Folge vs Scribe
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Folge
Offline desktop app that turns clicks into step-by-step guides
Scribe
Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work
Where they differ
- Folge starts at $89 one-time for a Personal license, excluding VAT. Scribe starts at $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum).
- Only Scribe lists a web app.
- Only Scribe lists a browser extension.
- Folge can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- Scribe also covers documents.
At a glance
| Folge | Scribe | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $89 one-time for a Personal license, excluding VAT | $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum) |
| Free plan | Free version with no time limit: 5 guides with unlimited steps, all annotation tools, PDF export, 2 export templates, the bring-your-own-key AI Helper and 20 hosted online guides. | Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan. |
| Free trial | None listed | None listed |
| Web | ||
| macOS | ||
| Windows | ||
| Browser extension | ||
| Made by | Oleksii Sribnyi | Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe |
| Price read from | folge.me | scribe.com |
| Checked | Oct 9, 2026 | Oct 5, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Folge
- People who want process documentation kept on their own computer
- Buyers who prefer a one-time license to a monthly subscription
- IT and support staff documenting desktop applications as well as websites
- Training teams that need SCORM or PowerPoint output for an LMS
Scribe
- Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
- Training new hires on web-based software
- Solo consultants documenting processes for clients
Worth knowing
Folge
- The free version stops at 5 guides, exports only to PDF with 2 templates, and its output is watermarked.
- The Personal license is for personal use on one platform and one machine; commercial use needs Business at $155 per seat.
- It runs only on Windows and macOS: the vendor lists no web, Linux or mobile version of the editor.
- Hosting more than 20 guides online needs Folge Cloud Pro, a $7 monthly subscription on top of a license. Prices exclude VAT.
Scribe
- The free Basic plan captures web apps only; the Mac and Windows desktop apps are a Pro and Enterprise feature.
- Basic leaves out unlimited guide creation, exports, custom branding and redaction; the pricing page does not state the guide limit.
- Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
- SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.
Key features
Folge
- Capture on every click
- Folge takes a screenshot on each mouse click, hotkey or key combination and marks where the click landed. Capture can cover one window, a region or the whole screen.
- Step editor and annotations
- Steps get a title and a description, can be reordered, hidden or nested as sub-steps, and are marked up with arrows, shapes, step numbers, a magnifier and blur.
- Many export formats
- One guide exports to PDF, Word, PowerPoint, HTML, Markdown, JSON, an image bundle and a SCORM 1.2 package, with custom fonts, colors, logos and CSS.
- Local storage and Open Guide
- Captures, edits and exports happen on the computer and nothing is uploaded. Open Guide lets a team edit the same guide file from a shared folder, network drive, Dropbox or OneDrive.
- AI Helper with your own key
- The AI Helper reads a screenshot and writes a first draft of the step description. It works with an API key the user supplies and is included in the free version.
- Folge Cloud publishing
- Guides can be published online as a help center with shareable links, password protection and an embeddable widget. Hosting is free for 20 guides and $7 a month for Cloud Pro.
Scribe
- Automatic guide capture
- Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
- Autocapture
- Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
- On-screen walkthroughs
- Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
- Editing and redaction
- Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
- Sharing and export
- Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
- Workflow insights
- Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.
Plans
Folge
Free$0
Up to 5 guides with unlimited steps, all annotation tools, PDF export, 2 export templates and 20 hosted online guides.
Personal license$89
one-time purchase, one platform, excluding VAT
For personal use on Mac or Windows. Unlimited guides, export to 8 formats, no watermarks, WordPress and Notion export, and lifetime updates.
Business license$155
per seat, one-time purchase, excluding VAT
For commercial use on both Mac and Windows. Adds offline collaboration, Confluence and Hudu export, user management and transferable licenses.
Folge Cloud Pro$7
per month, add-on to a paid license, excluding VAT
Optional hosting add-on: up to 1,000 online guides, 3 help centers, custom branding, and feedback and analytics reports.
Scribe
Basic$0
Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video.
Pro Personal$25
per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly)
From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word.
Pro Team$13
per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seats
Everything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration.
EnterpriseCustom
SAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations.
Ways to pay less
Folge
- Lifetime license
One-time license with lifetime updates
Folge is sold as a one-time purchase with all future updates included: $89 for a Personal license or $155 per seat for Business, with a 7-day money-back guarantee.
- Education
25% academic discount
The pricing FAQ says eligible academic buyers who write to Folge receive a 25% discount.
- Other savings
Volume discounts on Business licenses
The Business license lists volume discounts, and the About page says volume pricing starts from 10 seats. No amounts are published.
Scribe
- Annual discount
Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing
Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $13 against $17. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%.
- Education
Pro discount for schools and universities
The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.
- Nonprofit
Pro discount for nonprofits
501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated.