Skip to content

Diigo vs Raindrop.io

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Diigo

Bookmarking with highlights and sticky notes on web pages and PDFs

Free plan · from $40/yr

Raindrop.io

Bookmark manager with collections, tags and highlights

Free plan · from $28/yr

Where they differ

  • Diigo starts at $40 per year (Standard). Raindrop.io starts at $28 per year, or $3 per month.
  • Only Raindrop.io lists macOS, Windows and Android apps.
  • Diigo also covers research.
  • Raindrop.io also covers read later.
In commonFree planWebiOSBrowser extensionPublic APIBookmarksHighlights

At a glance

DiigoRaindrop.io
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$40 per year (Standard)$28 per year, or $3 per month
Free planFree plan with ads, capped at 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights over the lifetime of the account.Unlimited bookmarks, collections, highlights and devices, with sharing and collaboration included. File uploads are limited to 100 MB a month.
Free trialThe Business plan has a Try for free option; the pricing page does not state how long it lastsNone listed
Web
macOS
Windows
iOS
Android
Browser extension
Made byDiigo, Inc.Rustem Mussabekov
Price read fromdiigo.comraindrop.io
CheckedOct 6, 2026Oct 5, 2026

Who each one suits

Diigo

  • Students and researchers who annotate web pages and PDFs
  • Teachers running class groups with managed student accounts
  • Teams building a shared, annotated library of sources

Raindrop.io

  • Keeping a large bookmark library organized across browsers and devices
  • Sharing link collections with collaborators or on a public page
  • People who highlight passages in web pages, PDFs and EPUBs

Worth knowing

Diigo

  • The Free plan shows ads and stops at 500 bookmarks and 100 highlights over the lifetime of the account.
  • Cached pages and image storage start at Standard; unlimited PDF storage and outliners need Professional at $59 a year.
  • Team library storage, collaborative annotation and the admin console are limited to Business at $10 per user a month.
  • The tools page links to an Android app, but its Google Play listing returned a not-found page when checked.

Raindrop.io

  • Full-text search, the web archive, reminders and the AI assistant are limited to Pro.
  • Free accounts can upload 100 MB of files a month; Pro raises the limit to 10 GB.
  • Notes on highlights require Pro, and each bookmark holds at most 100 highlights.
  • The download page lists desktop apps for macOS and Windows only.

Key features

Diigo

Bookmarks, tags and a personal library
Saved pages go into a cloud library and are tagged for later retrieval. Each item can be set as private or public.
Highlights and sticky notes
Highlight text and add sticky notes directly on web pages and PDFs while browsing; the annotations are still on the page when you come back to it.
Outliner
Arrange links, references and your own notes into a structured outline for a piece of research. Unlimited outliners are part of the Professional plan.
Groups
A group builds a shared library for a class, team or company that members can add to, search and discuss through annotations on the page.
Archived web pages
Paid plans store cached copies of bookmarked pages with their annotations intact, so they stay readable if the original source goes offline.
Import, export and API
The tools page lists bookmark and Kindle highlight import, library and PDF export, saving by email, automatic publishing to a blog and the Diigo API.

Raindrop.io

Collections, tags and filters
Bookmarks are grouped into collections and classified with tags, then narrowed by type, tag or domain. Grid, headlines, masonry and list views are available.
Highlights
Save passages from web pages, PDFs and EPUBs in several colors, up to 100 per bookmark on any plan. Adding notes to highlights requires Pro.
Full-text search
On Pro, search covers the full content of saved pages, PDFs, EPUBs and YouTube transcripts instead of only titles and tags.
Web archive and backups
Pro keeps a saved copy of each bookmarked page in case the original changes or disappears, and runs automatic backups of the whole library.
Sharing and public pages
Invite members to a collection with per-collection permissions, or publish a collection as a public page that needs no sign-up. Both work on the free plan.
Stella AI assistant
A chat assistant, in beta for Pro users, that answers questions about saved content, summarizes it and helps organize collections.

Plans

Diigo

  • Free$0

    Ad-supported, with lifetime caps of 500 cloud bookmarks and 100 webpage and PDF highlights.

  • Standard$40

    per year

    No ads, with unlimited bookmarks, highlights, image storage and cached pages, plus Kindle highlight import.

  • Professional$59

    per year

    Everything in Standard, plus unlimited PDF storage and unlimited outliners.

  • Business$10

    per user / month (billing basis not stated)

    Everything in Professional, plus an unlimited team library, collaborative web and PDF annotation in a team, and an admin console.

Raindrop.io

  • Free$0

    Unlimited bookmarks, collections, highlights and devices, sharing and collaboration, and 100 MB of file uploads a month.

  • Pro$3

    per month, or $28 per year (before tax)

    AI assistant, full-text search, web archive, reminders, annotations, duplicate and broken-link finder, daily backups and 10 GB of uploads a month.

Ways to pay less

Diigo

  • Education

    Free teacher and student accounts

    Teachers can apply for a free account with more capabilities than the normal free plan, including a Teacher Console for creating and managing student accounts. Schools can apply for an education domain.

Raindrop.io

  • Annual discount

    About 20% off with yearly billing

    The pricing page marks yearly billing as 20% off, and the US prices it loads are $28 a year against $3 a month.

More comparisons