Skip to content

Scribe vs Tango

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Scribe

Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work

Free plan · from $13/mo

Tango

Captures workflows as step-by-step guides with screenshots

Free plan · from $15/mo

Where they differ

  • Scribe starts at $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum). Tango starts at $15 per user / month, billed annually (workspaces of 3+ users).
In commonFree planWebmacOSWindowsBrowser extensionAI featuresScreenshotsDocuments

At a glance

ScribeTango
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum)$15 per user / month, billed annually (workspaces of 3+ users)
Free planBasic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan.Free forever: up to 5 workflows in the team library, browser capture, link and embed sharing, and up to 10 free users per workspace.
Free trialNone listedNone listed
Web
macOS
Windows
Browser extension
Made byColony Labs, Inc. dba ScribeTango Technology, Inc.
Price read fromscribe.comtango.ai
CheckedOct 5, 2026Oct 5, 2026

Who each one suits

Scribe

  • Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
  • Training new hires on web-based software
  • Solo consultants documenting processes for clients

Tango

  • Documenting how to do a task in a web app without writing it up
  • Onboarding staff onto new software with on-screen walkthroughs
  • Small teams: a free workspace holds up to 10 users

Worth knowing

Scribe

  • The free Basic plan captures web apps only; the Mac and Windows desktop apps are a Pro and Enterprise feature.
  • Basic leaves out unlimited guide creation, exports, custom branding and redaction; the pricing page does not state the guide limit.
  • Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
  • SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.

Tango

  • The Free plan stores only 5 workflows in the team library and has no PDF, HTML or Markdown export.
  • The Mac and Windows desktop app is limited to Pro and Enterprise, and Guide Me does not work on workflows captured with it.
  • Tango has no mobile app and does not capture on phones or tablets; the extension is for Chrome and Edge, not Firefox or Safari.
  • Every member of a Pro workspace needs a paid seat, and Pins, automations, SSO and translation are Enterprise only.

Key features

Scribe

Automatic guide capture
Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
Autocapture
Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
On-screen walkthroughs
Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
Editing and redaction
Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
Sharing and export
Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
Workflow insights
Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.

Tango

Workflow capture
Click through a process and Tango builds a guide with a screenshot, highlight and description for each step. Browser capture is free; desktop capture needs Pro or Enterprise.
Guide Me walkthroughs
Guide Me replays a workflow as a live walkthrough that highlights each step inside the web app. Workspace members get it on every plan; guests can try it 3 times.
Editing and blurring
Pro adds screenshot annotation and redaction, blurring of sensitive data during capture, voice transcription and AI-generated content. Automatic PII detection is Enterprise only.
Sharing and export
Every plan shares a workflow by URL or embed. PDF download, HTML and Markdown export, video embeds, and viewership and completion insights start on Pro.
Pins
On Enterprise, guidance can be pinned to a button, field or screen in a web tool, so a note, warning or link to the full guide appears when someone hovers over it.
Automations
Enterprise workspaces can turn guides into browser automations that carry out repetitive steps and fill in extracted data while a person keeps control of the decisions.

Plans

Scribe

  • Basic$0

    Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video.

  • Pro Personal$25

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly)

    From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word.

  • Pro Team$13

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seats

    Everything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    SAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations.

Tango

  • Free$0

    5 shared workflows, browser capture, link and embed sharing, and up to 10 users per workspace.

  • Pro (1–2 users)$22

    per user / month, billed annually ($26 billed monthly)

    Unlimited workflows, desktop capture, custom branding, PDF, HTML and Markdown export, screenshot annotation and blurring, and 14-day version history.

  • Pro (3+ users)$15

    per user / month, billed annually ($20 billed monthly)

    The same Pro features at the team rate, which applies once a workspace has 3 or more paid members.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Pins and automations, automatic PII redaction, translation into 15 languages, SSO and SCIM, audit logs and 365-day version history, for a platform fee.

Ways to pay less

Scribe

  • Annual discount

    Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing

    Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $13 against $17. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%.

  • Education

    Pro discount for schools and universities

    The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.

  • Nonprofit

    Pro discount for nonprofits

    501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated.

Tango

  • Annual discount

    Lower Pro rates with annual billing

    Pro for 1 to 2 users is $22 per user a month on an annual plan against $26 on a monthly plan. For 3 or more users it is $15 against $20.

  • Nonprofit

    15% off for nonprofits

    Tango's help center offers nonprofits a 15% discount, requested by email with a 501(c)(3) letter as proof of status.

  • Education

    15% off for students and faculty

    The same 15% discount applies to students and faculty who use a .edu email address for their Tango subscription and request it by email.

More comparisons