Scribe vs Trainual
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Scribe
Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work
Where they differ
- Scribe has a free plan. Trainual does not.
- Only Scribe lists macOS and Windows apps.
- Only Trainual lists iOS and Android apps.
- Scribe also covers screenshots.
- Trainual also covers AI search, templates and screen recording.
At a glance
| Scribe | Trainual | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Paid |
| Starts at | $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum) | Not published |
| Free plan | Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan. | None |
| Free trial | None listed | None listed |
| Web | ||
| macOS | ||
| Windows | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Browser extension | ||
| Made by | Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe | Trainual, Inc. |
| Price read from | scribe.com | trainual.com |
| Checked | Oct 5, 2026 | Oct 5, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Scribe
- Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
- Training new hires on web-based software
- Solo consultants documenting processes for clients
Trainual
- Companies of roughly 25 to 1,000 employees documenting how work gets done
- Onboarding new hires with role-based training and tests
- Field and multi-location teams that train on phones
Worth knowing
Scribe
- The free Basic plan captures web apps only; the Mac and Windows desktop apps are a Pro and Enterprise feature.
- Basic leaves out unlimited guide creation, exports, custom branding and redaction; the pricing page does not state the guide limit.
- Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
- SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.
Trainual
- Trainual lists no prices: plans are quoted on a demo call according to team size and the features needed.
- A one-time implementation fee of $1,000 applies, and there is no self-serve free trial; evaluation starts with a demo.
- Individual training paths, video hosting and the org chart need Pro; custom branding, a custom domain and single sign-on need Premium.
- API access and custom integration support are limited to the Enterprise plan.
Key features
Scribe
- Automatic guide capture
- Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
- Autocapture
- Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
- On-screen walkthroughs
- Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
- Editing and redaction
- Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
- Sharing and export
- Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
- Workflow insights
- Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.
Trainual
- Process docs and SOPs
- Processes, policies and SOPs are written in a built-in editor with AI drafting or uploaded from existing documents, and can include flowcharts, video, screen recordings and embeds.
- Role-based training
- Content is assigned by role, department or location and given due dates. Individual training paths that sequence content for each person start on the Pro plan.
- Tests, e-signatures and tracking
- AI-generated tests and e-signatures confirm that training was understood, and reports show completions and overdue assignments. Pro includes 300 e-signatures a year.
- AI knowledge search
- Employees ask a question and get an answer drawn from the company's own documented content, on the web and in the iOS and Android apps.
- Templates and courses
- More than 500 customizable templates are included. The FAQ describes a library of 400+ expert-built compliance and upskilling courses as a premium add-on.
- Roles and org chart
- A roles and responsibilities builder records who owns what and links each role to its training. The org chart and accountability chart start on Pro.
Plans
Scribe
Basic$0
Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video.
Pro Personal$25
per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly)
From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word.
Pro Team$13
per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seats
Everything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration.
EnterpriseCustom
SAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations.
Trainual
CoreCustom
AI-assisted documentation, AI knowledge search, 500+ templates, tests and tracking, built-in screen recording, 2 GB of video storage and 30-day version history.
ProCustom
Adds individual training paths, video hosting with 15 GB of storage, 300 e-signatures a year, an org chart and 90-day version history.
PremiumCustom
Adds unlimited video storage, version history and e-signatures, custom branding and domain, single sign-on and an MCP server for custom AI agents.
EnterpriseCustom
Adds API access and custom integration support, SOC 2 documentation, extended implementation and migration, and priority support.
Ways to pay less
Scribe
- Annual discount
Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing
Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $13 against $17. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%.
- Education
Pro discount for schools and universities
The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.
- Nonprofit
Pro discount for nonprofits
501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated.
Trainual
No public discounts listed.
