The Heap Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Heap in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Heap
The Insider’s Guide
Product analytics that captures every click without manual tagging

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among website and product analytics tools, read from Heap’s own pages.
Made by Heap Inc. (part of Contentsquare) · checked Oct 18, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Heap’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Heap’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 18, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.2
GPA, above 0 of the 13 other website and product analytics tools we grade
Heap is a product analytics tool, now part of Contentsquare, that records clicks, pageviews and other interactions automatically so events can be defined after the fact. It shows funnels, user journeys, retention and segments, with Contentsquare's Sense AI assistant answering questions about the data. Plans are priced by monthly sessions; session replay and heatmaps are an add-on for the larger plans.
To get you started, here are 8 things to know about Heap, taken from its own pages and our grades.
That's handy if you never planned your tracking.
- 1
Best for analysing clicks you never planned to track
Heap, now part of Contentsquare, records every click and pageview from one snippet, so you can decide what to measure after the fact.
- 2
There is a free plan
Up to 10,000 sessions a month, core analytics charts, unlimited enrichment sources, guides integrations, single sign-on and 6 months of data history.
- 3
It runs on Web
Web.
- 4
Automatic event capture
Records clicks, pageviews and other interactions on web and mobile from one snippet, so you can define and analyze events after they happened.
- 5
Funnels, journeys and retention
Charts for funnels, retention and visual maps of the paths people take, with segments for comparing groups of users.
- 6
Sense AI assistant
Contentsquare's AI answers questions about your data in chat, writes summaries and suggests follow-ups. It is listed from the Growth plan up.
- 7
A 2.2 GPA, above 0 of 13
That is against the other website and product analytics tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 8
Keep it
Nothing Heap does is plain enough to make in a weekend. The 5 things listed below take a company.
Heap at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial offered from the site; its length and plan are not stated
- Runs on
- Web
- Made by
- Heap Inc. (part of Contentsquare)
- Category
- Website & Product Analytics
- Our grade
- 2.2 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for analysing clicks you never planned to track
Heap, now part of Contentsquare, records every click and pageview from one snippet, so you can decide what to measure after the fact. That's handy if you never planned your tracking. But no paid price is published, replays are a Pro add-on, and the free 10,000 sessions go quickly.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | No published figure for this size. A site with 10,000 visitors makes at least 10,000 sessions, the free cap, so you'd tip into Growth, which is only quoted after you install the snippet. Pro and Premier go through sales. No price, so a C. |
| Free plan and trial | C | Free up to 10,000 sessions a month, with core charts, SSO and 6 months of history. Past the cap your data keeps arriving, but you can't see it until you upgrade. There's a trial too, though its length isn't stated. |
| Features | C | Autocapture, funnels, journeys, retention and segments, with the Sense AI assistant from Growth up. Graded against Amplitude, Mixpanel and PostHog, which include replays even free, here replays and heatmaps are an add-on for Pro and Premier only. |
| Ease of use | C | No rating on record. Not having to tag events up front is a real head start, but you still define events afterwards and learn the charts, and paid plans start with a sales conversation. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web only, with no desktop or phone app. It connects to Salesforce, Snowflake, Segment, Shopify, Iterable, Klaviyo and Marketo, and Heap Connect sends data to your warehouse on Pro and Premier. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Heap is for
- Great if you never planned your event tracking and want to look back at clicks
- Handy when you already use Contentsquare and want product analytics beside it
- Good for SaaS teams and shops digging into sign-up and checkout funnels
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you want to see a price before you install anything
- Not for you if you want session replays on a cheaper plan, as they're a Pro add-on
- Tight if you stay free, with 10,000 sessions and data you can't view past the cap
Good to know
Good for
- Product teams that do not want to plan event tracking up front
- SaaS and online stores studying sign-up and checkout funnels
- Companies already using Contentsquare
Worth knowing
- No paid prices are published: Growth is quoted after you install the snippet, and Pro and Premier are priced by monthly sessions through sales.
- Session replay, heatmaps and error analysis are an add-on for Pro and Premier only.
- Past your plan's monthly session limit, data keeps arriving but you cannot view it until you upgrade.
- Free keeps 6 months of data and Growth 12; up to 3 years is an add-on on Pro and Premier.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
4
plans to choose from
Heap has a free plan.
Past the cap your data keeps arriving, but you can't see it until you upgrade.
Free
$0
Up to 10,000 monthly sessions, core charts, 6 months of data history and SSO.
Growth
Custom
Price estimated after you install the tracking snippet. Adds the Sense AI assistant, unlimited users and reports, CSV exports, 12 months of data.
Pro
Custom
Sold through sales, priced by sessions: account analytics, engagement matrix, report alerts, 2 environments; session replay as an add-on.
Premier
Custom
Sold through sales: warehouse sync, behavioral targeting, unlimited projects, advanced permissions, dedicated CSM, regional storage.
The free plan
Up to 10,000 sessions a month, core analytics charts, unlimited enrichment sources, guides integrations, single sign-on and 6 months of data history.
