Skip to content

Diigo vs Readwise

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Diigo

Bookmarking with highlights and sticky notes on web pages and PDFs

Free plan · from $40/yr

Readwise

Highlight library with a daily review and a read-later app

Free trial · from $5.59/mo

Where they differ

  • Diigo starts at $40 per year (Standard). Readwise starts at $5.59 per month, billed annually (Readwise Lite).
  • Diigo has a free plan. Readwise does not, though it has a free trial.
  • Only Readwise lists macOS, Windows and Android apps.
  • Diigo also covers research and bookmarks.
  • Readwise also covers read later and rSS reader.
In commonWebiOSBrowser extensionPublic APIHighlights

At a glance

DiigoReadwise
PricingFree planFree trial
Starts at$40 per year (Standard)$5.59 per month, billed annually (Readwise Lite)
Free planFree plan with ads, capped at 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights over the lifetime of the account.None
Free trialThe Business plan has a Try for free option; the pricing page does not state how long it lasts30-day free trial of Readwise and Reader, no credit card required
Web
macOS
Windows
iOS
Android
Browser extension
Made byDiigo, Inc.Readwise, Inc.
Price read fromdiigo.comreadwise.io
CheckedOct 6, 2026Oct 5, 2026

Who each one suits

Diigo

  • Students and researchers who annotate web pages and PDFs
  • Teachers running class groups with managed student accounts
  • Teams building a shared, annotated library of sources

Readwise

  • Kindle and ebook readers who want to see their highlights again
  • People who send reading notes to Notion, Obsidian or a similar app
  • Readers who want articles, RSS, newsletters and PDFs in one app

Worth knowing

Diigo

  • The Free plan shows ads and stops at 500 bookmarks and 100 highlights over the lifetime of the account.
  • Cached pages and image storage start at Standard; unlimited PDF storage and outliners need Professional at $59 a year.
  • Team library storage, collaborative annotation and the admin console are limited to Business at $10 per user a month.
  • The tools page links to an Android app, but its Google Play listing returned a not-found page when checked.

Readwise

  • There is no free plan: a paid subscription is needed once the 30-day trial ends.
  • Readwise Lite leaves out tags and notes, exports to note-taking apps, and the Reader app.
  • Reader is not sold on its own; it comes with the full Readwise plan at $9.99 per month billed annually.
  • Desktop apps are listed for Mac and Windows only, with no Linux app mentioned.

Key features

Diigo

Bookmarks, tags and a personal library
Saved pages go into a cloud library and are tagged for later retrieval. Each item can be set as private or public.
Highlights and sticky notes
Highlight text and add sticky notes directly on web pages and PDFs while browsing; the annotations are still on the page when you come back to it.
Outliner
Arrange links, references and your own notes into a structured outline for a piece of research. Unlimited outliners are part of the Professional plan.
Groups
A group builds a shared library for a class, team or company that members can add to, search and discuss through annotations on the page.
Archived web pages
Paid plans store cached copies of bookmarked pages with their annotations intact, so they stay readable if the original source goes offline.
Import, export and API
The tools page lists bookmark and Kindle highlight import, library and PDF export, saving by email, automatic publishing to a blog and the Diigo API.

Readwise

Daily Review
A daily selection of past highlights, delivered by email and in the app and timed with spaced repetition so older passages come back around.
Highlight import
Syncs highlights from Kindle, Apple Books, Kobo, Instapaper and other listed sources, and captures passages from paper books by photographing the page.
Export to note-taking apps
Sends highlights to Notion, Obsidian, Evernote, Roam, Logseq and other listed apps, or to Markdown and CSV. Exports are part of the full plan.
Reader
A read-later app for web articles, RSS feeds, email newsletters, PDFs, EPUBs, YouTube transcripts and X threads, with highlighting, full-text search and text to speech.
Ghostreader and chat with highlights
Ghostreader answers questions about a document, defines terms and simplifies passages. Chat answers show the highlights they were drawn from.
MCP server, CLI and API
An MCP server connects Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor or another MCP-compatible assistant to the library, alongside a command-line tool and an API.

Plans

Diigo

  • Free$0

    Ad-supported, with lifetime caps of 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights.

  • Standard$40

    per year

    No ads, with unlimited bookmarks, highlights, image storage and cached pages, plus Kindle highlight import.

  • Professional$59

    per year

    Everything in Standard, plus unlimited PDF storage and unlimited outliners.

  • Business$10

    per user / month (billing basis not stated)

    Everything in Professional, plus an unlimited team library, collaborative web and PDF annotation in a team, and an admin console.

Readwise

  • Readwise Lite$5.59

    per month, billed annually ($67.08), or $6.99 billed monthly

    Daily Review by email and app, a searchable highlight library, and syncing of new highlights from all sources.

  • Readwise$9.99

    per month, billed annually ($119.88), or $12.99 billed monthly

    The full plan: everything in Lite, plus tags and notes, exports to Notion, Obsidian and other note apps, and the Reader app.

Ways to pay less

Diigo

  • Education

    Free teacher and student accounts

    Teachers can apply for a free account with more capabilities than the normal free plan, including a Teacher Console for creating and managing student accounts. Schools can apply for an education domain.

Readwise

  • Annual discount

    Save 21% to 24% with yearly billing

    The pricing page shows a 21% saving on Readwise Lite ($5.59 instead of $6.99 a month) and 24% on the full plan ($9.99 instead of $12.99) when billed yearly.

  • Education

    50% off for students and academics

    Students and other members of academia get 50% off by emailing Readwise before subscribing, then subscribing through the Readwise website.

  • Nonprofit

    50% off for nonprofits

    The Reader page lists the same 50% discount for nonprofits, educators, military and first responders, requested by email.

More comparisons