Anybox vs Plinky
We give Anybox a 3.4 GPA and Plinky a 2.8, out of 4.0. Anybox grades higher on value for money, features and ease of use. They get the same grade on the free plan and platforms.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Anybox
Native bookmark manager for Mac, iPhone and iPad
Plinky
Link-saving app for iPhone, iPad and Mac with tags and reminders
How we grade them
| 3.4GPAAnyboxVery good | 2.8GPAPlinkyGood | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | APro is $1.99 a month or $14.99 a year, well under what most paid reading apps charge. Or pay $39.99 once and keep it for life. The FAQ says there's no education discount or other offer, but at this price we wouldn't miss one. | BPro is $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year on the US App Store, about typical for a reading app. The lifetime unlock is $159.99, roughly four times the yearly price. Unread Premium subscribers get yearly Pro at 50% off. |
| Free plan and trial | BFree has most features, Quick Find and Quick Save included, and you can export your bookmarks. But it stops at 50 saved links in total, and 50 links goes fast. | BYou can save links for free, but links, tags, folders, reminders and pins are all capped, and the App Store listing doesn't put numbers on the caps. So you find out where free ends by hitting it. |
| Features | ANested tags, folders, Smart Lists that fill themselves, and Anydock, a floating bar of links on your Mac desktop. It archives a page as a PDF, web archive or screenshot, and keeps notes, images and files too. The Mac app even has a local MCP server for AI agents. | BSolid basics for saving links: folders, tags, pins, reminders that bring a link back at a set time, widgets and a developer API. Reading leans on Safari's Reader Mode, and nothing in the listing mentions highlights or keeping a copy of the page. |
| Ease of use | A4.7 from 521 App Store ratings. Saving is a browser extension, the share menu or one shortcut, and iCloud does the syncing without a new account to make. | BThere's no App Store rating on record for it, so a B is as high as we go. Saving is the share button or a browser extension, and suggested tags give you somewhere to start. |
| Platforms and integrations | CMac, iPhone and iPad, with browser extensions and hooks into Raycast, Alfred, PopClip and Shortcuts. All Apple, though. The FAQ says there are no plans for a Windows or web version. | CiPhone, iPad and Mac, with extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari, plus Shortcuts and an API. All Apple, though. No Android, Windows or web app is listed, and it needs iOS 18.5 or macOS 26 or later. |
| Best for | keyboard-quick bookmarks on Mac and iPhone | saving links from any app on Apple devices |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Anybox and Plinky. How we grade
Where they differ
- Anybox starts at $1.99 per month, $14.99 per year, or $39.99 lifetime (Pro). Plinky starts at $3.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store).
- Anybox can be bought with a one-time purchase.
At a glance
| Anybox | Plinky | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $1.99 per month, $14.99 per year, or $39.99 lifetime (Pro) | $3.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store) |
| Free plan | Most features, including Quick Find and Quick Save, with 50 saved links in total and up to 12 links on Anydock. Bookmarks can be exported. | Plinky can be used and links saved for free, within limits the listing does not put numbers on. Unlimited saved links, tags, folders, reminders and pinned links need Plinky Pro. |
| Free trial | None listed | None listed |
| macOS | ||
| iOS | ||
| Browser extension | ||
| Made by | Anybox Ltd. | Red Panda Club |
| Price read from | anybox.app | apps.apple.com |
| Checked | Oct 6, 2026 | Oct 6, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Anybox
- Mac, iPhone and iPad users replacing a browser's bookmark manager
- People who want keyboard-driven search across saved links
- Users who automate with Shortcuts, AppleScript, Raycast or Alfred
Plinky
- iPhone, iPad and Mac users who want one place for links from apps and browsers
- People who save videos, recipes and social posts as well as articles
- Shortcuts users who want to automate saving and finding links
Worth knowing
Anybox
- Apple platforms only: the FAQ says there are no plans for a Windows or web version.
- The free version stops at 50 saved links in total; unlimited links need Pro.
- Sync runs through iCloud only, so every device must be signed in to the same iCloud account.
- The FAQ says there is no education discount or any other special offer.
Plinky
- Apple platforms plus browser extensions only; no Android, Windows or web app is listed.
