Skip to content

The UiPath Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about UiPath in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

UiPath

The Insider’s Guide

Enterprise platform for RPA, AI agents and process orchestration

UiPath, as pictured on uipath.com

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among automation tools, read from UiPath’s own pages.

Made by UiPath · checked Oct 5, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.6GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from UiPath’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on UiPath’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 5, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.6

GPA, above 24 of the 40 other automation tools we grade

UiPath is an enterprise automation platform built around robotic process automation (RPA): software robots that operate applications through their user interfaces. Around that core it adds AI agents, document processing, process mining and Maestro, which orchestrates agents, robots and people in one process. It runs as a cloud service or self-hosted, with a free Community plan and Standard and Enterprise plans priced by its sales team.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about UiPath, taken from its own pages and our grades.

It's built for companies, not a quick weekend fix.
From our report card of UiPath
  1. 1

    Best for robots that work old desktop apps for big companies

    There's a free Community plan to learn on.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $25 a month

    As its pricing page puts it: $25 per month (Basic plan; billing basis not stated).

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    Community plan, free forever: build and run automations with UiPath Studio, Maestro Automate and Maestro Orchestrate, with support from the community forum.

  4. 4

    It runs on 4 platforms

    Web, Windows, macOS and Linux.

  5. 5

    UI automation with robots

    Robots work with screens and data the way a person would, using AI Computer Vision and selectors on Windows and macOS, and reach legacy systems and virtual environments such as Citrix.

  6. 6

    Studio and Studio Web

    Automations are built low-code or code-first. Studio Web creates and edits them in the browser, and the desktop experience works across Windows, macOS and Linux.

  7. 7

    Agents and Maestro

    Agents handle variable work that fixed rules cannot. Maestro models a process in BPMN and orchestrates agents, robots, API workflows and human tasks within it.

  8. 8

    A 2.6 GPA, above 24 of 40

    That is against the other automation tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace UiPath you would be making connections to other products, each kept working as those products change. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

UiPath at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $25 per month (Basic plan; billing basis not stated)
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
60-day free trial of the Standard plan
Runs on
Web, macOS, Windows, Linux
Made by
UiPath, since 2005
Category
Automation
Our grade
2.6 GPA, good

The report card

Best for robots that work old desktop apps for big companies

UiPath sells software robots that click through your apps the way a person would, old desktop ones included, with AI agents, document reading and process mining around them. There's a free Community plan to learn on. Basic is $25 a month for 2 robots and 1 tenant hosted in Europe, the page doesn't say what that's charged per, and every price past it comes from a sales call. It's built for companies, not a quick weekend fix.

ToolGPA report cardUiPathGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyDBasic is $25 a month, the top of this category's range, and for that you get 2 robots, 1 tenant and European hosting only, with unattended RPA as an add-on. Everything people actually come to UiPath for, agents, document processing, Maestro, waits on Standard, and Standard's price comes from a sales call.
Free plan and trialBCommunity is free forever: you build and run real automations in Studio, with Maestro Automate and Maestro Orchestrate, and ask the forum when you're stuck. One person could live on it. The listing doesn't print its limits, so how far it stretches we can't say.
FeaturesARobots that work screens on Windows and Mac, Citrix and legacy systems included, then AI agents, document processing, process mining, and Maestro modeling a process in BPMN across robots, agents and people. A Healing Agent patches broken automations at runtime, at extra cost on Standard.
Ease of useCNo rating on record, and this is a platform rather than an app. Robots, Studio, tenants, BPMN models: all of it wants learning before a single thing runs. Autopilot turning a plain-English prompt into a workflow is the one shortcut on offer.
Platforms and integrationsBStudio Web in a browser, desktop across Windows, Mac and Linux, and your own Kubernetes or Linux machines on Standard and Enterprise. It hooks up to Citrix, CyberArk, Azure Key Vault and coding assistants. No phone apps on the listing at all.
Grade point averageGood, out of 4.02.6

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who UiPath is for

  • Fits if your company runs on old desktop apps, since the robots work the screens like a person would
  • Works for IT teams that have to host it themselves, which Standard and Enterprise allow

