The Tim Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Tim in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Tim
The Insider’s Guide
Menu bar time tracker for Mac with reports and invoicing

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among time tracking apps, read from Tim’s own pages.
Made by Neat Software Co. · checked Oct 6, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Tim’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Tim’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 6, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.4
GPA, above 8 of the 42 other time tracking apps we grade
Tim is a time tracker for macOS that keeps the running time in the menu bar and is controlled with keyboard shortcuts. Tasks are organized into groups or with tags, time records can be edited afterwards, and charts break hours, averages and revenue down by date range or tag. It also builds invoices from tracked time. All data stays on the Mac, with no account or internet connection needed.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Tim, taken from its own pages and our grades.
- 1
Best for a menu bar timer on one Mac
Anyone off a Mac, or in a team, should look elsewhere.
- 2
Paid plans start at $1.08 a month when paid by the year
As its pricing page puts it: $12.99 per year, or $24.99 one-time (Pro, US Mac App Store).
- 3
There is a free plan
Free version with most features, limited to 3 tasks and 6 tags. It has no automatic backups or data import and shows upgrade prompts and ads for the maker's other apps.
- 4
It runs on macOS
macOS.
- 5
Menu bar timer
The running time shows in the menu bar and the timer is controlled with keyboard shortcuts. Idle detection asks what to do with the time when you return.
- 6
Tasks, groups and tags
Tasks and their time records can be created and edited freely, grouped or tagged, and archived when they should stay on file but out of the main list and menu bar.
- 7
Charts and filters
Charts give a visual breakdown of hours, averages and revenue, and any view can be filtered by date range, by tag or by both.
- 8
A 2.4 GPA, above 8 of 42
That is against the other time tracking apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
The plain part of Tim you could make: time tracking, invoicing and reports. What surrounds it you could not. The 3 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.
Tim at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $12.99 per year, or $24.99 one-time (Pro, US Mac App Store)
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- None stated
- Runs on
- macOS
- Made by
- Neat Software Co.
- Category
- Time Tracking
- Our grade
- 2.4 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for a menu bar timer on one Mac
Tim is a small Mac time tracker that sits in the menu bar, runs from keyboard shortcuts, keeps data on your Mac with no account and can turn hours into a PDF invoice. Pro is $24.99 once, $12.99 a year or $4.99 a month. But it runs only on macOS 15 or later, the free version stops at 3 tasks, and moving data to a second Mac needs a Pro backup import. Anyone off a Mac, or in a team, should look elsewhere.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | A | Pro is $12.99 a year, or $24.99 once, on the US Mac App Store. A one-time $24.99 is less than four months of what this category charges, and it's yours. Skip the monthly option: $4.99 a month comes to $59.88 over a year. |
| Free plan and trial | C | The free version has most of the features but stops at 3 tasks and 6 tags, which won't cover many clients. It also shows upgrade prompts and ads for the maker's other apps, with no automatic backups and no data import. |
| Features | C | A menu bar timer with idle detection, tasks in groups or tags, charts of hours and revenue, and PDF invoices worked out from rates, tax and payment terms, with CSV, JSON, PDF and iCal export. It does that fully, and it's a one-person, one-Mac job: no teams, no sync, nothing automatic. |
| Ease of use | B | No store rating on record, but there's nothing to set up: no account, no internet connection, and the running time sits in the menu bar with keyboard shortcuts to start and stop it. |
| Platforms and integrations | D | One operating system. Mac only, and the current version wants macOS 15 or later. It hooks into Mac automation, AppleScript, Shortcuts, Spotlight, Raycast and Hammerspoon, but there's no phone, web or Windows anything. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Tim is for
- Fits if you want a timer in your Mac's menu bar that runs from keyboard shortcuts
- Works for freelancers who invoice from tracked hours and would rather pay $24.99 once than subscribe
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you use anything but a Mac, as that's the only place it runs, and only on macOS 15 or later
- Tight if you stay free: 3 tasks, 6 tags, no automatic backups, and upgrade prompts and ads for the maker's other apps
- Not for you if you work on two Macs, as moving data means importing a backup, and that needs Pro
- Too light for teams, since there's no sync, no shared projects and nothing automatic
- Watch out: the website doesn't show the direct-download Pro price; the prices here are from the US Mac App Store
Good to know
Good for
- Mac users who want a timer that lives in the menu bar
- Freelancers who invoice clients from their tracked hours
- People who want time data kept on their own Mac with no account
Worth knowing
- Tim is for Mac only, and the Mac App Store listing says the current version requires macOS 15 or later.
