Skip to content

The Scribe Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Scribe in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Scribe

The Insider’s Guide

Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work

Scribe, as pictured on scribe.com

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among docs and wiki tools, read from Scribe’s own pages.

Made by Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.4GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Scribe’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Scribe’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.4

GPA, above 13 of the 51 other docs and wiki tools we grade

Scribe records a process as someone carries it out and turns it into a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and instruction for each action. Guides can be shared by link, embedded in other tools, exported or replayed as on-screen walkthroughs, and its Autocapture feature drafts documentation from work already done without pressing record. It runs as a Chrome or Edge extension, with Mac and Windows desktop apps on paid plans.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Scribe, taken from its own pages and our grades.

  1. 1

    Best for how-to guides that write themselves as you click

    Free doesn't say where its guide limit is, and leaves out exports and desktop capture.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $23 a month for each person

    As its pricing page puts it: $23 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum).

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan.

  4. 4

    It runs on 3 platforms

    Web, macOS and Windows, with a browser extension too.

  5. 5

    Automatic guide capture

    Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.

  6. 6

    Autocapture

    Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.

  7. 7

    On-screen walkthroughs

    Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.

  8. 8

    A 2.4 GPA, above 13 of 51

    That is against the other docs and wiki tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    The plain part of Scribe you could make: documents. What surrounds it you could not. The 5 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.

Scribe at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $23 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum)
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
None stated
Runs on
Web, macOS, Windows, Browser extension
Made by
Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe
Category
Docs & Wikis
Our grade
2.4 GPA, fair

The report card

Best for how-to guides that write themselves as you click

Scribe watches you click through a task and writes a how-to guide with a screenshot for every step, and the free Basic plan does that for anything in Chrome or Edge. Free doesn't say where its guide limit is, and leaves out exports and desktop capture. Pro Team is $23 a seat a month yearly with a 5-seat minimum, the pricing page also shows a $13 version to some visitors, and SSO is Enterprise only.

ToolGPA report cardScribeGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyCPro Team is $23 a seat a month billed yearly with at least 5 seats, so $115 a month before anyone has written a word. That's above this category's $15 middle without being near its dear end. One person pays $25, and the pricing page also holds a $13 set of Pro Team cards shown only to some visitors.
Free plan and trialCBasic is free and captures whatever you do in Chrome or Edge, with editing and sharing by link, embed or video. There is a cap, though: unlimited guides are a paid feature and the pricing page never says where free stops. No exports and no desktop capture either.
FeaturesCClick through a process and you get a guide with a screenshot and instruction per step, replayable as an on-screen walkthrough, with Autocapture drafting guides from work already done. It does that job fully, and it's a narrower job than a wiki: redaction, branding and export are paid, SSO and translation Enterprise.
Ease of useBNo app rating on record, but there's nothing to set up: add the Chrome or Edge extension, do the task once, and the guide is written for you. No screenshots to take by hand.
Platforms and integrationsBA web app and a Chrome or Edge extension, with Mac and Windows apps on paid plans, and connections to Confluence, SharePoint, Notion, Microsoft Teams and Zendesk. The Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only, and no phone apps are listed.
Grade point averageFair, out of 4.02.4

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Scribe is for

  • Fits if you write SOPs and paste screenshots into documents by hand today
  • Works for solo consultants documenting a client's process, as Pro Personal starts at 1 seat

Who it is not for

  • Pricey if there are two or three of you, because Pro Team starts at 5 seats at $23 each, so $115 a month
  • Skip it if you need to capture desktop apps or export guides for free, as both are paid
  • Watch out: the free plan's guide limit isn't stated, and the pricing page shows Pro Team at $23 to some visitors and $13 to others
  • Not for you if you need SSO, SCIM, translation or the Slack integration without an Enterprise contract
  • Watch out: every member of a team has to be on the same plan, and no phone apps are listed

Good to know

Good for

  • Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
  • Training new hires on web-based software
  • Solo consultants documenting processes for clients

Worth knowing

  • The free Basic plan captures web apps only and leaves out desktop capture, unlimited guides, exports, custom branding and redaction. The pricing page does not state a guide limit.
  • The pricing page holds two sets of plan cards: Pro Team is $23 a seat in the set shown by default and $13 in a set shown only to some visitors. Confirm the price at checkout.
  • Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
  • SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$23

A month to start, for each person. There is a free plan too

Scribe has a free plan. Paid plans start at $23 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum).

Basic is free and captures whatever you do in Chrome or Edge, with editing and sharing by link, embed or video.
From our grade for free plan and trial
  • Basic

    $0

    Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video.

  • Pro Personal

    $25

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly)

    From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word.

  • Pro Team

    $23

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($29 monthly); min. 5 seats

    Everything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration. The price is the one the pricing page shows by default.

  • Enterprise

    Custom

    SAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations.

The free plan

Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan.

Read from scribe.com on Oct 9, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing

    Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $23 against $29. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%.

    Stated on scribe.com
  • Education

    Pro discount for schools and universities

    The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.

    Stated on scribe.com
  • Nonprofit

    Pro discount for nonprofits

    501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated.

    Stated on scribe.com

How its prices have moved

  • Oct 9, 2026Pro Team: $13 per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 billed monthly) → $23 per seat / month, billed yearly ($29 billed monthly), as shown by defaultThe archive copy of Scribe's pricing page from September 28, 2026 shows Pro Team at $13 a seat. The page read on October 9 shows $23 by default and keeps a second set of cards at $13 that it displays only to some visitors.

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

4

Places it runs: Web, macOS, Windows and Browser extension

Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: AI features, screenshots, documents.

