The Poe Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Poe in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Poe
The Insider’s Guide
One app for chatting with AI models from many different labs
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among AI assistants, read from Poe’s own pages.
Made by Quora, Inc. · checked Oct 10, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Poe’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Poe’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 10, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
3.4
GPA, above 53 of the 57 other AI assistants we grade
Poe is Quora's app for chatting with AI models from many providers through a single account. Text, image and video models and community-built bots all draw on one pool of compute points, and several bots can answer in the same chat thread. A free account has a smaller allowance, and subscriptions are sold by the size of the points allowance.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Poe, taken from its own pages and our grades.
The only thing to get your head round is points, since every chat draws on the same pool.
- 1
Best for comparing many AI models on one account
Poe is Quora's one account for AI models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and others, plus image and video generators, on one balance of points, and you can put several bots in one chat to compare answers.
- 2
Paid plans start at $4.17 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $4.17 per month, billed yearly ($49.99 a year); $4.99 billed monthly.
- 3
There is a free plan
Free accounts can chat with a smaller allowance of compute points than subscribers. Poe's plans page does not state the size of the free allowance.
- 4
It runs on 5 platforms
Web, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
- 5
Many models, one account
Reaches models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and other labs, plus image and video generators, with one sign-in and one points balance.
- 6
Multi-bot chat
Compare answers from several models and combine bots for a task inside a single chat thread. Chats can be private or shared as a group chat.
- 7
Image and video generation
Creates images and video with generators such as FLUX, Ideogram, Veo and Runway from inside the same app.
- 8
A 3.4 GPA, above 53 of 57
That is against the other AI assistants we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace Poe you would be making an AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Poe at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $4.17 per month, billed yearly ($49.99 a year); $4.99 billed monthly
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- None stated
- Runs on
- Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android
- Made by
- Quora, Inc., since 2023
- Category
- AI Assistants
- Our grade
- 3.4 GPA, very good
- Store rating
- 4.7 on the App Store, 53,846 ratings
The report card
Best for comparing many AI models on one account
Poe is Quora's one account for AI models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and others, plus image and video generators, on one balance of points, and you can put several bots in one chat to compare answers. The entry plan is $4.99 a month, but everything is metered in points, Poe doesn't say how many a free account gets, and a monthly pool starts at $19.99.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | A | The entry plan is $4.99 a month, or $49.99 for the year, on the US App Store — about a third of this category's middle price, and it opens models from many labs. The catch is that a real monthly pool, 660 thousand points, is $19.99. |
| Free plan and trial | C | A free account can chat on a smaller points allowance, but Poe's plans page never says how many points that is. An allowance you can't see the size of is one you'll walk into. |
| Features | B | Models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and other labs on one sign-in, several bots answering in one thread, image and video from FLUX, Ideogram, Veo and Runway, web search, and your own bots with knowledge bases. No voice mode on the listing and no agent or tool use, and every bit of it is metered in points. |
| Ease of use | A | 4.7 from about 53,800 App Store ratings. Pick a bot and type. The only thing to get your head round is points, since every chat draws on the same pool. |
| Platforms and integrations | A | Web, Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android, plus an OpenAI-compatible API that reaches hundreds of models on one key and plugs into coding tools like Cursor, Cline and Continue. That's the full set. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Poe is for
- Fits if you want to compare models from many labs without paying each one
- Works for developers who want one API key for models from many labs
Who it is not for
- Not for you if you dislike meters, as everything is counted in compute points and extra points are sold on top
- Skip it if you want to know the free limits first, because Poe doesn't publish them
- Tight if you chat in bursts, as the entry plan's 10 thousand points come by the day, not as a monthly pool
- Pricey if you need a monthly pool: 660 thousand points are $19.99 a month, and the top plan is $249.99, before regional taxes
- Too light for voice or agents, as the listing shows no voice mode and no tool use
Good to know
Good for
- Comparing many AI models without a subscription to each one
- Text, image and video models under a single points balance
- Developers who want one API key for models from many labs
Worth knowing
- Usage is metered in compute points, from 10 thousand a day on the lowest plan to 8.25 million a month on the highest; add-on points are sold separately.
- The plans page shows US dollars and says the final price may vary with regional taxes and currency conversion; read from India it prices the same plans in rupees.
- The plans page does not say how many points a free account receives.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$4.17
A month to start. There is a free plan too
Poe has a free plan. Paid plans start at $4.17 per month, billed yearly ($49.99 a year); $4.99 billed monthly.
A free account can chat on a smaller points allowance, but Poe's plans page never says how many points that is.
