-free trial of the paid features, its length not stated. |
| Features | B | Designer templates with custom fonts and Canva imports, forms, landing pages, link in bio, workflows that resend to people who didn't open, and on the top plan sales pages, subscriptions and payment plans through Stripe with no Flodesk fee. That's the whole job. |
| Ease of use | C | No App Store rating on record and no phone app. The templates do a lot of the design for you, but you still build forms, pages and workflows in the web app. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web only, with Shopify, Canva, Instagram, Squarespace, Wix, ThriveCart, Manychat and Zapier, an API and an MCP link for Claude and ChatGPT. No desktop or phone app keeps it at a B. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Flodesk is for
- Great if you're a creator who wants on-brand emails without designing from scratch
- Handy when you sell a course or coaching and want checkout next to your list
- Good for building a list for free before you're ready to send
Who it is not for
- Tight if you're on Lite, which allows one workflow and stops at 25,000 subscribers
- Skip it if you want to send for free, as sending starts on the $19 plan
- Not for you if your business is outside the US, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand or the euro area and you want checkout
Good to know
Good for
- Creators who care most about how their emails look
- Coaches and course sellers who want checkout and email in one place
- People who want to build a list for free before sending
Worth knowing
- The Free plan cannot send email; sending starts with Lite.
- Lite stops at 25,000 subscribers and allows a single workflow.
- Checkout works only for businesses in the US, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and euro-area countries.
- Passing a subscriber tier moves you to the next tier automatically at the next billing date.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$19
A month to start. There is a free plan too
Flodesk has a free plan. Paid plans start at $19 per month for up to 1,000 subscribers, billed annually.
The free plan has forms, landing pages, link-in-bio pages and segments with no subscriber limit, but it can't send email or run workflows.
Free
$0
Forms, landing pages, link-in-bio pages and templates to grow a list. Sending email needs a paid plan.
Lite
$19
per month for up to 1,000 subscribers, billed annually ($25 monthly)
Unlimited sends, analytics, 1 seat and 1 workflow as a limited-time bonus; 25,000 subscribers at most. $72 a month billed monthly at 10,000 subscribers.
Pro
$25
per month for up to 1,000 subscribers, billed annually ($28 monthly)
Unlimited workflows, advanced analytics, an option to hide the Flodesk footer, 2 seats and 1 checkout. $79 a month billed monthly at 10,000 subscribers.
Everything
$49
per month for up to 1,000 subscribers, billed annually ($54 monthly)
Unlimited checkouts, sales pages, subscriptions, payment plans, abandoned cart automations and 3 seats. $137 a month billed monthly at 10,000 subscribers.
The free plan
Forms, landing pages, link-in-bio pages and segmentation with no subscriber limit, but no email sending or workflows.
Trying it first
Free trial of paid features, no credit card required; the length is not stated
Read from flodesk.com on Oct 17, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
One month free with annual billing
Annual billing charges 11 months instead of 12: Pro at 1,000 subscribers is $25 a month instead of $28, saving $33 a year.
Stated on flodesk.com
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
1
Place it runs: Web
Design-led email marketing and checkout for creators. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, marketing automation, forms, email campaigns.
Web only, with Shopify, Canva, Instagram, Squarespace, Wix, ThriveCart, Manychat and Zapier, an API and an MCP link for Claude and ChatGPT.
- Designer templates and custom fonts
- Email templates with custom layouts, custom fonts, personalized links and Canva imports, aimed at on-brand newsletters.
- Forms, landing pages and link in bio
- Pop-up, embedded and hosted forms, landing pages and a link-in-bio page, all available on the Free plan.
- Workflows
- Automated email sequences with resend to unopens and a send time optimizer. Lite gets one workflow; Pro and Everything have no limit.
- Checkout and sales pages
- Sell products with sales pages, upsells, subscriptions, payment plans and discount codes. Payments run through Stripe with no added Flodesk fee.
- Flodesk MCP
- Connect Claude, ChatGPT and other AI tools to ask about your emails, reach subscribers and manage your list.
Where it runs
- Web
What it works with
- Shopify
- Canva
- Squarespace
- Wix
- ThriveCart
- Manychat
- Zapier
Flodesk is made by Flodesk Inc.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
5/24
Other email marketing and newsletter tools it is graded above
Flodesk's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 5 of the 24 other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, and level with 9.
