Skip to content

Scite

Research assistant that shows how papers have been cited

Free trial · from $20/moAI ResearchChecked Oct 5, 2026

What is Scite?

Scite is a literature search and evaluation tool built around Smart Citations, which show whether later research supported, contrasted or simply mentioned a paper's findings. Its AI Assistant answers questions from the full text of licensed and open access articles and links each claim to the sentence it came from. Scite is part of Research Solutions and also runs as a browser extension, a Zotero plugin and an MCP connector for AI assistants.

Scite is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $20 per month, billed monthly. See every plan

Good for

  • Checking whether a paper's findings were supported or disputed by later work
  • Searching inside the full text of licensed journal articles
  • Researchers who want cited answers inside Claude or ChatGPT

Worth knowing

  • No free plan is listed; after the 7-day trial a paid subscription is needed.
  • The pricing page also offers annual billing and a Team plan for labs; those prices could not be confirmed in page text and are left out here.
  • Patent, clinical trial and grant search and Collections above 1,000 papers need the Pro plan.
  • MCP use is capped by monthly credits: 250 on Basic and 2,500 on Pro.

Key features

Smart Citations
Shows how later research has cited a paper: whether the citing statements support, contrast or simply mention its findings, with the surrounding context.
Scite Assistant
Answers questions from the scientific literature and links every claim back to the specific sentence in the paper it came from.
Full-text search
Searches inside more than 280 million full-text articles under agreements with Wiley, SAGE and 30+ other publishers, alongside preprints, books, patents and datasets.
Collections and citation alerts
Group papers into Collections of up to 1,000 papers on Basic or 10,000 on Pro, and get alerts about new citations.
Browser extension
Adds Smart Citation counts to paper listings on Google Scholar, PubMed and publisher sites. Clicking a badge opens the full Scite report.
MCP, Zotero and API access
Runs inside Claude, ChatGPT and other MCP-compatible assistants, plugs into Zotero and offers an API for teams building their own tools.

Scite pricing

Starts at
$20 per month, billed monthly
Free plan
None
Free trial
7-day free trial for new users; it rolls into the plan chosen at sign-up unless canceled first.
Basic$20per month, billed monthlyUnlimited Assistant queries, full-text search, Smart Citation reports, citation alerts, 250 MCP credits a month and Collections of up to 1,000 papers.
Pro$50per month, billed monthlyEverything in Basic, plus 2,500 MCP credits a month, Collections of up to 10,000 papers, and search across patents, clinical trials and grants.
EnterpriseCustomFor organizations and universities: unlimited users with pooled usage, SAML/SSO, access by domain, IP or email, and regulatory and safety datasets.

Read from scite.ai on Oct 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Scite before you buy.

Pricing in detail

Ways to pay less

  • EducationStudent and academic discount on request

    The pricing FAQ says students and academics who recommend Scite to their institution by email, copying Scite's sales and support addresses, are sent a discount code. The amount is not stated.

    Stated on scite.ai

Works with

Scite alternatives

Common questions

Is Scite free?

No, Scite is a paid product, but you can try it first. 7-day free trial for new users; it rolls into the plan chosen at sign-up unless canceled first.

How much does Scite cost?

Scite lists 3 plans. Basic: $20 per month, billed monthly. Pro: $50 per month, billed monthly. Enterprise: custom pricing. Prices were read from scite.ai on Oct 5, 2026.

What platforms does Scite work on?

Scite is available on Web. It also has a browser extension.

Does Scite offer any discounts?

Scite publicly lists the following: Student and academic discount on request.

Does Scite have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Scite is listed for Web.

Does Scite have an iPhone app?

No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Scite is listed for Web.

Is Scite open source?

Scite is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 5, 2026.

Does Scite have an API?

Yes. Scite offers a public API, according to its own site.

What does Scite integrate with?

Scite's listing names Zotero, Claude and ChatGPT. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.

Does Scite have a student discount?

Student and academic discount on request. The pricing FAQ says students and academics who recommend Scite to their institution by email, copying Scite's sales and support addresses, are sent a discount code. The amount is not stated.

Who makes Scite?

Scite is made by Scite LLC (Research Solutions).

What are the alternatives to Scite?

The closest alternatives to Scite in our directory are Consensus, Elicit, Semantic Scholar, SciSpace and ResearchRabbit. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Scite.

Sources for this page

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 5, 2026.