Free
$0
A smaller points allowance than subscribers get, across free and subscription bots.
10 thousand points/day
$4.99
per month, or $49.99 per year ($4.17 a month)
The entry plan, listed as Basic on the App Store: more messages, more models and each bot's maximum input size and chat history.
660 thousand points/month
$19.99
per month, or $199.99 per year ($16.67 a month)
A monthly pool of 660 thousand points to spend across any model or bot.
1.65 million points/month
$49.99
per month, or $499.99 per year ($41.67 a month)
A monthly pool of 1.65 million points to spend across any model or bot.
3.3 million points/month
$99.99
per month, or $999.99 per year ($83.33 a month)
A monthly pool of 3.3 million points to spend across any model or bot.
8.25 million points/month
$249.99
per month, or $2,499.99 per year ($208.33 a month)
The largest pool: 8.25 million points a month across any model or bot.
The free plan
Free accounts can chat with a smaller allowance of compute points than subscribers. Poe's plans page does not state the size of the free allowance.
Read from poe.com on Oct 10, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
Save 17% with yearly billing
Poe's plans page marks yearly billing as saving 17% against monthly billing: the lowest plan is $49.99 a year, which the page gives as $4.17 a month, against $4.99 billed monthly.
Stated on poe.com
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Poe Monthly Subscription”, against $19.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 9.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| Turkey | ₺799,99 | $16.27 | 19% less |
| Canada | $24.99 | $17.57 | 12% less |
| India | ₹ 1,999 | $20.67 | about the same |
| Australia | $29.99 | $20.94 | about the same |
| South Africa | R399.99 | $24.19 | 21% more |
| Germany | 22,99 € | $25.76 | 29% more |
| Brazil | R$ 129,90 | $25.95 | 30% more |
| United Kingdom | £19.99 | $26.43 | 32% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
5
Places it runs: Web, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android
One app for chatting with AI models from many different labs. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, AI features, chat assistant, AI search.
No voice mode on the listing and no agent or tool use, and every bit of it is metered in points.
- Many models, one account
- Reaches models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and other labs, plus image and video generators, with one sign-in and one points balance.
- Multi-bot chat
- Compare answers from several models and combine bots for a task inside a single chat thread. Chats can be private or shared as a group chat.
- Image and video generation
- Creates images and video with generators such as FLUX, Ideogram, Veo and Runway from inside the same app.
- Custom bots
- Build and share your own bots, with custom knowledge bases if needed. Poe's App Store listing cites more than 1 million custom bots.
- Web search
- A search mode returns answers drawn from the web, and bots can search for current news.
- Poe API
- An OpenAI-compatible endpoint reaches hundreds of models and bots with one key. Subscribers spend their existing points on it at no additional cost.
Where it runs
- Web
- macOS
- Windows
- iOS
- Android
What it works with
- Cursor
- Cline
- Continue
Who makes Poe
Poe is made by Quora, the company behind the Quora question-and-answer site. Quora is privately held and venture-backed, and it runs remote-first. Poe earns its money from subscriptions that cover many AI models in one place, and pays out a share to the people who build bots on it.
- Founded
- 2009techcrunch.com
- Based
- Remote-first since 2020, hiring across North America, Europe, Africa and Asiacareers.quora.com
- Ownership
- Privately held. Privately held, with no parent company. TechCrunch reported in January 2024 that Andreessen Horowitz put $75 million into Quora, and in April 2017 that Collaborative Fund and Y Combinator's Continuity Fund co-led an earlier round.techcrunch.com
- Funding
- TechCrunch reported a $75 million round from Andreessen Horowitz in January 2024, Quora's first raise in nearly seven years, and before that an $85 million Series D in April 2017 that it said brought the total raised to $226 million. Quora's own pages do not state a figure.techcrunch.comtechcrunch.com
- Team
- Its job board says Quora is about 140 full-time employees. That is the whole company, Quora and Poe together.jobs.ashbyhq.com
- Founders and leaders
- Adam D'Angelo, Co-founder and CEOtechcrunch.com
- Charlie Cheever, Co-foundertechcrunch.com
- Hiring
- Its job board lists 8 full-time openings across the whole company, all remote: six in engineering, one in data and one in product management.jobs.ashbyhq.com
- Lately
- Support for multiple API keys · Mar 20, 2026
- Script Bot Creator now has ability to set intro messages and adjustable parameters · Feb 4, 2026
- Added charging for canvas apps · Dec 17, 2025
- Added FLUX-schnell to App Creator and Script Bot Creator and improved Chinese audio generation performance · Dec 16, 2025
Read on Oct 18, 2026 from the company’s own pages and from news reports. What is not stated there is left out.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
53/57
Other AI assistants it is graded above
Poe's GPA of 3.4 is higher than 53 of the 57 other AI assistants we grade, and level with 3.
