Habitify vs Tangerine
We give Habitify a 3.8 GPA and Tangerine a 3.0, out of 4.0. Habitify grades higher on value for money and platforms. They get the same grade on the free plan, features and ease of use.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Habitify
Cross-platform habit tracker with health-data sync and an API
Tangerine
Self-care app combining habits, mood tracking and a journal
How we grade them
| 3.8GPAHabitifyExcellent | 3.0GPATangerineVery good | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | APlus is $29.99 a year, so about $2.50 a month, for unlimited habits and reminders. That's well under what habit apps usually ask. Pro is $49.99 a year, which is still fair, but $8.99 if you pay by the month. Plus is sold by the year only. | BPremium is $39.99 a year after a 7-day free trial, or $6.99 a month, so yearly comes out about 52% cheaper. That's ordinary money for a habit app, and this one throws in mood tracking and a journal. Careful: the App Store description still quotes $29.99 and $4.99. |
| Free plan and trial | BFree for good, with cross-platform sync, notes with a mood log and a countdown timer. But it's 3 active habits at a time and 1 reminder per habit. A morning run, reading and water, and you're full. | BFree to use for as long as you like, with habits, reminders, mood tracking and journaling. But there are caps on habits and on reminders per habit, and Tangerine's pages don't say what they are. So no A from us. |
| Features | AHabits laid out across the day, reminders by time, location or habit stack, streaks, a calendar and completion rates. Then the deep end: sync with Apple Health, Health Connect, Fitbit and Strava, challenges with friends, checklists, NFC tags and timers. A fair bit of that is Pro. | AHabits on your own schedule with reminders and streaks, and health habits like walking distance or flights climbed completed straight from Apple Health. Add mood check-ins, a searchable journal with guided templates and weekly reports. Insights & Stats are Premium. |
| Ease of use | A4.6 from about 7,100 App Store ratings, which just makes an A on our ladder. Your habits are set out across the day, so you can see what's next without digging. | A4.7 from about 6,600 App Store ratings. Three jobs sit in one app, and guided templates mean you needn't start a journal entry from a blank page. |
| Platforms and integrations | AiPhone, Android, Mac, Apple Watch and the web. It connects to Google Calendar, Apple Calendar, Zapier and IFTTT, and Pro has an API. The help center documents an MCP connector for ChatGPT and Claude too. | DiPhone, iPad and Apple Watch only, which is really one operating system, and the current version needs iOS 26, iPadOS 26 or watchOS 26. No Android, Mac or web version is listed. Apple Health is the one thing it connects to. |
| Best for | one habit tracker on every device you own | habits, mood and a journal in one iPhone app |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Habitify and Tangerine. How we grade
Where they differ
- Habitify starts at $29.99 per year for Plus; Pro is $8.99 per month or $49.99 per year (App Store). Tangerine starts at $39.99 per year, or $6.99 per month (US App Store prices).
- Only Habitify lists a web app.
- Only Habitify lists macOS and Android apps.
- Habitify also covers Pomodoro timer.
- Tangerine also covers daily notes and mood tracking.
At a glance
| Habitify | Tangerine | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $29.99 per year for Plus; Pro is $8.99 per month or $49.99 per year (App Store) | $39.99 per year, or $6.99 per month (US App Store prices) |
| Free plan | Up to 3 active habits at a time with 1 reminder per habit, text notes with a mood log, a countdown timer and cross-platform sync. | Free to use for an unlimited time with habits, reminders, mood tracking and journaling. The free caps on habits and on reminders per habit are not stated. |
| Free trial | 7-day free trial of Habitify Pro | 7-day free trial on the yearly plan |
| Web | ||
| macOS | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Made by | Unstatic Co., Ltd | Bitdreams OÜ |
| Price read from | apps.apple.com | apps.apple.com |
| Checked | Oct 9, 2026 | Oct 6, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Habitify
- One habit tracker shared across iPhone, Android, Mac and the web
- Habits that can be confirmed from health or fitness data
- Students, who get 50% off the first year of Pro Annual
Tangerine
- People who want habits, mood and a journal in one app rather than three
- iPhone users whose health habits can be completed from Apple Health data
- Journaling with prompts and templates rather than a blank page
Worth knowing
Habitify
- The free plan allows 3 active habits and 1 reminder per habit.
- Plus is annual only and leaves out checklists, off mode, calendar and health sync, automation and API access, which need Pro.
