Skip to content

The Plinky Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Plinky in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Plinky

The Insider’s Guide

Link-saving app for iPhone, iPad and Mac with tags and reminders

Plinky, as pictured on plinky.app

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among read-later and bookmark apps, read from Plinky’s own pages.

Made by Red Panda Club · checked Oct 6, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.2GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Plinky’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Plinky’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 6, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.2

GPA, above 0 of the 36 other read-later and bookmark apps we grade

Plinky is a link-saving app for iPhone, iPad and Mac made by Red Panda Club. Links from any app or browser are saved through a share extension or browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari, then organized with folders, tags, pins and reminders. Saving links is free up to limits the App Store listing does not spell out, and Plinky Pro, sold monthly, yearly or as a lifetime unlock, removes them.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Plinky, taken from its own pages and our grades.

Suggested tags give you somewhere to start instead of a blank box.
From our grade for ease of use
  1. 1

    Best for saving links from any app on Apple devices

    Plinky is a place to drop links on iPhone, iPad and Mac, saved from any app and sorted with folders, tags and reminders that bring a link back later.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year

    As its pricing page puts it: $3.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store).

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    Plinky can be used and links saved for free, within limits the listing does not put numbers on. Unlimited saved links, tags, folders, reminders and pinned links need Plinky Pro.

  4. 4

    It runs on 2 platforms

    macOS and iOS, with a browser extension too.

  5. 5

    Saving from any app or browser

    A share extension on iPhone and iPad and browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari save links from other apps and the web. Chromium browsers such as Edge, Brave and Arc use the Chrome extension.

  6. 6

    Folders, tags and pins

    Links are organized into folders and tags, with suggested tags to start from, and the links, folders and tags used most can be pinned to the top.

  7. 7

    Reminders

    A reminder can be set on any link so that it resurfaces inside Plinky at a chosen date and time, without a separate to-do app.

  8. 8

    A 2.2 GPA, above 0 of 36

    That is against the other read-later and bookmark apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    The plain part of Plinky you could make: bookmarks and read later. What surrounds it you could not. The 3 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.

Plinky at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $3.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store)
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
None stated
Runs on
macOS, iOS, Browser extension
Made by
Red Panda Club
Category
Read Later & Bookmarks
Our grade
2.2 GPA, fair

The report card

Best for saving links from any app on Apple devices

Plinky is a place to drop links on iPhone, iPad and Mac, saved from any app and sorted with folders, tags and reminders that bring a link back later. Free caps links, tags, folders, reminders and pins without saying at what numbers, there's no trial, Pro is $39.99 a year, the lifetime unlock is $159.99, and it's Apple only on iOS 18.5 or macOS 26 and up.

ToolGPA report cardPlinkyGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyC$39.99 a year is $3.33 a month, which is exactly the middle price for a reading app here. Ordinary, in other words, for a tool that saves links. The lifetime unlock at $159.99 is the bad deal: four years of Pro up front. Unread Premium subscribers do get yearly Pro at half price.
Free plan and trialCYou can save links for free, but links, tags, folders, reminders and pins are all capped, and the App Store listing doesn't put numbers on any of them. So you find out where free ends by hitting it, and there's no trial of Pro either.
FeaturesCIt does its one job, keeping links, pretty fully: folders, tags, pins, reminders that resurface a link at a set time, widgets, Shortcuts and a developer API. But that's a smaller job than most reading apps take on. Reading leans on Safari's Reader Mode, and the listing offers no highlights and no saved page copy.
Ease of useBNo store rating on record, so we go on the listing, and there's nothing to set up: install it, hit the share button or a browser extension, and the link is in. Suggested tags give you somewhere to start instead of a blank box.
Platforms and integrationsCOne family of devices: iPhone, iPad and Mac, with extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari plus Shortcuts and an API. No Android, Windows or web app is listed, and it needs iOS 18.5 or macOS 26 or later, so older Apple kit is out too.
Grade point averageFair, out of 4.02.2

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Plinky is for

  • Fits if you want one place for links from every app and browser on your Apple devices
  • Works for people who save videos, recipes and social posts as well as articles, and use Shortcuts

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you use Android, Windows or the web, as no version is listed for them
  • Tight if you're staying free, since links, tags, folders, reminders and pins are all capped at numbers the listing doesn't give
  • Pricey if you want to pay once, as the lifetime unlock is $159.99, about four years of Pro
  • Too light for reading, as it leans on Safari's Reader Mode with no highlights or saved page copies
  • Not for you if your Apple devices are older, since it needs iOS 18.5 or macOS 26 or later

