Aspire vs Brex
We give Aspire a 3.0 GPA and Brex a 3.6, out of 4.0. Brex grades higher on features and ease of use. They get the same grade on value for money, the free plan and platforms.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Aspire
Free business account with global payments, cards and expense tools
Brex
Corporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies
How we grade them
| 3.0GPAAspireVery good | 3.6GPABrexExcellent | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month, with no plan fee for any number of team members and no charge on US ACH, wire or check payments. It earns on conversion, from 0.22% over mid-market, and on SWIFT at $5 or $15. | AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Essentials, and Brex charges no fee of its own for ACH, check or wire bill payments. Premium is $12 a user, and the pricing page doesn't say if that's monthly or yearly billing. |
| Free plan and trial | AFree outright. The one Basic plan has no monthly fee and covers the US account, 13 currency accounts, virtual cards, bills, budgets, claims, invoices and accounting sync for the whole team. | AEssentials is free with unlimited global cards, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting sync and the API. No user cap is listed. |
| Features | CAccounts, bills, budgets, invoices and expense claims are all here. But the listing shows virtual cards only, a gap for staff who pay in person, and its charge card must be paid in full every day. | BThe whole job: cards, expense policies, reimbursements, bill pay by ACH, check or wire, travel, a business account and accounting sync. Multiple policies and approval chains wait for Premium, but the core work is all there. |
| Ease of use | CNo store rating on record. There's a business account to open, cards to issue and Xero or QuickBooks to connect before it runs itself. | A4.84 from 8,836 App Store ratings, the top band. The AI rules check spending against your policy for you, so there's less chasing to do. |
| Platforms and integrations | BWeb, iPhone and Android, syncing card payments, claims and receipts to Xero, QuickBooks and NetSuite. No desktop app or API is listed. | BWeb, iPhone and Android, with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365, Workday, Rippling and Slack, and an API on every plan. No desktop app is listed. |
| Best for | cross-border businesses that want no monthly fee | free global cards and expenses for startups |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Aspire and Brex. How we grade
Price against what you get
Aspire has no paid plan and scores 2.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Brex starts at $12 a month for each person and scores 3.3.
Brex scores higher, and starts $12 a month higher: the question is whether the extra is worth that to you. Of the other spend and bill pay tools on the chart, none scores higher than Aspire for less, and none scores higher than Brex for less.
Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
- The best score at each price
- Has a free plan
- No free plan
Where they differ
- Aspire is free. Brex starts at $12 per user / month, billing term not stated.
- Aspire also covers invoicing.
- Brex also covers reports.
At a glance
| Aspire | Brex | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free | Free plan |
| Starts at | Free | $12 per user / month, billing term not stated |
| Free plan | Basic: US business account, accounts in 13 currencies, virtual corporate cards, bills, budgets, claims, invoices and Xero or QuickBooks sync, for any number of team members. FX and SWIFT fees apply. | Essentials: unlimited global cards, one local card program, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting integrations and API access. |
| Free trial | None listed | None listed |
| Web | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Made by | AFT US LLC (Aspire) | Brex LLC |
| Price read from | aspireapp.com | brex.com |
| Checked | Oct 18, 2026 | Oct 18, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Aspire
- Founders running a US company from another country
- Businesses that pay suppliers and staff in several currencies
- Small teams that want cards and expense claims with no monthly fee
Brex
- Startups that want corporate cards and expenses at no software cost
- Companies with entities in several countries
- Finance teams that want spend policies enforced before money goes out
Worth knowing
Aspire
- Aspire earns on use: currency conversion from 0.22% above the mid-market rate, $5 or $15 per outgoing SWIFT transfer, and a yearly fee from 0.15% on Treasury balances.
- Aspire says it is not a bank: US deposits sit at Column N.A., and its charge card, issued by Column under a Mastercard license, must be paid in full daily.
- Accounts in currencies other than US dollars are run by Aspire's Hong Kong company and are not FDIC insured.
- Besides the US, Aspire has sites for Australia, Canada, China, Hong Kong, the Netherlands, Singapore and the UK; procurement is offered on request.
Brex
- Card purchases that need a currency conversion carry an FX markup of up to 3%; Brex charges no fee of its own for ACH, checks or wires.
- Brex LLC is owned by Capital One, N.A.; checking is provided by Column N.A., and the cards are issued by Emigrant Bank, Fifth Third Bank or Sutton Bank.
- Essentials allows up to two entities; multiple expense policies, approval chains and custom ERP or HR integrations need Premium.
- All users on an account must be on the same plan, and the pricing page does not say whether Premium is billed monthly or yearly.
Key features
Aspire
- US business account
- Deposits held at Column N.A., with ACH, wire, check and real-time transfers at no fee and no minimum balance.
- Multi-currency accounts
- Hold and pay in 13 currencies including euros, pounds, Canadian dollars and yuan, with conversion from 0.22% above the mid-market rate.
- Corporate cards
- Virtual cards for spending in 150+ currencies, with spend limits, currency and merchant restrictions, and 1.5% cashback on eligible spend.
- Bills and budgets
- Payables come in through automated invoice capture, and budgets set enforceable limits for each team.
- Expense claims
- Employees scan receipts in the Aspire app, missing receipts are requested automatically, and claims are reimbursed from the Aspire account.
- Accounting sync
- Card payments, claims and receipts sync to Xero, QuickBooks and NetSuite, with account and tax fields filled in before syncing.
Brex
- Corporate cards
- Unlimited cards accepted in 210+ countries and territories, with local-currency cards and billing in 50+ countries on higher plans.
- Expense policies
- AI-powered rules check spending; Premium adds category rules, role-based exceptions, auto-approval and audit detection.
- Bill pay
- Automated bill pay by ACH, check, domestic wire or international wire in local currency or US dollars, with no Brex fee per payment.
- Travel booking
- Book business travel inside Brex, free on Essentials, with group travel and advanced travel rules on Premium.
- Business account
- Checking provided by Column N.A., plus Treasury and Vault cash management run by Brex Treasury LLC.
- Accounting and API
- Transactions sync to QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Dynamics 365, and an API is included on every plan.
Plans
Aspire
Basic$0
No monthly fee. Free US transfers, 13 currency accounts, virtual cards, bills, budgets, claims and invoices; you pay FX and SWIFT fees as you use them.
Brex
Essentials$0
For startups: global cards, AI custom rules, up to two entities (one global), bill pay, reimbursements, free travel booking and real-time reports.
Premium$12
per user / month, billing term not stated
Adds multiple expense policies, review and approval chains, AI audit checks, US and international entities, ERP and HR integrations, VAT documents and live budgets.
EnterpriseCustom
Unlimited entities, local card issuing, collections and reimbursements in other countries, an admin center and a named account manager.