- The free version stops at 3 tasks and 6 tags and shows upgrade prompts.
- Data stays on the device it was recorded on; moving it to another Mac means importing a backup, which needs Pro.
- The website does not state the price of the direct-download Pro version; the listed prices are from the US Mac App Store.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$1.08
A month to start, paid by the year. There is a free plan too
Tim has a free plan. Paid plans start at $12.99 per year, or $24.99 one-time (Pro, US Mac App Store).
It also shows upgrade prompts and ads for the maker's other apps, with no automatic backups and no data import.
Free
$0
Most of Tim's features with up to 3 tasks and 6 tags, without automatic backups or data import.
Pro: Monthly
$4.99
per month, US Mac App Store in-app purchase
Unlimited tasks and tags, automatic backups, importing and transferring data, and no ads or upgrade prompts.
Pro: Yearly
$12.99
per year, US Mac App Store in-app purchase
The same Pro features paid once a year.
Pro: Lifetime
$24.99
one-time, US Mac App Store in-app purchase
Pro as a single purchase. Pro is also sold as a direct download from the website, where the price appears at checkout.
The free plan
Free version with most features, limited to 3 tasks and 6 tags. It has no automatic backups or data import and shows upgrade prompts and ads for the maker's other apps.
Read from apps.apple.com on Oct 6, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Lifetime license
Pro: Lifetime one-time purchase
The US Mac App Store lists Pro: Lifetime at $24.99, a one-time alternative to the monthly and yearly subscriptions.
Stated on apps.apple.comAnnual discount
Yearly Pro costs far less than monthly
The US Mac App Store lists Pro at $12.99 a year against $4.99 a month. Twelve monthly payments come to $59.88, so the yearly plan costs about 78% less.
Stated on apps.apple.comEducation
Student discount through Student App Centre
Tim's help page says students can get a discount code from Student App Centre, which verifies student status. The amount is not stated.
Stated on tim.neat.software
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Pro: Lifetime”, against $24.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philippines | ₱ 1,490.00 | $23.72 | 5% less |
| Canada | $34.99 | $24.60 | about the same |
| India | ₹ 2,499 | $25.83 | about the same |
| Turkey | ₺1.299,99 | $26.44 | 6% more |
| Brazil | R$ 149,90 | $29.95 | 20% more |
| South Africa | R499.99 | $30.24 | 21% more |
| United Kingdom | £24.99 | $33.04 | 32% more |
| Germany | 29,99 € | $33.61 | 34% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
1
Place it runs: macOS
Menu bar time tracker for Mac with reports and invoicing. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: works offline, local-first, one-time purchase, time tracking, invoicing, reports, menu bar app.
It does that fully, and it's a one-person, one-Mac job: no teams, no sync, nothing automatic.
- Menu bar timer
- The running time shows in the menu bar and the timer is controlled with keyboard shortcuts. Idle detection asks what to do with the time when you return.
- Tasks, groups and tags
- Tasks and their time records can be created and edited freely, grouped or tagged, and archived when they should stay on file but out of the main list and menu bar.
- Charts and filters
- Charts give a visual breakdown of hours, averages and revenue, and any view can be filtered by date range, by tag or by both.
- Invoicing
- Invoices are created from tracked time. Tim calculates totals from hourly rates, applies tax and payment terms, and exports a PDF to send to the client.
- Exports and backups
- Data exports to CSV, JSON, PDF or iCal, and a full export doubles as a backup. Pro adds automatic backups at a set interval and importing data on another Mac.
- Automation
- AppleScript, Shortcuts actions, Spotlight, deep links and x-callback-url can start and stop the timer and create tasks or records. A command-line export is possible through osascript.
Where it runs
- macOS
What it works with
- Apple Shortcuts
- AppleScript
- Raycast
- Hammerspoon
Tim is made by Neat Software Co.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
8/42
Other time tracking apps it is graded above
Tim's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 8 of the 42 other time tracking apps we grade, and level with 10.
