Skip to content

Diigo vs Linkwarden

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Diigo

Bookmarking with highlights and sticky notes on web pages and PDFs

Free plan · from $40/yr

Linkwarden

Open-source bookmark manager that preserves a copy of each page

Free plan · from $3/mo

Where they differ

  • Diigo starts at $40 per year (Standard). Linkwarden starts at $3 per user / month, billed yearly ($4 billed monthly).
  • Only Linkwarden lists an Android app.
  • Linkwarden is open source and self-hostable, according to its own site.
  • Diigo also covers research.
  • Linkwarden also covers read later.
In commonFree planWebiOSBrowser extensionPublic APIBookmarksHighlights

At a glance

DiigoLinkwarden
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$40 per year (Standard)$3 per user / month, billed yearly ($4 billed monthly)
Free planFree plan with ads, capped at 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights over the lifetime of the account.The self-hosted version is free and open source under AGPLv3; you deploy and maintain the instance yourself. Linkwarden Cloud has no free plan.
Free trialThe Business plan has a Try for free option; the pricing page does not state how long it lasts14-day free trial of Linkwarden Cloud; a credit card is required and billing starts when the trial ends
Web
iOS
Android
Browser extension
Made byDiigo, Inc.Linkwarden
Price read fromdiigo.comlinkwarden.app
CheckedOct 6, 2026Oct 6, 2026

Who each one suits

Diigo

  • Students and researchers who annotate web pages and PDFs
  • Teachers running class groups with managed student accounts
  • Teams building a shared, annotated library of sources

Linkwarden

  • Keeping a lasting copy of every page you bookmark
  • Small teams collecting research links in shared collections
  • Self-hosters who want a free, open-source bookmark manager

Worth knowing

Diigo

  • The Free plan shows ads and stops at 500 bookmarks and 100 highlights over the lifetime of the account.
  • Cached pages and image storage start at Standard; unlimited PDF storage and outliners need Professional at $59 a year.
  • Team library storage, collaborative annotation and the admin console are limited to Business at $10 per user a month.
  • The tools page links to an Android app, but its Google Play listing returned a not-found page when checked.

Linkwarden

  • Linkwarden Cloud has no free plan, and its 14-day trial needs a credit card and bills automatically when it ends.
  • Each Cloud seat covers 30,000 links; saving more means paying for extra seats at the same per-user price.
  • Single sign-on is listed for Enterprise and self-hosted users only.
  • Refunds are offered only when requested within 3 days of the first payment.

Key features

Diigo

Bookmarks, tags and a personal library
Saved pages go into a cloud library and are tagged for later retrieval. Each item can be set as private or public.
Highlights and sticky notes
Highlight text and add sticky notes directly on web pages and PDFs while browsing; the annotations are still on the page when you come back to it.
Outliner
Arrange links, references and your own notes into a structured outline for a piece of research. Unlimited outliners are part of the Professional plan.
Groups
A group builds a shared library for a class, team or company that members can add to, search and discuss through annotations on the page.
Archived web pages
Paid plans store cached copies of bookmarked pages with their annotations intact, so they stay readable if the original source goes offline.
Import, export and API
The tools page lists bookmark and Kindle highlight import, library and PDF export, saving by email, automatic publishing to a blog and the Diigo API.

Linkwarden

Full-page preservation
Each saved page is captured as a screenshot, a PDF and a single HTML file, and can optionally be sent to the Wayback Machine for a snapshot.
Reader view with highlights
Saved articles open in a dedicated reader view where the font style can be adjusted and text can be highlighted and annotated.
Collections, tags and AI tagging
Links are organized into collections and sub-collections with multiple tags, and optional AI tagging labels new links based on their content.
Sharing and collaboration
Invite other people to gather links in a collection with permissions set per member, or share a collection and its preserved copies publicly.
Search, RSS feeds and bulk actions
Full-text search with advanced operators and filters, RSS feed subscriptions that add new articles to a collection, bulk editing, and import and export.
Apps, browser extension and API
iOS and Android apps, an open-source extension for Chrome, Firefox and Safari, browser bookmark sync through Floccus, and an API secured with access tokens.

Plans

Diigo

  • Free$0

    Ad-supported, with lifetime caps of 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights.

  • Standard$40

    per year

    No ads, with unlimited bookmarks, highlights, image storage and cached pages, plus Kindle highlight import.

  • Professional$59

    per year

    Everything in Standard, plus unlimited PDF storage and unlimited outliners.

  • Business$10

    per user / month (billing basis not stated)

    Everything in Professional, plus an unlimited team library, collaborative web and PDF annotation in a team, and an admin console.

Linkwarden

  • Self-hostedFree

    The open-source application on a server you deploy and maintain yourself, including single sign-on support.

  • Cloud$3

    per user / month, billed yearly ($4 billed monthly), plus tax

    Hosted by Linkwarden: full-page preservation, optional AI tagging, full-text search, highlights, RSS feeds and 30,000 links per user.

Ways to pay less

Diigo

  • Education

    Free teacher and student accounts

    Teachers can apply for a free account with more capabilities than the normal free plan, including a Teacher Console for creating and managing student accounts. Schools can apply for an education domain.

Linkwarden

  • Annual discount

    25% off with yearly billing

    The pricing page marks yearly billing as 25% off: $3 per user a month when billed annually against $4 billed monthly.

More comparisons