It stands best on features (B, above 3 of 24) and worst on ease of use (C, above 1).
Its paid plans start at $19 a month, against a middle price of $13 for the category: 15 of the 22 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4. 3 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 25 email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. Flodesk’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 5 of 24
- CFree plan and trialAbove 2 of 24
- BFeaturesAbove 3 of 24
- CEase of useAbove 1 of 24
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 24
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 23 email marketing and newsletter tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Flodesk is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace Flodesk you would be making newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 10 of the 24 other email marketing and newsletter tools grade higher. It costs $228 a year.
What you could make
- Forms: an app builder makes this well.
What you could not
- Newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox.
- Email sent in volume that still reaches the inbox.
- It plugs into other products, Shopify, Canva and Instagram among them, and has an API.
- The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.
What this rests on. Flodesk’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Kit, MailerLite, Mailchimp, beehiiv and AWeber
The 5 tools Flodesk is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.6GPA
Kit
Free plan · from $33/mo
Email marketing and paid newsletters for creators.
- Kit also covers paid newsletters.
- 2.6GPA
MailerLite
Free plan · from $12/mo
Email newsletters, automations, sites and paid subscriptions.
- Only MailerLite lists an iOS app.
- MailerLite also covers paid newsletters.
- 2.8GPA
Mailchimp
Free plan · from $13/mo
Email and SMS marketing with automations, priced by contact count.
- Only Mailchimp lists iOS and Android apps.
- Mailchimp also covers reports.
- 2.4GPA
beehiiv
Free plan · from $49/mo
Newsletter platform with paid subscriptions, ads, website and podcast.
- beehiiv also covers paid newsletters.
- 2.4GPA
AWeber
Free plan · from $12.50/mo
Email marketing for small businesses, with landing pages and a store.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Flodesk free?
Flodesk has a free plan. Forms, landing pages, link-in-bio pages and segmentation with no subscriber limit, but no email sending or workflows.
How much does Flodesk cost?
Flodesk lists 4 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does Flodesk work on?
Flodesk is available on Web.
Does Flodesk offer any discounts?
Flodesk publicly lists the following: One month free with annual billing.
Does Flodesk have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 17, 2026. Flodesk is listed for Web.
Does Flodesk have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 17, 2026. Flodesk is listed for Web.
Is Flodesk open source?
Flodesk is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 17, 2026.
Does Flodesk have an API?
Yes. Flodesk offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does Flodesk integrate with?
Flodesk's listing names Shopify, Canva, Instagram, Squarespace, Wix, ThriveCart, Manychat and Zapier.
Does Flodesk have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial of paid features, no credit card required; the length is not stated.
Who makes Flodesk?
Flodesk is made by Flodesk Inc.
What are the alternatives to Flodesk?
The closest alternatives to Flodesk in our directory are Kit, MailerLite, Mailchimp, beehiiv and AWeber.
How does Flodesk compare with other email marketing and newsletter tools?
Flodesk's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 5 of the 24 other email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, and level with 9.
Is Flodesk good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Flodesk C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $19 a month, against a middle price of $13 for the category: 15 of the 22 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Flodesk?
To replace Flodesk you would be making newsletters sent to thousands of people that still reach the inbox.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Flodesk’s own pages on Oct 17, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 17, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Flodesk's own pages on 17 October 2026. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Flodesk Inc. Prices change, so check flodesk.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
1,858
Tools graded, in 46 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
1,858
tools graded
46
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Flodesk, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/flodesk
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Flodesk: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 17, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/flodesk
Know someone choosing between email marketing and newsletter tools?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/flodesk/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded email marketing and newsletter tools after Flodesk, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Email Marketing & Newsletters Insider's GuideEvery one of the 25 email marketing and newsletter tools we grade, compared
- Zoho Campaigns Insider's GuideEmail, SMS and WhatsApp campaigns that tie into Zoho's apps3.0 GPA
- EmailOctopus Insider's GuideSimple, low-cost email marketing with a free plan for 2,5002.8 GPA
- Mailchimp Insider's GuideEmail and SMS marketing with automations, priced by contact count2.8 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Flodesk’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. Flodesk is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Flodesk Inc. Prices and plans change: check flodesk.com before you buy.