It stands best on value for money (A, above 36 of 42) and worst on platforms and integrations (D, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $1.08 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $6.55 for the category: 0 of the 35 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.0 out of 4. 2 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 43 time tracking apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Tim’s own letter is outlined.
- AValue for moneyAbove 36 of 42
- CFree plan and trialAbove 0 of 42
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 42
- BEase of useAbove 23 of 42
- DPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 42
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 39 time tracking apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Tim is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
The plain part of Tim you could make: time tracking, invoicing and reports. What surrounds it you could not. The 3 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 24 of the 42 other time tracking apps grade higher. It costs $12.99 a year.
What you could make
- Time tracking, invoicing and reports: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- A native app living in the menu bar.
- A real app for macOS. Something home-made would be a web page.
- Hooks into the device itself: Shortcuts.
What this rests on. Tim’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Timing, Timemator, Daily, Tyme and Chronoid
The 5 tools Tim is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.4GPA
Timing
Free trial · from $9/mo
Automatic time tracking for Mac with no timers to start.
- Tim has a free plan. Timing does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Timing lists a web app.
- Tim can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- 2.4GPA
Timemator
Free trial · from $39 one-time
Automatic time tracking for Mac with a one-time license.
- Tim has a free plan. Timemator does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Timemator lists an iOS app.
- Tim also covers invoicing and menu bar app.
- 2.4GPA
Daily
Free trial · from $39.99/yr
Mac time tracker that asks what you are working on.
- Tim has a free plan. Daily does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Daily lists an iOS app.
- Tim also covers invoicing and reports.
- 2.4GPA
Tyme
Free trial · from $59.99/yr
Time tracking for Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.
- Tim has a free plan. Tyme does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Tyme lists an iOS app.
- Tim can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- 2.0GPA
Chronoid
Free trial · from $8/mo
Automatic, local-first time tracking and invoicing for Mac.
- Tim has a free plan. Chronoid does not, though it has a free trial.
- Tim also covers reports and menu bar app.
- Chronoid also covers site & app blocker and Pomodoro timer.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Tim free?
Tim has a free plan. Free version with most features, limited to 3 tasks and 6 tags.
How much does Tim cost?
Tim lists 4 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does Tim work on?
Tim is available on macOS.
Does Tim offer any discounts?
Tim publicly lists the following: Pro: Lifetime one-time purchase; Yearly Pro costs far less than monthly; Student discount through Student App Centre.
Does Tim have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Tim is listed for macOS.
Does Tim have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Tim is listed for macOS.
Is Tim open source?
Tim is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.
Does Tim work offline?
Yes, according to its own site. What works without a connection differs by plan and platform, so check the vendor's page for the detail.
What does Tim integrate with?
Tim's listing names Apple Shortcuts, AppleScript, Raycast and Hammerspoon.
Does Tim have a student discount?
Student discount through Student App Centre. Tim's help page says students can get a discount code from Student App Centre, which verifies student status.
Who makes Tim?
Tim is made by Neat Software Co.
What are the alternatives to Tim?
The closest alternatives to Tim in our directory are Timing, Timemator, Daily, Tyme and Chronoid.
How does Tim compare with other time tracking apps?
Tim's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 8 of the 42 other time tracking apps we grade, and level with 10.
Is Tim good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Tim A for value for money. Its paid plans start at $1.08 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $6.55 for the category: 0 of the 35 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Tim?
The plain part of Tim you could make: time tracking, invoicing and reports.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Tim’s own pages on Oct 6, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Tim's own pages on 6 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-05-18.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Neat Software Co. Prices change, so check tim.neat.software before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Tim, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/tim
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Tim: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 6, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/tim
Know someone choosing between time tracking apps?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/tim/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded time tracking apps after Tim, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Time Tracking Insider's GuideEvery one of the 43 time tracking apps we grade, compared
- Jibble Insider's GuideFree time clock and attendance tracker with GPS and face recognition3.4 GPA
- Clockify Insider's GuideTeam time tracker and timesheets with a free plan for 5 users3.2 GPA
- TimeCamp Insider's GuideTime tracking with attendance, billing and a free plan for any team3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Tim’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Tim is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Neat Software Co. Prices and plans change: check tim.neat.software before you buy.