It stands best on platforms and integrations (A, above 45 of 57) and worst on free plan and trial (C, above 5).
Its paid plans start at $4.17 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 3 of the 38 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.7 out of 4, and no tool on the category's chart scores higher without costing more.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 58 AI assistants we grade, cut by the letter each got. Poe’s own letter is outlined.
- AValue for moneyAbove 38 of 57
- CFree plan and trialAbove 5 of 57
- BFeaturesAbove 28 of 57
- AEase of useAbove 44 of 57
- APlatforms and integrationsAbove 45 of 57
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 45 AI assistants. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Poe is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace Poe you would be making an AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
It is one of the better ones too: its GPA of 3.4 is higher than 53 of the 57 other AI assistants we grade. It costs $50.04 a year.
What you could not
- An AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make.
- A search engine with an AI model behind it.
- Apps for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android that stay in step with each other.
- It plugs into other products, Cursor, Cline and Continue among them, and has an API.
- The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.
What this rests on. Poe’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
ChatGPT, T3 Chat, Mammouth, ChatLLM and Magai
The 5 tools Poe is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 3.4GPA
ChatGPT
Free plan · from $8/mo
OpenAI's general-purpose AI assistant for chat, images and voice.
- Only ChatGPT lists a Linux app.
- 2.2GPA
T3 Chat
Free plan
Web chat app with models from several AI labs in one account.
- Only Poe lists macOS, Windows, iOS and Android apps.
- 2.2GPA
Mammouth
From $10/mo
One subscription for GPT, Claude, Gemini and other AI models.
- Poe has a free plan. Mammouth does not.
- Only Poe lists macOS, Windows and iOS apps.
- Mammouth also covers dictation.
- 2.4GPA
ChatLLM
From $10/mo
Multi-model AI assistant and agent platform from Abacus.AI.
- Poe has a free plan. ChatLLM does not.
- Only Poe lists macOS and Windows apps.
- Only ChatLLM lists a browser extension.
- 1.8GPA
Magai
From $20/mo
Multi-model AI workspace with shared memory and agents.
- Poe has a free plan. Magai does not.
- Only Poe lists macOS, Windows, iOS and Android apps.
- Magai also covers workflow automation and AI agents.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
14
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Poe free?
Poe has a free plan. Free accounts can chat with a smaller allowance of compute points than subscribers.
How much does Poe cost?
Poe lists 6 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does Poe work on?
Poe is available on Web, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
Does Poe offer any discounts?
Poe publicly lists the following: Save 17% with yearly billing.
How is Poe rated?
Poe's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.7 out of 5 from 53,846 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026.
Does Poe have a Linux app?
No Linux app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 10, 2026. Poe is listed for Web, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.
Is Poe open source?
Poe is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 10, 2026.
Does Poe have an API?
Yes. Poe offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does Poe integrate with?
Poe's listing names Cursor, Cline and Continue. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.
Who makes Poe?
Poe is made by Quora, Inc. Privately held, with no parent company.
What are the alternatives to Poe?
The closest alternatives to Poe in our directory are ChatGPT, T3 Chat, Mammouth, ChatLLM and Magai.
How does Poe compare with other AI assistants?
Poe's GPA of 3.4 is higher than 53 of the 57 other AI assistants we grade, and level with 3.
Is Poe good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Poe A for value for money. Its paid plans start at $4.17 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 3 of the 38 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Poe?
To replace Poe you would be making an AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Poe’s own pages on Oct 10, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Poe's own pages on 5 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-06-01.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Quora, Inc. Prices change, so check poe.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Poe, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/poe
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Poe: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 10, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/poe
Know someone choosing between AI assistants?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/poe/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded AI assistants after Poe, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- AI Assistants Insider's GuideEvery one of the 58 AI assistants we grade, compared
- Gemini Insider's GuideGoogle's AI assistant, tied into Gmail, Docs and other Google apps3.8 GPA
- Chatbox Insider's GuideAI chat client for your own API keys or a hosted model plan3.4 GPA
- ChatGPT Insider's GuideOpenAI's general-purpose AI assistant for chat, images and voice3.4 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Poe’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Poe is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Quora, Inc. Prices and plans change: check poe.com before you buy.






