BrightLocal vs Nearby Now (2026): which should you pick?
As of Oct 24, 2026, we pick BrightLocal: it is second in our ranking of local SEO tools, and it grades higher too, 2.4 against 2.0.
Checked Oct 23, 2026 · graded Oct 23, 2026 by ToolGPA
BrightLocal grades higher on value for money and features. They get the same grade on the free plan, ease of use and platforms.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
BrightLocal
Local SEO platform for rankings, listings, reviews and AI visibility
Nearby Now
Job check-ins and review requests that build local rankings
Which one is for you
Pick BrightLocal if
- Fits if your business is in the US, UK, Canada or Australia and you want rankings and listings in one account
- Works for agencies sending white-label local ranking reports for many client locations
Look elsewhere if
- Skip it if your business is outside the US, UK, Canada and Australia, where only citation building works
- Tight if you're on Track, as listing sync starts at Manage ($40) and review replies at Grow ($49)
- Watch out: Citation Builder is paid per site, from $3.20 or $2 with bulk credits, on top of any plan
- Not for you if you want a free plan, since after the 14-day trial you can only look at old data
- Watch out: above 100 locations prices are on request, and a downgrade takes effect at once with no refund
Pick Nearby Now if
- Fits if you run a plumbing, HVAC or roofing firm serving many towns
- Works for field teams that want reviews and job photos captured on site
Look elsewhere if
- Pricey if you're a small firm, as it starts at $155 a month and the pages don't say if that's per location
- Watch out: GeoGrids, keyword rank tracking and AI visibility tracking are add-ons
- Tight if you're on SEO Pro, as video check-ins, AI, Spot-On routing, Zapier and Mailchimp need Master at $239
- Watch out: the Premium API is $99 a month and dispatch integrations $100 to $125 a month
- Skip it if you're outside the US, Canada, UK and Australia, where full support doesn't reach
How we grade them
| 2.4GPABrightLocalFair | 2.0GPANearby NowFair | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | CTrack is $31 a month for one location on yearly billing, $41 monthly. That's right at this category's middle ($31). Listing sync needs Manage at $40, reviews need Grow at $49, and the price climbs with every location you add. | DSEO Pro is $155 a month, month-to-month, in this category's dearest tenth ($99 and up), and the pages don't say whether that's per location. AI and Zapier need Master at $239, and GeoGrids, the $99 API and $100 to $125 dispatch links are add-ons. |
| Free plan and trial | CNo free plan, but a 14-day trial with full access and no card. When it ends you can still log in and see your data, but you can't run new reports until you pay. | CNo free plan, but a 14-day trial with full product access and no setup fee. The pages read don't mention a card. |
| Features | BRank tracking for 100 keywords, a geogrid, audits, citation tracking and AI answer checks on every plan, then listing sync, Google post scheduling and review requests higher up. It covers the whole job, with citation building bought per site. | CJob check-ins with photos and location schema, review requests by text, email, QR code or call, city pages, call tracking and lead texting. The gaps are in the listing: grid and keyword rank tracking and AI visibility tracking are add-ons. |
| Ease of use | CNo rating on record. You add locations, keywords and competitors and connect Google Business Profile before the reports fill in, and the plans split the tools three ways. | CNo rating on record. Field staff use the phone app on every job, and the check-ins and city pages have to be built into your own website. |
| Platforms and integrations | BWeb only, with no desktop or phone app. It links to Google Business Profile, Google Analytics, Data Axle, Neustar Localeze and Foursquare, and has local SEO APIs and an MCP server for ChatGPT and Claude. | BWeb, iPhone and Android, with no desktop app. It connects to ServiceTitan, FieldEdge, Jobber, Housecall Pro, Google Business Profile, Facebook, Zapier and Mailchimp, with an API as an add-on. |
| Best for | local rankings, listings and reviews in one account | job check-ins and reviews for trades |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: BrightLocal and Nearby Now. How we grade
Price against what you get
BrightLocal starts at $31 a month and scores 2.7 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Nearby Now starts at $155 a month and scores 2.3.
BrightLocal scores higher and starts $124 a month lower. Of the other local SEO tools on the chart, none scores higher than BrightLocal for less, and 10 score higher than Nearby Now for less.
Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
- The best score at each price
- Has a free plan
- No free plan
Where they differ
- BrightLocal also covers reports, AI search visibility and local listings.
- Nearby Now also covers business texting and call tracking.
At a glance
| BrightLocal | Nearby Now | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free trial | Free trial |
| Starts at | $31 per month for 1 location, billed annually ($41 billed monthly) | $155 per month, month-to-month |
| Free plan | None | None |
| Free trial | 14-day free trial with full access, no credit card required | 14-day free trial with full product access, no contract or setup fee |
| Web | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Made by | BrightLocal Ltd | Nearby Now, LLC |
| Price read from | brightlocal.com | nearbynow.co |
| Checked | Oct 23, 2026 | Oct 23, 2026 |
Worth knowing
BrightLocal
- The platform works in the USA, UK, Canada and Australia; citation building alone reaches more countries.
- Citation Builder is paid per site, from $3.20 or as low as $2 with bulk credits, on top of any plan.
- Prices rise with the number of locations, and above 100 locations they are on request.