- The free version caps saved links, tags, folders, reminders and pins, and the listing does not state the numbers.
- The App Store listing requires iOS or iPadOS 18.5 or macOS 26 or later.
- The lifetime unlock is $159.99, about four times the price of a year of Plinky Pro.
Key features
Anybox
- Native apps with iCloud sync
- Anybox runs as native apps on iPhone, iPad and Mac and syncs through Apple's CloudKit. The vendor says no personal data is collected.
- Quick Find and Quick Save
- Quick Find is a Spotlight-like panel, opened with a global shortcut, that searches bookmarks offline and opens or shares them. Quick Save captures the current browser tab with its details.
- Anydock
- A floating, Dock-like bookmarks bar on the Mac desktop, also available as a menu bar icon. It holds 12 links on the free version and 30 on Pro.
- Nested tags, folders and Smart Lists
- Bookmarks are categorized with nested tags and folders, and Smart Lists gather them automatically by attributes such as URL and date added.
- Archives and other data types
- A bookmark can be archived as a PDF, a web archive or a screenshot, and notes, images and files can be saved alongside links.
- Automation and MCP server
- Siri Shortcuts, AppleScript and URL schemes automate saving and opening links, and the Mac app includes a local MCP server so AI agents can search and save items.
Plinky
- Saving from any app or browser
- A share extension on iPhone and iPad and browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Safari save links from other apps and the web. Chromium browsers such as Edge, Brave and Arc use the Chrome extension.
- Folders, tags and pins
- Links are organized into folders and tags, with suggested tags to start from, and the links, folders and tags used most can be pinned to the top.
- Reminders
- A reminder can be set on any link so that it resurfaces inside Plinky at a chosen date and time, without a separate to-do app.
- Reader Mode
- Links can open in Safari's Reader Mode without leaving Plinky, either for every article by default or through a swipe or long-press action.
- Widgets and customization
- Widgets for the Home Screen, Lock Screen and Control Center show recent or pinned links or the contents of a folder or tag, and the colors and layout of links, tags and folders can be changed.
- Shortcuts, URL schemes and API
- Shortcuts actions cover what the app itself can do, and URL schemes and a developer API let other tools save, update and manage links.
Plans
Anybox
Free$0
Most features, such as Quick Find and Quick Save, with 50 saved links in total, up to 12 links on Anydock and bookmark export.
Pro (monthly)$1.99
per month
Unlimited saved links and up to 30 links on Anydock, bought as an App Store subscription.
Pro (yearly)$14.99
per year
The same Pro features, billed once a year through the App Store.
Pro (lifetime)$39.99
one-time purchase
The same Pro features for a single payment. The site and the App Store show $39.99 against a crossed-out $59.99, with no end date.
Plinky
Free$0
Save and organize links with capped numbers of links, tags, folders, reminders and pins. The caps are not stated on the listing.
Plinky Pro$3.99
per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store)
Unlimited saved links, tags, folders, reminders and pinned links on iPhone, iPad and Mac.
Plinky Lifetime Unlock$159.99
one-time payment that never renews
The same unlimited features as Plinky Pro for a single payment instead of a subscription.
Ways to pay less
Anybox
- Annual discount
About 37% less with yearly billing
Pro costs $14.99 a year against $1.99 a month, which adds up to $23.88 over twelve months.
- Lifetime license
Lifetime Pro for a single payment
The pricing section lists a Lifetime purchase of Pro at $39.99, shown next to a crossed-out $59.99. The US App Store listing shows both amounts as in-app purchases.
Plinky
- Annual discount
About 16% off with the annual subscription
The US App Store listing gives Plinky Pro as $3.99 a month or $39.99 a year, so a year paid up front costs about 16% less than twelve monthly payments.
- Lifetime license
Lifetime unlock for $159.99
The App Store listing offers a lifetime option with one payment of $159.99 that never renews, as an alternative to subscribing to Plinky Pro.
- Other savings
50% off for Unread Premium subscribers
Unread Premium subscribers can get a yearly Plinky Pro subscription at 50% off through Apple's contingent pricing, and the discount lasts while both subscriptions stay active.

