Skip to content

Scribe

Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work

Free plan · from $13/moDocs & WikisChecked Oct 5, 2026
Scribe, as pictured on scribe.com
How Scribe presents itself. Image from scribe.com.

What is Scribe?

Scribe records a process as someone carries it out and turns it into a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and instruction for each action. Guides can be shared by link, embedded in other tools, exported or replayed as on-screen walkthroughs, and its Autocapture feature drafts documentation from work already done without pressing record. It runs as a Chrome or Edge extension, with Mac and Windows desktop apps on paid plans.

Scribe has a free plan. Paid plans start at $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum). See every plan

Good for

  • Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
  • Training new hires on web-based software
  • Solo consultants documenting processes for clients

Worth knowing

  • The free Basic plan captures web apps only; the Mac and Windows desktop apps are a Pro and Enterprise feature.
  • Basic leaves out unlimited guide creation, exports, custom branding and redaction; the pricing page does not state the guide limit.
  • Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
  • SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.

Key features

Automatic guide capture
Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
Autocapture
Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
On-screen walkthroughs
Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
Editing and redaction
Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
Sharing and export
Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
Workflow insights
Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.

Scribe pricing

Starts at
$13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum)
Free plan
Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan.
Free trial
None listed
Basic$0Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video.
Pro Personal$25per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly)From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word.
Pro Team$13per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seatsEverything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration.
EnterpriseCustomSAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations.

Read from scribe.com on Oct 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Scribe before you buy.

Pricing in detail

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discountLower per-seat prices with yearly billing

    Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $13 against $17. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%.

    Stated on scribe.com
  • EducationPro discount for schools and universities

    The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.

    Stated on scribe.com
  • NonprofitPro discount for nonprofits

    501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated.

    Stated on scribe.com

Works with

Scribe alternatives

Common questions

Is Scribe free?

Scribe has a free plan. Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan. Paid plans start at $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum).

How much does Scribe cost?

Scribe lists 4 plans. Basic: $0. Pro Personal: $25 per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly). Pro Team: $13 per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seats. Enterprise: custom pricing. Prices were read from scribe.com on Oct 5, 2026.

What platforms does Scribe work on?

Scribe is available on Web, macOS and Windows. It also has a browser extension.

Does Scribe offer any discounts?

Scribe publicly lists the following: Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing; Pro discount for schools and universities; Pro discount for nonprofits.

Does Scribe have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Scribe is listed for Web, macOS and Windows.

Does Scribe have an iPhone app?

No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Scribe is listed for Web, macOS and Windows.

Is Scribe open source?

Scribe is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 5, 2026.

What does Scribe integrate with?

Scribe's listing names Confluence, SharePoint, Notion, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Zendesk, ChatGPT and Claude. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.

Does Scribe have a student discount?

Pro discount for schools and universities. The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.

Who makes Scribe?

Scribe is made by Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe.

What are the alternatives to Scribe?

The closest alternatives to Scribe in our directory are Tango, Guidde, Dubble, Folge and Trainual. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Scribe.

Sources for this page

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 5, 2026.