- Downgrades take effect at once and the unused part of the old plan is not refunded.
Nearby Now
- There is no free plan, only the 14-day trial; plans are month-to-month with no setup fee and unlimited users.
- GeoGrids, keyword rank tracking and AI visibility tracking are add-ons; the Premium API is $99 a month and dispatch-software integrations $100 to $125 a month.
- Video check-ins, Nearby Now AI, Spot-On routing, Zapier and Mailchimp need SEO Master at $239 a month.
- Full product support covers the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia.
Key features
BrightLocal
- Local Rank Tracker and Local Search Grid
- Track local rankings for up to 100 keywords and 4 competitors per location, and map Google local rankings on a geogrid.
- Local AI Visibility Tracker
- Checks whether ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and Google AI Overviews recommend a business, for up to 20 prompts per location, on every plan.
- Citation Tracker and Citation Builder
- Audit listing accuracy and find gaps, then pay per site to have listings built, including the Data Axle, Neustar Localeze and Foursquare aggregators.
- Active Sync and Google posts
- From Manage up, keeps business details synced and protected on key sites and schedules Google Business Profile posts across locations.
- Reputation tools
- Grow adds review monitoring with replies across several sites, review requests by email, SMS and in-store campaigns, and a review widget.
- White-label reports, APIs and MCP
- Reports and tools can carry your own branding, and the platform offers local SEO APIs and an MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude or Mistral.
Nearby Now
- Job check-ins
- A technician taps in on arrival to capture a photo, a short description and a GPS pin; each check-in carries location schema so it reads as local content.
- Review requests and routing
- Ask for reviews by text, email, QR code or voice call with automatic reminders; Spot-On on SEO Master sends reviewers to the nearest Google Business Profile.
- City pages
- Unlimited pages for each city and neighborhood served, hosted on the business's own domain and filled with its real reviews and job media.
- GeoGrids and rank tracking
- Grid-based Google Maps rank tracking across the whole service area and keyword rank tracking, both sold as add-ons.
- Call tracking and LeadSMS
- Dedicated phone numbers by source show which channel made the phone ring, and a website widget lets visitors start a text conversation with the team.
- Nearby Now AI
- On SEO Master, it rewrites short tech notes into fuller check-ins, tags photos, blurs faces and plates, scores review sentiment and drafts replies.
Plans
BrightLocal
Track$31
per month for 1 location, billed annually ($41 billed monthly)
Rank tracking for 100 keywords, a geogrid for 5 keywords, audits, citation tracking and AI visibility. $62 a month yearly for 6-10 locations.
Manage$40
per month for 1 location, billed annually ($54 billed monthly)
Everything in Track plus AI Insights, Active Sync to keep listings synced and protected on key sites and a Google post scheduler.
Grow$49
per month for 1 location, billed annually ($65 billed monthly)
Everything in Manage plus review monitoring and replies, review requests by email, SMS and in store, and a review widget.
CustomCustom
Price on request for more than 100 locations, or for high-volume accounts that need only one or two report types.
Nearby Now
Self-serve SEO Pro$155
per month, month-to-month; per-location basis not stated
Unlimited check-ins with photos and geo-schema, SMS and email review requests, 27+ review sites, unlimited city pages, call tracking and unlimited users.
Self-serve SEO Master$239
per month, month-to-month; per-location basis not stated
Adds video check-ins, audio reviews, custom SMS numbers, Spot-On routing to the nearest Google profile, Nearby Now AI, Zapier and Mailchimp.
Agency-supportedCustom
SEO Pro or Master delivered by a partner agency that handles setup, website integration and training, at a rate the agency sets.
Ways to pay less
BrightLocal
- Annual discount
Save 25% with annual billing
BrightLocal's pricing page lists 25% off for annual billing: Track for one location is $369 a year ($31 a month) against $41 a month billed monthly.
Nearby Now
No public discounts listed.
Common questions
Which is cheaper, BrightLocal or Nearby Now?
As of Oct 23, 2026, BrightLocal is cheaper to start with: $31 a month, against $155 a month for Nearby Now. BrightLocal starts at $31 per month for 1 location, billed annually ($41 billed monthly), and Nearby Now starts at $155 per month, month-to-month.
Which has a free plan, BrightLocal or Nearby Now?
As of Oct 23, 2026, neither BrightLocal nor Nearby Now has a free plan. Both have a free trial.
Which platforms do BrightLocal and Nearby Now run on?
As of Oct 23, 2026, only Nearby Now lists iOS and Android apps. Both list a web app. A platform missing from a listing is one its maker's pages did not mention.
More comparisons
How this page was made
- The verdict at the top follows a fixed rule. When both tools are in the same category and either is in our top three for it, the verdict follows that ranking: the higher-placed tool is our pick. The top three weigh who each tool suits as well as its grades, so a pick can go against the GPA. Otherwise the page does not pick one and says which grades higher: the higher GPA first; on a tie, the one with a free plan, then the one that starts cheaper in dollars a month, counted the same way for both; if they are still level, what the choice depends on.
- The grades are our own, from each tool’s review or report card. The GPA is their average.
- Prices, plans and platforms come from each tool’s listing. The table above says where each price was read and when.
- The differences and the answers to the questions are worked out from those listings.
