Diigo
Bookmarking with highlights and sticky notes on web pages and PDFs
What is Diigo?
Diigo is a bookmarking and annotation service that has run since 2005. It saves web pages to a personal cloud library with tags, and its browser extension adds highlights and sticky notes to web pages and PDFs. Outliners arrange saved material into structured research, groups share a library with a class or team, and paid plans keep archived copies of bookmarked pages. The free plan is ad-supported and has low lifetime caps.
Diigo has a free plan. Paid plans start at $40 per year (Standard). See every plan
Good for
- Students and researchers who annotate web pages and PDFs
- Teachers running class groups with managed student accounts
- Teams building a shared, annotated library of sources
Worth knowing
- The Free plan shows ads and stops at 500 bookmarks and 100 highlights over the lifetime of the account.
- Cached pages and image storage start at Standard; unlimited PDF storage and outliners need Professional at $59 a year.
- Team library storage, collaborative annotation and the admin console are limited to Business at $10 per user a month.
- The tools page links to an Android app, but its Google Play listing returned a not-found page when checked.
Key features
- Bookmarks, tags and a personal library
- Saved pages go into a cloud library and are tagged for later retrieval. Each item can be set as private or public.
- Highlights and sticky notes
- Highlight text and add sticky notes directly on web pages and PDFs while browsing; the annotations are still on the page when you come back to it.
- Outliner
- Arrange links, references and your own notes into a structured outline for a piece of research. Unlimited outliners are part of the Professional plan.
- Groups
- A group builds a shared library for a class, team or company that members can add to, search and discuss through annotations on the page.
- Archived web pages
- Paid plans store cached copies of bookmarked pages with their annotations intact, so they stay readable if the original source goes offline.
- Import, export and API
- The tools page lists bookmark and Kindle highlight import, library and PDF export, saving by email, automatic publishing to a blog and the Diigo API.
Diigo pricing
- Starts at
- $40 per year (Standard)
- Free plan
- Free plan with ads, capped at 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights over the lifetime of the account.
- Free trial
- The Business plan has a Try for free option; the pricing page does not state how long it lasts
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Ad-supported, with lifetime caps of 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights. |
| Standard | $40per year | No ads, with unlimited bookmarks, highlights, image storage and cached pages, plus Kindle highlight import. |
| Professional | $59per year | Everything in Standard, plus unlimited PDF storage and unlimited outliners. |
| Business | $10per user / month (billing basis not stated) | Everything in Professional, plus an unlimited team library, collaborative web and PDF annotation in a team, and an admin console. |
Read from diigo.com on Oct 6, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Diigo before you buy.
Ways to pay less
- EducationFree teacher and student accounts
Teachers can apply for a free account with more capabilities than the normal free plan, including a Teacher Console for creating and managing student accounts. Schools can apply for an education domain.
Stated on diigo.com
How people rate the Diigo app
4.5
out of 5 for the iPhone and iPad app
- 5 stars76%
- 4 stars12%
- 3 stars2%
- 2 stars2%
- 1 star8%
561 ratings on the App Store in the United States, read Oct 6, 2026. It rates the app, not everything the product does. See the listing
Works with
- Kindle
Diigo alternatives
- Diigo vs Raindrop.io
Free plan · from $28/yr
- Diigo vs Pinboard
From $22/yr
- Diigo vs Glasp
Free plan · from $12.50/mo
- Diigo vs Readwise
Free trial · from $5.59/mo
- Diigo vs Linkwarden
Free plan · from $3/mo
Common questions
Is Diigo free?
Diigo has a free plan. Free plan with ads, capped at 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights over the lifetime of the account. Paid plans start at $40 per year (Standard).
How much does Diigo cost?
Diigo lists 4 plans. Free: $0. Standard: $40 per year. Professional: $59 per year. Business: $10 per user / month (billing basis not stated). Prices were read from diigo.com on Oct 6, 2026.
What platforms does Diigo work on?
Diigo is available on Web and iOS. It also has a browser extension.
Does Diigo offer any discounts?
Diigo publicly lists the following: Free teacher and student accounts.
How is Diigo rated?
Diigo's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.5 out of 5 from 561 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 6, 2026. That is the store's rating of the app, not a score from us.
Does Diigo have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Diigo is listed for Web and iOS.
Does Diigo have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Diigo is listed for Web and iOS.
Is Diigo open source?
Diigo is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.
Does Diigo have an API?
Yes. Diigo offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does Diigo integrate with?
Diigo's listing names Kindle. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.
Does Diigo have a student discount?
Free teacher and student accounts. Teachers can apply for a free account with more capabilities than the normal free plan, including a Teacher Console for creating and managing student accounts. Schools can apply for an education domain.
Does Diigo have a free trial?
Yes. The Business plan has a Try for free option; the pricing page does not state how long it lasts.
Who makes Diigo?
Diigo is made by Diigo, Inc. It dates from 2005.
What are the alternatives to Diigo?
The closest alternatives to Diigo in our directory are Raindrop.io, Pinboard, Glasp, Readwise and Linkwarden. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Diigo.
Sources for this page
The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 6, 2026. What people say is linked where it appears.