Good to know

Good for

  • iPhone, iPad and Mac users who want one place for links from apps and browsers
  • People who save videos, recipes and social posts as well as articles
  • Shortcuts users who want to automate saving and finding links

Worth knowing

  • Apple platforms plus browser extensions only; no Android, Windows or web app is listed.
  • The free version caps saved links, tags, folders, reminders and pins, and the listing does not state the numbers.
  • The App Store listing requires iOS or iPadOS 18.5 or macOS 26 or later.
  • The lifetime unlock is $159.99, about four times the price of a year of Plinky Pro.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$3.33

A month to start, paid by the year. There is a free plan too

Plinky has a free plan. Paid plans start at $3.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store).

Ordinary, in other words, for a tool that saves links.
From our grade for value for money
  • Free

    $0

    Save and organize links with capped numbers of links, tags, folders, reminders and pins. The caps are not stated on the listing.

  • Plinky Pro

    $3.99

    per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store)

    Unlimited saved links, tags, folders, reminders and pinned links on iPhone, iPad and Mac.

  • Plinky Lifetime Unlock

    $159.99

    one-time payment that never renews

    The same unlimited features as Plinky Pro for a single payment instead of a subscription.

The free plan

Plinky can be used and links saved for free, within limits the listing does not put numbers on. Unlimited saved links, tags, folders, reminders and pinned links need Plinky Pro.

Read from apps.apple.com on Oct 6, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    About 16% off with the annual subscription

    The US App Store listing gives Plinky Pro as $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year, so a year paid up front costs about 16% less than twelve monthly payments.

    Stated on apps.apple.com
  • Lifetime license

    Lifetime unlock for $159.99

    The App Store listing offers a lifetime option with one payment of $159.99 that never renews, as an alternative to subscribing to Plinky Pro.

    Stated on apps.apple.com
  • Other savings

    50% off for Unread Premium subscribers

    Unread Premium subscribers can get a yearly Plinky Pro subscription at 50% off through Apple's contingent pricing, and the discount lasts while both subscriptions stay active.

    Stated on plinky.app

What the app costs elsewhere

Each country’s App Store price for “Plinky Pro”, against $3.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.

CountryPrice thereIn dollarsAgainst the US
Turkey₺26,99$0.5586% less
Canada$3.79$2.6633% less
Germany3,19 €$3.5710% less
United Kingdom£2.99$3.95about the same
BrazilR$ 96,90$19.36385% more
South AfricaR339.99$20.56415% more
Australia$36.99$25.82547% more
Mexico$580.00$31.87699% more

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

3

Places it runs: macOS, iOS and Browser extension

Link-saving app for iPhone, iPad and Mac with tags and reminders. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, read later, bookmarks.

But that's a smaller job than most reading apps take on.
From our grade for features
Saving from any app or browser
A share extension on iPhone and iPad and browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari save links from other apps and the web. Chromium browsers such as Edge, Brave and Arc use the Chrome extension.
Folders, tags and pins
Links are organized into folders and tags, with suggested tags to start from, and the links, folders and tags used most can be pinned to the top.
Reminders
A reminder can be set on any link so that it resurfaces inside Plinky at a chosen date and time, without a separate to-do app.
Reader Mode
Links can open in Safari's Reader Mode without leaving Plinky, either for every article by default or through a swipe or long-press action.
Widgets and customization
Widgets for the Home Screen, Lock Screen and Control Center show recent or pinned links or the contents of a folder or tag, and the colors and layout of links, tags and folders can be changed.
Shortcuts, URL schemes and API
Shortcuts actions cover what the app itself can do, and URL schemes and a developer API let other tools save, update and manage links.

Where it runs

  • macOS
  • iOS
  • Browser extension

What it works with

  • Shortcuts
  • Spotlight
  • Apple Intelligence
  • Unread

Plinky is made by Red Panda Club.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

0/36

Other read-later and bookmark apps it is graded above

Plinky's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 0 of the 36 other read-later and bookmark apps we grade, and level with 2.

It stands best on ease of use (B, above 15 of 36) and worst on features (C, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $3 for the category: 13 of the 24 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.3 out of 4. 13 tools score higher and cost less.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 37 read-later and bookmark apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Plinky’s own letter is outlined.