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you just want two web apps to talk to each other, as that's a job for Zapier or n8n
  • Not for you if you want to see a price first, because Standard and Enterprise are quoted by sales
  • Tight if you're on Basic, with 2 robots, 1 tenant, European hosting only and unattended RPA as an add-on
  • Watch out: the pricing page says Basic is changing soon and doesn't say what its $25 is charged per
  • Pricey if you want self-healing automation, an extra on Standard, or live process monitoring, which needs Enterprise

Good to know

Good for

  • Enterprises automating work across legacy desktop applications
  • Programs that combine robots, AI agents and human approvals
  • Organizations that need a dedicated or self-hosted deployment

Worth knowing

  • Standard and Enterprise prices are not published; both are quoted by UiPath's sales team.
  • Basic is capped at 5 Basic, 5 Plus and 1 Pro user, 2 robots and 1 tenant, and is hosted only in UiPath's European region.
  • The pricing page says Basic is evolving and an updated plan is coming soon, and it does not state what the $25 starting price is charged per.
  • Self-healing automation is an extra purchase on Standard, and live process monitoring, simulation and customer-managed encryption keys need Enterprise.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$25

A month to start. There is a free plan too

UiPath has a free plan. Paid plans start at $25 per month (Basic plan; billing basis not stated).

The listing doesn't print its limits, so how far it stretches we can't say.
From our grade for free plan and trial
  • Community

    $0

    Free forever. Build and run automations with UiPath Studio, Maestro Automate and Maestro Orchestrate, with help from the community forum.

  • Basic

    From $25

    per month; the page does not say what the price is per

    Basic personal automations for up to 5 Basic, 5 Plus and 1 Pro user and 2 robots, hosted in the European region, with Bronze Support. Unattended RPA is an add-on.

  • Standard

    Custom

    Adds agents, document processing, Maestro orchestration, governance controls and your own identity provider, with no limits on scale. Starts with a 60-day free trial.

  • Enterprise

    Custom

    Adds self-healing UI automation, live process monitoring and simulation, your own encryption keys and credential vaults, and multi-region hosting.

The free plan

Community plan, free forever: build and run automations with UiPath Studio, Maestro Automate and Maestro Orchestrate, with support from the community forum.

Trying it first

60-day free trial of the Standard plan

Read from uipath.com on Oct 5, 2026.

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

4

Places it runs: Web, macOS, Windows and Linux

Enterprise platform for RPA, AI agents and process orchestration. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: self-hostable, AI features, workflow automation, AI agents.

A Healing Agent patches broken automations at runtime, at extra cost on Standard.
From our grade for features
UI automation with robots
Robots work with screens and data the way a person would, using AI Computer Vision and selectors on Windows and macOS, and reach legacy systems and virtual environments such as Citrix.
Studio and Studio Web
Automations are built low-code or code-first. Studio Web creates and edits them in the browser, and the desktop experience works across Windows, macOS and Linux.
Agents and Maestro
Agents handle variable work that fixed rules cannot. Maestro models a process in BPMN and orchestrates agents, robots, API workflows and human tasks within it.
Autopilot and Healing Agent
Autopilot turns natural-language prompts into workflows, code and expressions. Healing Agent suggests fixes for broken automations and repairs UI issues at runtime.
Document processing and mining
From the Standard plan, UiPath classifies and extracts data from documents and communications, and offers Process Mining, Task Mining and Automation Hub.
Cloud, dedicated or self-hosted
Automation Cloud is the SaaS version. Standard and Enterprise can instead be self-hosted on your own Kubernetes or Linux machines, and Enterprise can buy a dedicated cloud.

Where it runs

  • Web
  • macOS
  • Windows
  • Linux

What it works with

  • Claude Code
  • Cursor
  • Codex
  • CyberArk
  • Azure Key Vault
  • Citrix

UiPath is made by UiPath, and has been around since 2005.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

24/40

Other automation tools it is graded above

UiPath's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 24 of the 40 other automation tools we grade, and level with 7.

It stands best on features (A, above 38 of 40) and worst on value for money (D, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $25 a month, against a middle price of $18.50 for the category: 22 of the 29 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.0 out of 4. Nothing scores higher for less, though at least one tool matches that score at a lower price.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 41 automation tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. UiPath’s own letter is outlined.