- Prices here are US App Store prices; the vendor's web pricing page shows a single Premium plan at $2.49 a month billed annually or $59.99 once.
- The Family subscription is described as iOS only.
Tangerine
- Listed for iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch only, and the current version requires iOS 26, iPadOS 26 or watchOS 26; no Android, Mac or web version is listed.
- The free version caps habits and reminders per habit at limits the vendor's pages do not state.
- Insights & Stats, photos in entries, the privacy lock and the full set of guided templates need Premium.
- The App Store description still quotes $29.99 a year and $4.99 a month, while the listing's in-app purchases show $39.99 and $6.99.
Key features
Habitify
- Daily schedule and reminders
- Habits are laid out across the day with reminders. Free allows 1 reminder per habit; Plus adds unlimited reminders by time, location or habit stack.
- Progress tracking
- A calendar, streak counts and completion rates show how consistently each habit is being kept.
- Timers, notes and mood log
- A countdown timer and text notes with a mood log are free. Pro adds Pomodoro and stopwatch timers with background sound, and notes with images.
- Health and fitness sync
- Habits can be linked to data from Apple Health, Health Connect, Fitbit and Strava. Health app sync is listed as a Pro feature.
- Challenges with friends
- Friends can compete in habit challenges, and there are monthly leaderboard challenges.
- API, automation and AI tools
- Pro includes API access and Zapier and IFTTT connections. The help center also documents an MCP connector for AI assistants such as ChatGPT and Claude.
Tangerine
- Habits with reminders
- Create habits on your own schedule, set times and reminders for them, and see streaks build as you complete them. Premium removes the caps on habits and on reminders per habit.
- Apple Health habits
- Health-related habits such as walking or running distance, cycling and flights climbed can be completed automatically from Apple Health data, and a habit can be switched between manual and Health tracking.
- Mood check-ins
- Record how the day felt, what you felt and why. Over time the app relates moods to the activities in your life to show what tends to go with good and bad days.
- Journal with guided templates
- Write thoughts down as they come or use a guided journaling template, and search past entries. Adding photos and the full set of templates are Premium features.
- Insights and stats
- Reports turn habits, moods and journal entries into streaks, insights and trends for the week. Insights & Stats are part of Premium.
- Apple Watch and widgets
- The listing covers iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch, and Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets show how far along the day's goals are.
Plans
Habitify
Free$0
Up to 3 active habits, 1 reminder per habit, text notes with a mood log and a countdown timer.
Plus$29.99
per year (annual billing only)
Unlimited habits, unlimited reminders by time, location or habit stack, and custom areas.
Pro$49.99
per year, or $8.99 per month
Everything in Plus, plus checklists, off mode, Pomodoro and stopwatch timers, calendar and health sync, Zapier, IFTTT, NFC tags and API access.
Pro Family$89.99
per year
A yearly Pro subscription shared through family sharing, which the vendor describes as iOS only.
Pro Lifetime$119.99
one-time purchase
Habitify Pro paid for once, with no renewal.
Tangerine
Free$0
Habits with reminders, mood tracking and journaling. The caps on habits and on reminders per habit are not stated.
Tangerine Premium monthly$6.99
per month
Unlimited habits and reminders, Insights & Stats, photos in notes and journal entries, a Face ID or Touch ID lock and all guided journaling templates.
Tangerine Premium annual$39.99
per year, after a 7-day free trial
The same Premium features billed once a year. The listing's description text still quotes $29.99 a year and $4.99 a month.
Ways to pay less
Habitify
- Annual discount
Pro costs about 54% less when billed yearly
The App Store listing shows Pro at $8.99 monthly or $49.99 yearly, about 54% less than 12 monthly payments ($107.88).
- Education
Student Program: 50% off Pro Annual for a year
Students anywhere in the world with a school-issued email address can claim 50% off the Habitify Pro Annual plan for the first year from the app's Upgrade tab.
- Lifetime license
Pro Lifetime for a single payment
The App Store listing includes Habitify Pro Lifetime at $119.99 as a one-time purchase instead of a subscription.
Tangerine
- Annual discount
Annual plan costs about 52% less than monthly
The US App Store lists Tangerine Premium at $6.99 a month and $39.99 a year, about 52% less than 12 monthly payments ($83.88). The yearly plan also starts with a 7-day free trial.

