Skip to content

AI Assistants

Free AI assistants

49 of the 58 AI assistants in this directory are free or have a free plan.

6 have no paid plan at all. The rest pair a free plan with paid ones, and the table says what each free plan includes.

Listings checked up to Oct 9, 2026 · Where the facts come from

ToolPriceWhat is free
ChatGPTOpenAI's general-purpose AI assistant for chat, images and voiceFree plan · from $8/moUnlimited text chats, with limits on uploads, image creation, voice chats, deep research and memory.
ClaudeAnthropic's AI assistant for writing, analysis and codingFree plan · from $17/moChat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation and code execution, memory, app connectors and Artifacts. Usage resets on a rolling five-hour window and is lower than on paid plans.
GeminiGoogle's AI assistant, tied into Gmail, Docs and other Google appsFree plan · from $4.99/moFree with a Google Account: access to 3.6 Flash and varying access to 3.1 Pro, image generation and editing, Deep Research, Gemini Live, Canvas and Gems, plus 15 GB of Google storage.
PerplexityAI search assistant that answers questions with cited sourcesFree plan · from $17/moFree to use, with cited answers, follow-up threads and sync across devices. Perplexity's plans page does not spell out the free plan's limits.
Gemini NotebookGoogle's AI research assistant that answers from your own sourcesFree plan · from $4.99/moStandard tier, free with a Google account: 100 notebooks, 50 sources per notebook and standard usage limits that refresh every 5 hours up to a weekly cap.
Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft's AI assistant for chat, images and Microsoft 365 appsFree plan · from $9.99/moA limited free version of Copilot, subject to available capacity and usage limits. Signing in adds chat history, more image creation, longer conversations and longer voice use.
GrokAI assistant with live X and web search, images, video and voiceFree plan · from $10.00Free to start, with free-tier limits on Chat and Voice that reset on their own schedule. xAI's docs do not publish the exact limits.
Meta AIMeta's free AI assistant across its apps, the web and AI glassesFree plan · from $7.99/moMeta AI is free for everyone. Meta One plans add more monthly AI usage for features such as image and video generation; Meta does not publish the size of the free allowance.
DeepSeekFree AI chat assistant built on DeepSeek's openly released modelsFreeEverything. There is no paid plan.
Mistral VibeMistral's AI chat assistant and coding agent, formerly Le ChatFree plan · from $14.99/moLimited messages, web searches and coding sessions on web and mobile, with image generation, 100+ connectors and $10 a month in API credits.
PoeOne app for chatting with AI models from many different labsFree plan · from $4.99/moFree accounts can chat with a smaller allowance of compute points than subscribers. Poe's plans page does not state the size of the free allowance.
Qwen StudioAlibaba Cloud's chat app for the Qwen family of AI modelsFree planThe mobile apps are listed as free with no in-app purchases. The web app names a Free tier with standard usage limits beside Go, Plus and Pro tiers; their prices could not be read.
KimiAI assistant and agent for research, slides, documents and codeFree plan · from $15/moAdagio plan: 1 concurrent agent task, 2 scheduled tasks, 2 widget tasks, 2 projects and 500MB of project storage.
PiEmotionally intelligent personal AI for talking things throughFreeEverything. There is no paid plan.
Duck.aiPrivate, anonymized chat with third-party AI modelsFree plan · from $9.99/moFree with no account required and a daily usage limit. Free models include Claude 4.5 Haiku, Mistral Small 4, GPT-5.4 nano and mini, gpt-oss-120b and Gemma 4 31B; PDF uploads stop at 15 pages.
LumoProton's private AI assistant with zero-access encrypted chatsFree plan · from $9.99/moFree plan, usable without a Proton account: limited Max model usage, messages, chat history and image generations, 1 Project, web search and uploads of individual small files.
HuggingChatHugging Face's open-source chat app for open AI modelsFree plan · from $9/moFree with a Hugging Face account. Chats are billed as Inference Providers usage against $0.10 of monthly credits (subject to change); at the limit the app asks you to upgrade to PRO.
Z.aiChat assistant and agent built on Z.ai's GLM modelsFree plan · from $12.60/moChat is free, and the terms say the site can be used without registering. Signing in unlocks advanced models; agent tasks run on a quota that refills after a wait, with limits that are not published.
DolaByteDance's international AI assistant, formerly called CiciFree plan · from £7.49/moBasic chat and web search, chat with images and webpages, and a limited number of uses per day of work tools, image and video generation and voice calls.
Alexa+Amazon's AI assistant for Echo devices, the web and the Alexa appFree plan · from $14.99/moLimited daily usage on Alexa.com, in the Alexa app and on compatible Fire TV devices, with 5GB of photo and video storage. It does not cover Echo devices.
VenicePrivacy-focused AI app for chat, images and video across many modelsFree plan · from $18/moBase AI models, 10 text prompts and 15 image prompts per day, web search and local conversation history. No document uploads, image understanding or character creation.
LM StudioDesktop app for running open AI models on your own computerFree plan · from $20/moLM Studio is free for home and work use. Bionic's Free plan covers the agent, local models, offline voice transcription, LM Link for up to 5 devices and limited web search.
JanOpen-source desktop app for running local and cloud AI modelsFreeEverything. There is no paid plan.
Open WebUISelf-hosted chat interface for local and cloud AI modelsFree planFree to self-host with the original Open WebUI branding intact, with no account or enterprise agreement. Deployments of 50 or fewer users in a 30-day period may also rebrand.
TypingMindChat interface for AI models that runs on your own API keysFree plan · from $39 one-timeFree to use with basic features and your own API key. On the free plan chat history is not saved and a reminder popup appears every few minutes.
