Diigo vs Pinboard
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Diigo
Bookmarking with highlights and sticky notes on web pages and PDFs
Pinboard
Paid bookmarking site with tags, privacy and page archiving
Where they differ
- Diigo starts at $40 per year (Standard). Pinboard starts at $22 per year.
- Diigo has a free plan. Pinboard does not.
- Only Diigo lists an iOS app.
- Diigo also covers research and highlights.
- Pinboard also covers read later.
At a glance
| Diigo | Pinboard | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Paid |
| Starts at | $40 per year (Standard) | $22 per year |
| Free plan | Free plan with ads, capped at 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights over the lifetime of the account. | None |
| Free trial | The Business plan has a Try for free option; the pricing page does not state how long it lasts | None listed |
| Web | ||
| iOS | ||
| Browser extension | ||
| Made by | Diigo, Inc. | Nine Fives Software |
| Price read from | diigo.com | pinboard.in |
| Checked | Oct 6, 2026 | Oct 5, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Diigo
- Students and researchers who annotate web pages and PDFs
- Teachers running class groups with managed student accounts
- Teams building a shared, annotated library of sources
Pinboard
- People who want a fast, text-based bookmark archive without ads or trackers
- Users who keep most or all of their bookmarks private
- Developers who want an API and RSS feeds for their bookmarks
Worth knowing
Diigo
- The Free plan shows ads and stops at 500 bookmarks and 100 highlights over the lifetime of the account.
- Cached pages and image storage start at Standard; unlimited PDF storage and outliners need Professional at $59 a year.
- Team library storage, collaborative annotation and the admin console are limited to Business at $10 per user a month.
- The tools page links to an Android app, but its Google Play listing returned a not-found page when checked.
Pinboard
- There is no free plan and no free trial; a payment is refundable within seven days of signup.
- Stored page copies and full-text search require the $39 archival account.
- There are no native mobile apps: Pinboard offers a mobile website and relies on third-party apps.
- The archive crawler cannot save paywalled pages, and the FAQ says YouTube and Twitter links are not saved properly.
Key features
Diigo
- Bookmarks, tags and a personal library
- Saved pages go into a cloud library and are tagged for later retrieval. Each item can be set as private or public.
- Highlights and sticky notes
- Highlight text and add sticky notes directly on web pages and PDFs while browsing; the annotations are still on the page when you come back to it.
- Outliner
- Arrange links, references and your own notes into a structured outline for a piece of research. Unlimited outliners are part of the Professional plan.
- Groups
- A group builds a shared library for a class, team or company that members can add to, search and discuss through annotations on the page.
- Archived web pages
- Paid plans store cached copies of bookmarked pages with their annotations intact, so they stay readable if the original source goes offline.
- Import, export and API
- The tools page lists bookmark and Kindle highlight import, library and PDF export, saving by email, automatic publishing to a blog and the Diigo API.
Pinboard
- Bookmarks, tags and privacy
- Each bookmark has a title, URL, a description of any length and optional tags. Any bookmark can be private, and an account can default to private.
- Read later
- A read-later bookmarklet adds a page to an unread list without asking for details. Unread bookmarks are visible only to you until marked as read.
- Archiving and full-text search
- Archival accounts get a crawled copy of every bookmarked page that stays viewable if the original goes offline, plus search across page text.
- Bookmarklets, extensions and email
- Save with a bookmarklet, with browser extensions for Safari, Chrome and Firefox, or by emailing a URL to a personal Pinboard address.
- API and RSS feeds
- A full API modeled on version 1 of the Delicious API supports third-party clients, and every bookmark page has a matching RSS feed.
- Notes, tab sets and tag bundles
- Notes save snippets of text as bookmarks, tab sets store all open browser tabs for later, and tag bundles group related tags on one page.
Plans
Diigo
Free$0
Ad-supported, with lifetime caps of 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights.
Standard$40
per year
No ads, with unlimited bookmarks, highlights, image storage and cached pages, plus Kindle highlight import.
Professional$59
per year
Everything in Standard, plus unlimited PDF storage and unlimited outliners.
Business$10
per user / month (billing basis not stated)
Everything in Professional, plus an unlimited team library, collaborative web and PDF annotation in a team, and an admin console.
Pinboard
Regular account$22
per year
Bookmarks with tags, private bookmarks, read later, notes, tab sets, the API and RSS feeds. Refundable within seven days of signup.
Archival account$39
per year
Everything in a regular account, plus a stored copy of every bookmarked page, full-text search and dead-link checks.
Ways to pay less
Diigo
- Education
Free teacher and student accounts
Teachers can apply for a free account with more capabilities than the normal free plan, including a Teacher Console for creating and managing student accounts. Schools can apply for an education domain.
Pinboard
- Other savings
Discounts for paying for several years
The sign-up page says there are steep discounts for signing up for multiple years, chosen on the payment page. The amounts are not shown publicly.