It does that job fully, and it's a narrower job than a wiki: redaction, branding and export are paid, SSO and translation Enterprise.
From our grade for features
Automatic guide capture
Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
Autocapture
Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
On-screen walkthroughs
Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
Editing and redaction
Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
Sharing and export
Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
Workflow insights
Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.

Where it runs

  • Web
  • macOS
  • Windows
  • Browser extension

What it works with

  • Confluence
  • SharePoint
  • Notion
  • Slack
  • Microsoft Teams
  • Zendesk
  • ChatGPT
  • Claude

Scribe is made by Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

13/51

Other docs and wiki tools it is graded above

Scribe's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 13 of the 51 other docs and wiki tools we grade, and level with 11.

It stands best on ease of use (B, above 32 of 51) and worst on features (C, above 1).

Its paid plans start at $23 a month for each person, against a middle price of $16.50 for the category: 26 of the 41 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4. 10 tools score higher and cost less.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 52 docs and wiki tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. Scribe’s own letter is outlined.

  • CValue for moneyAbove 10 of 51
  • CFree plan and trialAbove 4 of 51
  • CFeaturesAbove 1 of 51
  • BEase of useAbove 32 of 51
  • BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 10 of 51

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 47 docs and wiki tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Scribe is the marked dot.

D1.0C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$0.5$1$2$5$10$20$50$100$200$500More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessScribeONLYOFFICEZoho WriterZoho LearnWiki.jsGoogle Docs

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

The plain part of Scribe you could make: documents. What surrounds it you could not. The 5 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.

That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 27 of the 51 other docs and wiki tools grade higher. It costs $276 a year.

What you could make

  • Documents: an app builder makes this well.

What you could not

  • Capture tools hooked into the operating system.
  • A real app for macOS and Windows. Something home-made would be a web page.
  • It is priced for each person, which means accounts and billing for a team.
  • It plugs into other products, Confluence, SharePoint and Notion among them.
  • AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.

What this rests on. Scribe’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Tango, Guidde, Dubble, Folge and Trainual

The 5 tools Scribe is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.4GPA

    Tango

    Free plan · from $15/mo

    Captures workflows as step-by-step guides with screenshots.

      Scribe and Tango compared in full
    • 2.4GPA

      Guidde

      Free plan · from $19/mo

      AI video documentation tool that turns screen captures into guides.

      • Scribe also covers screenshots and documents.
      • Guidde also covers AI search, screen recording and video editing.
      Scribe and Guidde compared in full
    • 2.8GPA

      Dubble

      Free plan · from $18/mo

      Chrome extension that records clicks as step-by-step guides.

      • Only Scribe lists a Windows app.
      • Scribe also covers documents.
      • Dubble also covers screen recording.
      Scribe and Dubble compared in full
    • 2.6GPA

      Folge

      Free plan · from $89 one-time

      Offline desktop app that turns clicks into step-by-step guides.

      • Only Scribe lists a web app.
      • Only Scribe lists a browser extension.
      • Folge can be bought with a one-time purchase.
      Scribe and Folge compared in full
    • 2.0GPA

      Trainual

      Paid

      Training and SOP platform for onboarding and running teams.

      • Scribe has a free plan. Trainual does not.
      • Only Scribe lists macOS and Windows apps.
      • Only Trainual lists iOS and Android apps.
      Scribe and Trainual compared in full

    Part 06 · Questions

    Quick answers

    The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

    14

    Questions, each answered in a line or two

    The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

    Is Scribe free?

    Scribe has a free plan. Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video.

    How much does Scribe cost?

    Scribe lists 4 plans. Basic: $0.

    What platforms does Scribe work on?

    Scribe is available on Web, macOS and Windows. It also has a browser extension.

    Does Scribe offer any discounts?

    Scribe publicly lists the following: Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing; Pro discount for schools and universities; Pro discount for nonprofits.

    Does Scribe have an Android app?

    No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Scribe is listed for Web, macOS and Windows.

    Does Scribe have an iPhone app?

    No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Scribe is listed for Web, macOS and Windows.

    Is Scribe open source?

    Scribe is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 9, 2026.

    What does Scribe integrate with?

    Scribe's listing names Confluence, SharePoint, Notion, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Zendesk, ChatGPT and Claude.

    Does Scribe have a student discount?

    Pro discount for schools and universities. The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form.

    Who makes Scribe?

    Scribe is made by Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe.

    What are the alternatives to Scribe?

    The closest alternatives to Scribe in our directory are Tango, Guidde, Dubble, Folge and Trainual.

    How does Scribe compare with other docs and wiki tools?

    Scribe's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 13 of the 51 other docs and wiki tools we grade, and level with 11.

    Is Scribe good value for money?

    ToolGPA grades Scribe C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $23 a month for each person, against a middle price of $16.50 for the category: 26 of the 41 others that charge start lower.

    Could I make my own version of Scribe?

    The plain part of Scribe you could make: documents. What surrounds it you could not.

    Where this guide comes from

    The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Scribe’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Scribe's own pages on 9 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-09-03.

    Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe. Prices change, so check scribe.com before you buy.

    Part 07 · About

    About ToolGPA

    Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

    3,189

    Tools graded, in 94 categories

    ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

    Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

    • 3,189

      tools graded

    • 94

      categories

    • 426

      price changes on record

    • 579

      apps priced in 12 countries

    What else is on toolgpa.com

    Scan for the live page

    Prices and grades as they are today

    Quoting this guide?

    Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

    ToolGPA, "Scribe: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/scribe

    Know someone choosing between docs and wiki tools?

    Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/scribe/guide

    ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

    See our other guides

    The best-graded docs and wiki tools after Scribe, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

    ToolGPA

    Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

    Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

    Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Scribe’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Scribe is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe. Prices and plans change: check scribe.com before you buy.