T3 ChatWeb chat app with models from several AI labs in one accountFree planThe terms of service say T3 Chat is provided without charge up to certain usage limits, with fees for usage beyond them. The limits and paid prices are shown only in the app's settings.
MonicaAI assistant with many models, built around a browser sidebarFree plan · from $8.3/mo40 requests to basic models a day, basic writing, translation and summaries, and limited trials of image and video generation, ChatPDF and the AI Agent.
SiderAI sidebar for the browser with many models and mobile appsFree plan · from $9.99/moThe iOS app is free to download and the Chrome extension lists free multi-chatbot support. Neither store listing says how much usage the free tier includes.
MerlinAI sidebar extension with models from several labs in one accountFree planFree plan with up to 102 queries per day across ChatGPT, Grok, DeepSeek, Gemini and Perplexity models, according to the Google Play listing. Paid plan prices could not be confirmed.
ChatHubAsk several AI models one question and compare answers side by sideFree plan · from $14.99/moRegistering for the web app gives a free usage quota, and the browser extension is free to use with your own accounts or API keys. The size of the free quota is not stated.
MstyPrivate AI workspace for local and online modelsFree plan · from $149/yrFree forever for personal, non-commercial use: core Msty Studio Desktop features, including chat with local and online models, Agent Mode and Knowledge Stacks, some marked Limited.
AnythingLLMOpen-source AI app for documents, agents and local modelsFree plan · from $50/moThe desktop app is free for personal and commercial use with no account, and the MIT-licensed multi-user version can be self-hosted with Docker at no charge.
LibreChatOpen-source, self-hosted chat interface for many AI providersFreeEverything. There is no paid plan.
Cherry StudioOpen-source desktop AI client for 50+ model providersFree planThe Community Edition is free and open source under AGPL-3.0. It includes no model credits: you connect your own provider API keys or local models.
ChatboxAI chat client for your own API keys or a hosted model planFree plan · from $3.50/moThe app is free with your own API keys or local models. The hosted Chatbox AI Free plan gives 10,000 compute points a day on standard models, 5 images and a trial of Work Mode.
ConferEnd-to-end encrypted AI assistant from the creator of SignalFree plan · from $34.99Free to start with no credit card: up to 5 chats and a daily message limit. Attachments, connectors and folder custom instructions are Member features.
Fello AINative Apple app with 20+ AI models under one subscriptionFree plan · from $11.99/moFree to download: up to 5 questions per hour with premium models, after which the app switches to its Free AI model until the hour resets.
AlterVoice-driven Mac AI assistant that reads on-screen contextFree plan · from $29/yrAll core features with your own API keys or local models, no credit card required. Remote tools, model routers and managed access to 50+ cloud models need Pro.
ElephasPrivate AI knowledge assistant for Mac with local indexingFree plan · from $15.83/mo20 credits a month for the built-in Elephas AI engine, with no credit card required.
Big-AGIMulti-model AI workspace that compares and merges answersFree plan · from $9/moBig-AGI Free is the full hosted workspace at no cost, with multi-model Beam and Personas, used with your own API keys. The MIT-licensed code can also be self-hosted.
NextChatLightweight open-source AI chat client you can self-deployFree planThe MIT-licensed app is free to deploy or self-host and the desktop clients are free to download; you supply your own API keys.
FeloMultilingual AI search engine that also builds slides and docsFree plan · from $12.50/moStandard plan: 200 credits refreshed daily, unlimited high-speed search, 5 professional searches and 3 file analyses per day. Advanced models are limited, and AI Slides, custom agents, video and the API are left out.
Locally AIFree app that runs open AI models offline on iPhone, iPad and MacFreeEverything. There is no paid plan.
PocketPal AIOpen-source app for running AI models offline on phones and tabletsFree plan · from $0.99 one-timeThe app is free, ad-free and open source, with no subscription or paid tier for the AI itself. Only premium Pals from the PalsHub marketplace cost money.
PyGPTOpen-source desktop AI assistant with agents, RAG and local modelsFreeEverything. There is no paid plan.
Maple AIEnd-to-end encrypted AI chat that runs open models in enclavesFree plan · from $20/moEnd-to-end encrypted chat with access to basic AI features. Web search is not included, and the pricing page does not state a usage allowance.
ChatOnMulti-model AI chatbot app with image tools and web searchFree plan · from $6.99Basic chat answers from a standard GPT model, multi-language support and the AI text detector. Advanced models, web search, uploads and image tools are Premium only.
NovaAI chatbot app that puts several leading models in one interfaceFree plan · from $4.99Free to download and use for the main features, which the vendor says will not change. The site does not state where free use stops.
NanoGPTPay-as-you-go access to hundreds of AI models on the web and by APIFree plan · from $12/moPay As You Go costs $0 a month and includes one free model, on the web only. Every other model is billed per use from a prepaid balance.

Common questions

Which AI assistants are free?

49 of the 58 AI assistants in this directory are free or have a free plan. They are ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, Gemini Notebook, Microsoft Copilot, Grok, Meta AI, DeepSeek, Mistral Vibe, Poe, Qwen Studio, Kimi, Pi, Duck.ai and 34 more.

Which AI assistants are free with no paid plan?

DeepSeek, Pi, Jan, LibreChat, Locally AI and PyGPT have no paid plan. The others on this page limit the free plan and sell paid ones.

When was this checked?

Each listing shows its own date. On this page they run from Oct 4, 2026 to Oct 9, 2026. Vendors change prices and plans without notice, so confirm on their site before you buy.

This page is built from the listings. A tool is here because its listing says so, and each listing names the pages it was read from.