Trying it first
Free trial offered from the site; its length and plan are not stated
Read from heap.io on Oct 18, 2026.
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
1
Place it runs: Web
Product analytics that captures every click without manual tagging. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: AI features, dashboards, web analytics, session replay.
Autocapture, funnels, journeys, retention and segments, with the Sense AI assistant from Growth up.
- Automatic event capture
- Records clicks, pageviews and other interactions on web and mobile from one snippet, so you can define and analyze events after they happened.
- Funnels, journeys and retention
- Charts for funnels, retention and visual maps of the paths people take, with segments for comparing groups of users.
- Sense AI assistant
- Contentsquare's AI answers questions about your data in chat, writes summaries and suggests follow-ups. It is listed from the Growth plan up.
- Session replay and heatmaps
- The Experience Analytics add-on for Pro and Premier adds session replay, heatmaps and error analysis linked to the analytics.
- Warehouse sync
- Heap Connect sends data to your warehouse, such as Snowflake, automatically and retroactively. It is an add-on for Pro and included with Premier.
Where it runs
- Web
What it works with
- Salesforce
- Snowflake
- Segment
- Shopify
- Iterable
- Klaviyo
- Marketo
Heap is made by Heap Inc. (part of Contentsquare).
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
0/13
Other website and product analytics tools it is graded above
Heap's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 0 of the 13 other website and product analytics tools we grade, and level with 1.
It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 0 of 13) and worst on features (C, above 0).
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 14 website and product analytics tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. Heap’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 1 of 13
- CFree plan and trialAbove 1 of 13
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 13
- CEase of useAbove 0 of 13
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 13
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
Nothing Heap does is plain enough to make in a weekend. The 5 things listed below take a company.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 12 of the 13 other website and product analytics tools grade higher.
What you could not
- A tracking script and a database that counts every visit.
- Recordings of what each visitor did on your pages.
- Connections that pull numbers from dozens of other services.
- It plugs into other products, Salesforce, Snowflake and Segment among them.
- AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
What this rests on. Heap’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Amplitude, Mixpanel, PostHog, Fullstory and Pendo
The 5 tools Heap is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 3.0GPA
Amplitude
Free plan · from $900/yr
Product analytics with session replay, experiments and in-app guides.
- Heap also covers dashboards.
- Amplitude also covers surveys and a/B testing.
- 3.0GPA
Mixpanel
Free plan · from $100/mo
Event-based product analytics with replays, flags and experiments.
- Heap also covers dashboards.
- Mixpanel also covers a/B testing.
- 3.2GPA
PostHog
Free plan · from $0.00005
Open-source product analytics with replays, flags and surveys.
- PostHog is open source and self-hostable, according to its own site.
- Heap also covers dashboards.
- PostHog also covers surveys and a/B testing.
- 3.0GPA
Fullstory
Free plan
Session replay and behavior analytics for websites and apps.
- Fullstory also covers surveys.
- 2.4GPA
Pendo
Free plan
Product analytics plus in-app guides, surveys and session replay.
- Heap also covers dashboards.
- Pendo also covers surveys.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
12
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Heap free?
Heap has a free plan. Up to 10,000 sessions a month, core analytics charts, unlimited enrichment sources, guides integrations, single sign-on and 6 months of data history.
How much does Heap cost?
Heap lists 4 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does Heap work on?
Heap is available on Web.
Does Heap have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Heap is listed for Web.
Does Heap have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Heap is listed for Web.
Is Heap open source?
Heap is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
What does Heap integrate with?
Heap's listing names Salesforce, Snowflake, Segment, Shopify, Iterable, Klaviyo and Marketo.
Does Heap have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial offered from the site; its length and plan are not stated.
Who makes Heap?
Heap is made by Heap Inc. (part of Contentsquare).
What are the alternatives to Heap?
The closest alternatives to Heap in our directory are Amplitude, Mixpanel, PostHog, Fullstory and Pendo.
How does Heap compare with other website and product analytics tools?
Heap's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 0 of the 13 other website and product analytics tools we grade, and level with 1.
Could I make my own version of Heap?
Nothing Heap does is plain enough to make in a weekend. The 5 things listed below take a company.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Heap’s own pages on Oct 18, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 18, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Heap's own pages on 18 October 2026. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Heap Inc. (part of Contentsquare). Prices change, so check heap.io before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
2,281
Tools graded, in 73 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
2,281
tools graded
73
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Heap, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/heap
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Heap: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 18, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/heap
Know someone choosing between website and product analytics tools?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/heap/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded website and product analytics tools after Heap, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Website & Product Analytics Insider's GuideEvery one of the 14 website and product analytics tools we grade, compared
- Google Analytics Insider's GuideGoogle's free website and app analytics, with a paid 360 tier3.4 GPA
- Microsoft Clarity Insider's GuideFree session recordings and heatmaps from Microsoft, no traffic cap3.2 GPA
- PostHog Insider's GuideOpen-source product analytics with replays, flags and surveys3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Heap’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. Heap is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Heap Inc. (part of Contentsquare). Prices and plans change: check heap.io before you buy.