  • CValue for moneyAbove 6 of 36
  • CFree plan and trialAbove 2 of 36
  • CFeaturesAbove 0 of 36
  • BEase of useAbove 15 of 36
  • CPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 36

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 33 read-later and bookmark apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Plinky is the marked dot.

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$1$2$5$10$20More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessPlinkyReadwiseCuboxRaindrop.ioFlipboardFeedFlow

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

The plain part of Plinky you could make: bookmarks and read later. What surrounds it you could not. The 3 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.

That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 34 of the 36 other read-later and bookmark apps grade higher. It costs $39.99 a year.

What you could make

  • Bookmarks and read later: an app builder makes these well.

What you could not

  • Apps for macOS and iOS that stay in step with each other.
  • It plugs into other products, Shortcuts, Spotlight and Apple Intelligence among them, and has an API.
  • Hooks into the device itself: widgets, Shortcuts and the lock screen.

What this rests on. Plinky’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

GoodLinks, Anybox, Raindrop.io, Instapaper and Matter

The 5 tools Plinky is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.4GPA

    GoodLinks

    From $9.99 one-time

    Read-later and link-saving app for iPhone, iPad and Mac.

    • Plinky has a free plan. GoodLinks does not.
    • GoodLinks can be bought with a one-time purchase.
    • Plinky also covers bookmarks.
    Plinky and GoodLinks compared in full
  • 2.6GPA

    Anybox

    Free plan · from $1.99/mo

    Native bookmark manager for Mac, iPhone and iPad.

    • Anybox can be bought with a one-time purchase.
    Plinky and Anybox compared in full
  • 3.2GPA

    Raindrop.io

    Free plan · from $28/yr

    Bookmark manager with collections, tags and highlights.

    • Only Raindrop.io lists a web app.
    • Only Raindrop.io lists Windows and Android apps.
    • Raindrop.io also covers highlights.
    Plinky and Raindrop.io compared in full
  • 3.0GPA

    Instapaper

    Free plan · from $5.99/mo

    Read-later app that strips articles down to clean text.

    • Only Instapaper lists a web app.
    • Only Instapaper lists an Android app.
    • Plinky also covers bookmarks.
    Plinky and Instapaper compared in full
  • 2.6GPA

    Matter

    Free plan · from $7.99/mo

    Read-later app for iPhone, iPad and web with audio playback.

    • Only Plinky lists a macOS app.
    • Only Matter lists a web app.
    • Plinky also covers bookmarks.
    Plinky and Matter compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

14

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is Plinky free?

Plinky has a free plan. Plinky can be used and links saved for free, within limits the listing does not put numbers on.

How much does Plinky cost?

Plinky lists 3 plans. Free: $0.

What platforms does Plinky work on?

Plinky is available on macOS and iOS. It also has a browser extension.

Does Plinky offer any discounts?

Plinky publicly lists the following: About 16% off with the annual subscription; Lifetime unlock for $159.99; 50% off for Unread Premium subscribers.

Does Plinky have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Plinky is listed for macOS and iOS.

Does Plinky have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Plinky is listed for macOS and iOS.

Is Plinky open source?

Plinky is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.

Does Plinky have an API?

Yes. Plinky offers a public API, according to its own site.

What does Plinky integrate with?

Plinky's listing names Shortcuts, Spotlight, Apple Intelligence and Unread.

Who makes Plinky?

Plinky is made by Red Panda Club.

What are the alternatives to Plinky?

The closest alternatives to Plinky in our directory are GoodLinks, Anybox, Raindrop.io, Instapaper and Matter.

How does Plinky compare with other read-later and bookmark apps?

Plinky's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 0 of the 36 other read-later and bookmark apps we grade, and level with 2.

Is Plinky good value for money?

ToolGPA grades Plinky C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $3 for the category: 13 of the 24 others that charge start lower.

Could I make my own version of Plinky?

The plain part of Plinky you could make: bookmarks and read later. What surrounds it you could not.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Plinky’s own pages on Oct 6, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Plinky's own pages on 6 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-04-27.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Red Panda Club. Prices change, so check plinky.app before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

3,189

Tools graded, in 94 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 3,189

    tools graded

  • 94

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "Plinky: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 6, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/plinky

Know someone choosing between read-later and bookmark apps?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/plinky/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded read-later and bookmark apps after Plinky, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Plinky’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Plinky is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Red Panda Club. Prices and plans change: check plinky.app before you buy.