Diigo vs Glasp
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Diigo
Bookmarking with highlights and sticky notes on web pages and PDFs
Glasp
Social web highlighter with AI summaries of videos and articles
Where they differ
- Diigo starts at $40 per year (Standard). Glasp starts at $12.50 per month, billed yearly at $150 ($15 billed monthly).
- Only Glasp lists an Android app.
- Diigo also covers research and bookmarks.
- Glasp also covers transcription and read later.
At a glance
| Diigo | Glasp | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $40 per year (Standard) | $12.50 per month, billed yearly at $150 ($15 billed monthly) |
| Free plan | Free plan with ads, capped at 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights over the lifetime of the account. | Unlimited public highlights, 3 basic YouTube summaries a day, 30 PDF uploads, 20 AI chat credits and 30 minutes of audio transcription a month. No private highlights. |
| Free trial | The Business plan has a Try for free option; the pricing page does not state how long it lasts | None listed |
| Web | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Browser extension | ||
| Made by | Diigo, Inc. | Glasp Inc. |
| Price read from | diigo.com | glasp.co |
| Checked | Oct 6, 2026 | Oct 6, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Diigo
- Students and researchers who annotate web pages and PDFs
- Teachers running class groups with managed student accounts
- Teams building a shared, annotated library of sources
Glasp
- Students and researchers collecting quotes from articles and PDFs
- People who send their highlights to Notion, Obsidian or Readwise
- Viewers who want quick summaries of long YouTube videos
Worth knowing
Diigo
- The Free plan shows ads and stops at 500 bookmarks and 100 highlights over the lifetime of the account.
- Cached pages and image storage start at Standard; unlimited PDF storage and outliners need Professional at $59 a year.
- Team library storage, collaborative annotation and the admin console are limited to Business at $10 per user a month.
- The tools page links to an Android app, but its Google Play listing returned a not-found page when checked.
Glasp
- Highlights are public by default; private highlights require the Pro or Unlimited plan.
- AI features are metered on every plan, and Free allows 3 basic YouTube summaries a day and 20 AI chat credits a month.
- The 40% student discount covers only the yearly Pro plan and needs a .edu or .ac email address.
- The pricing page marks the Pro and Unlimited subscriptions as recurring and non-refundable.
Key features
Diigo
- Bookmarks, tags and a personal library
- Saved pages go into a cloud library and are tagged for later retrieval. Each item can be set as private or public.
- Highlights and sticky notes
- Highlight text and add sticky notes directly on web pages and PDFs while browsing; the annotations are still on the page when you come back to it.
- Outliner
- Arrange links, references and your own notes into a structured outline for a piece of research. Unlimited outliners are part of the Professional plan.
- Groups
- A group builds a shared library for a class, team or company that members can add to, search and discuss through annotations on the page.
- Archived web pages
- Paid plans store cached copies of bookmarked pages with their annotations intact, so they stay readable if the original source goes offline.
- Import, export and API
- The tools page lists bookmark and Kindle highlight import, library and PDF export, saving by email, automatic publishing to a blog and the Diigo API.
Glasp
- Web, PDF and YouTube highlighting
- The browser extension highlights text on web pages, PDFs and YouTube transcripts in several colors, with notes and tags, and the highlights stay marked on the original page.
- AI summaries
- Summarizes YouTube videos, web articles and PDFs with models such as ChatGPT, Claude, Mistral AI and Gemini. Free accounts get 3 basic YouTube summaries a day.
- Public profiles and following
- Highlights are collected on a Glasp page that is public by default, and following other readers shows what they are saving. Private highlights need a paid plan.
- Imports and exports
- Imports highlights from Kindle, Readwise, Instapaper, Pocket, Medium and Hypothesis. Markdown, HTML, CSV and JSON exports and a daily sync to Notion are included on every plan.
- Read later and mobile apps
- The iOS and Android apps add a reader view and a read-later library for videos, articles and PDFs alongside highlighting and summaries.
- Audio transcription and PDF chat
- Uploaded audio files are transcribed and PDFs can be questioned in a chat, each within a monthly allowance: 30 minutes and 20 messages on the Free plan.
Plans
Diigo
Free$0
Ad-supported, with lifetime caps of 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights.
Standard$40
per year
No ads, with unlimited bookmarks, highlights, image storage and cached pages, plus Kindle highlight import.
Professional$59
per year
Everything in Standard, plus unlimited PDF storage and unlimited outliners.
Business$10
per user / month (billing basis not stated)
Everything in Professional, plus an unlimited team library, collaborative web and PDF annotation in a team, and an admin console.
Glasp
Free$0
Unlimited public highlights, 3 basic YouTube summaries a day, 30 PDF uploads and 30 minutes of audio transcription a month.
Pro$12.50
per month, billed yearly at $150 ($15 billed monthly)
Unlimited private highlights and basic YouTube summaries, 1,000 advanced summaries a month, 100 PDF uploads, 500 AI chat credits and all AI models.
Unlimited$30
per month, billed yearly at $360 ($36 billed monthly)
5,000 advanced summaries every 30 days, 25 tracked YouTube channels, unlimited PDF uploads, 2,000 AI credits a month and priority support.
Ways to pay less
Diigo
- Education
Free teacher and student accounts
Teachers can apply for a free account with more capabilities than the normal free plan, including a Teacher Console for creating and managing student accounts. Schools can apply for an education domain.
Glasp
- Annual discount
Two months off with yearly billing
Pro costs $150 a year against $15 a month, and Unlimited costs $360 a year against $36 a month, which the pricing page labels as 2 months off.
- Education
40% off Pro for students
Students who verify a .edu or .ac email address get 40% off the yearly Pro plan, for example $90 instead of $150 a year. Glasp describes it as a limited-time offer.
- Other savings
A free year of Pro for YouTube creators
Creators with at least 5,000 subscribers and a video in the last 90 days can get 12 months of Pro free by keeping a Glasp link in a regular video's description.