  • DValue for moneyAbove 0 of 40
  • BFree plan and trialAbove 29 of 40
  • AFeaturesAbove 38 of 40
  • CEase of useAbove 3 of 40
  • BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 10 of 40

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 33 automation tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. UiPath is the marked dot.

D1.0C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$1$2$5$10$20$50$100$200$500$1kMore for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessUiPathIFTTTNode-REDMakeZapierActivepieces

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace UiPath you would be making connections to other products, each kept working as those products change. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

It costs $300 a year.

What you could not

  • Connections to other products, each kept working as those products change.
  • An AI agent, with the models and the safeguards behind it.
  • Apps for macOS, Windows and Linux that stay in step with each other.
  • The depth: we grade its features A, which means it covers the whole job.

What this rests on. UiPath’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Microsoft Power Automate, Robomotion, Ui.Vision, Zapier and n8n

The 5 tools UiPath is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.8GPA

    Microsoft Power Automate

    Free plan · from $15/mo

    Cloud workflows and desktop RPA in the Microsoft Power Platform.

    • Only UiPath lists macOS and Linux apps.
    • UiPath is self-hostable, according to its own site.
    • UiPath also covers AI agents.
    UiPath and Microsoft Power Automate compared in full
  • 2.0GPA

    Robomotion

    Free plan · from $49/mo

    RPA platform for building workflows, AI agents and apps.

    • Robomotion also covers templates and forms.
    UiPath and Robomotion compared in full
  • 3.0GPA

    Ui.Vision

    Free plan · from €11.90/mo

    Open-source browser and desktop automation with computer vision.

    • Only UiPath lists a web app.
    • Only Ui.Vision lists a browser extension.
    • UiPath is self-hostable, according to its own site.
    UiPath and Ui.Vision compared in full
  • 2.6GPA

    Zapier

    Free plan · from $19.99/mo

    Workflow automation across 9,000+ apps, with AI agents.

    • Only UiPath lists Windows, macOS and Linux apps.
    • Only Zapier lists a browser extension.
    • UiPath is self-hostable, according to its own site.
    UiPath and Zapier compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    n8n

    Free plan · from €20/mo

    Workflow automation and AI agents you can self-host.

    • Only UiPath lists Windows, macOS and Linux apps.
    • UiPath also covers AI agents.
    UiPath and n8n compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

14

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is UiPath free?

UiPath has a free plan. Community plan, free forever: build and run automations with UiPath Studio, Maestro Automate and Maestro Orchestrate, with support from the community forum.

How much does UiPath cost?

UiPath lists 4 plans. Community: $0.

What platforms does UiPath work on?

UiPath is available on Web, Windows, macOS and Linux.

Does UiPath have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. UiPath is listed for Web, Windows, macOS and Linux.

Does UiPath have an iPhone app?

No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. UiPath is listed for Web, Windows, macOS and Linux.

Is UiPath open source?

UiPath is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 5, 2026.

Can UiPath be self-hosted?

Yes. UiPath's own site says it can be run on a server of your own.

What does UiPath integrate with?

UiPath's listing names Claude Code, Cursor, Codex, CyberArk, Azure Key Vault and Citrix.

Does UiPath have a free trial?

Yes. 60-day free trial of the Standard plan.

Who makes UiPath?

UiPath is made by a company of the same name. It dates from 2005.

What are the alternatives to UiPath?

The closest alternatives to UiPath in our directory are Microsoft Power Automate, Robomotion, Ui.Vision, Zapier and n8n.

How does UiPath compare with other automation tools?

UiPath's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 24 of the 40 other automation tools we grade, and level with 7.

Is UiPath good value for money?

ToolGPA grades UiPath D for value for money. Its paid plans start at $25 a month, against a middle price of $18.50 for the category: 22 of the 29 others that charge start lower.

Could I make my own version of UiPath?

To replace UiPath you would be making connections to other products, each kept working as those products change.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from UiPath’s own pages on Oct 5, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from UiPath's own pages on 5 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-07-16.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by UiPath. Prices change, so check uipath.com before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

3,189

Tools graded, in 94 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 3,189

    tools graded

  • 94

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "UiPath: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 5, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/uipath

Know someone choosing between automation tools?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/uipath/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded automation tools after UiPath, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what UiPath’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. UiPath is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by UiPath. Prices and plans change: check uipath.com before you buy.