Skip to content

HabitKit vs (Not Boring) Habits

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

HabitKit

Habit tracker that shows each habit as a grid of daily tiles

Free plan · from $0.99/mo

(Not Boring) Habits

Habit builder for iPhone and iPad framed as a 60-repetition quest

Free plan · from $14.99/yr

Where they differ

  • HabitKit starts at $0.99 to $4.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list). (Not Boring) Habits starts at $14.99 per year for !Habits Plus ($1.25 per month).
  • Only HabitKit lists an Android app.
  • HabitKit also covers goals.
In commonFree planiOSLocal-firstOne-time purchaseHabit tracking

At a glance

HabitKit(Not Boring) Habits
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$0.99 to $4.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list)$14.99 per year for !Habits Plus ($1.25 per month)
Free planUp to four active habits with no time limit: all three tracking types, one reminder per habit, a daily check-in, notes, categories, quit habits and automatic daily backups.Free to use in a limited capacity with no time limit. Unlimited habits, widgets, skins and custom app icons need Plus; the vendor's pages do not state the free habit limit.
Free trialNone listedNone listed
iOS
Android
Made bySebastian RöhlNot Boring Software Ltd.
Price read fromapps.apple.comnotbor.ing
CheckedOct 5, 2026Oct 6, 2026

Who each one suits

HabitKit

  • People who want to see a year of each habit at a glance
  • Users who want no account and their habit data kept on the phone
  • Buyers who would rather pay once than subscribe
  • Tracking up to four habits for free with no time limit

(Not Boring) Habits

  • People who lose motivation when a streak resets after one missed day
  • Building or breaking a small number of habits on an iPhone or iPad
  • Anyone who wants habit data kept on the device, with no account

Worth knowing

HabitKit

  • The free version stops at four active habits; widgets, charts, extra reminders, and export and import need Pro.
  • Nothing syncs between devices: moving to a new phone means exporting a file and importing it, and export and import are Pro features.
  • The US App Store lists several amounts for each Pro period, such as $0.99, $1.99 and $4.99 for one month; the app shows the price that applies.
  • Listed for iPhone and Android only. The help center says there is no Apple Watch app, and no web or desktop version is listed.

(Not Boring) Habits

  • iPhone and iPad only: the support site says no Android versions are planned and there are no standalone Mac apps.
  • Habit data is stored on one device and does not sync between devices; it is covered by iCloud Backup, and deleting the app deletes the data.
  • The free version caps the number of habits at a limit the vendor does not state; widgets, skins and custom app icons need Plus.
  • There is no free trial of Plus and Family Sharing is not supported; refunds are handled by Apple.

Key features

HabitKit

Tile grid for every habit
Each habit gets a year-long grid with one tile per day and one column per week, and the dashboard offers three views for seeing all habits together.
Yes/No, Count and Measure tracking
A habit can be a daily tick, a whole-number count or a measured amount with a unit and up to three decimal places. Counts and amounts use a daily goal or, for quit habits, a stay-below limit.
Streaks and flexible goals
Streaks follow a daily, weekly or monthly goal, such as 3 times a week or 20 times a month, so planned days off are not misses. There is no streak freeze or skip day.
Home screen widgets
Widgets on iPhone and Android show habit grids and let you log a habit without opening the app. They are part of Pro; without it a widget shows a padlock.
Siri and iOS Shortcuts
Seven iOS Shortcuts actions log amounts and notes, edit past days, read progress or open a habit, and can be run with Siri or from automations.
On-device data and backups
Habit data stays on the phone with no account. The app keeps seven daily backups that are free to restore, and Pro adds export and import of one JSON file.

(Not Boring) Habits

60-repetition quest
Every check-in moves a habit one step along a quest of 60 repetitions and eight levels, revealing another line of its story. Missed days do not reset anything, and logging can continue past 60.
Daily goals and partial completion
Set a daily goal such as 5 times or 10,000 steps a day and log it in parts. The habit counts as done for the day once the goal is reached, shown by a progress circle until then.
Schedules and reminders
Choose the days a habit applies to and up to 5 times a day for it, with optional push reminders. Reminders are muted when a habit has not been viewed for 7 days.
Calendar, statistics and recaps
A calendar view shows completed days year by year, each habit has a statistics page with a total-repetitions chart, and recap notifications can arrive weekly, monthly or yearly.
Personal Quests
On a device with Apple Intelligence turned on and set to English, a newly created habit gets a quest story written around it. The vendor says this runs on the device and nothing is shared.
Widgets and skins
Home screen widgets show progress for one habit, several habits or the week, and skins change the look and feel of the whole app. Both are part of Plus.

Plans

HabitKit

  • Free$0

    Up to four active habits with no time limit, one reminder per habit, a daily check-in, notes, categories, quit habits and automatic daily backups.

  • HabitKit Pro (1 Month)$0.99 to $4.99

    per month

    Unlimited habits, widgets, charts, up to three reminders per habit, and export and import. The US App Store lists $0.99, $1.99 and $4.99.

  • HabitKit Pro (1 Year)$5.99 to $24.99

    per year

    The same Pro features on an annual subscription. The US App Store lists $5.99, $11.99 and $24.99.

  • HabitKit Pro (Lifetime)$14.99 to $29.99

    one-time purchase

    The same Pro features for a single payment. The US App Store lists $14.99 and $29.99, plus an unlabelled HabitKit Pro item at $59.99.

(Not Boring) Habits

  • Free$0

    The app in a limited capacity for as long as you need. The number of habits is capped, and the cap is not stated.

  • Plus$14.99

    per year ($1.25 per month), for this one app

    Unlimited habits, skins, widgets and custom app icons, plus access to the studio's wallpapers. Sold in the App Store as !Habits Plus Yearly.

  • Super$49.99

    per year (shown as $4.25/mo)

    Plus for all six Not Boring apps, a shop discount and early beta access. The US App Store lists Super !Boring Yearly at $29.99 and Monthly at $7.99.

  • !Habits Plus Lifetime$59.99

    one-time purchase

    In-app purchase on the US App Store listing. The support site says Habits can be owned with a single lifetime purchase.

Ways to pay less

HabitKit

  • Lifetime license

    Lifetime purchase instead of a subscription

    HabitKit Pro can be bought once as a Lifetime purchase with the same features as the subscriptions. The US App Store lists Lifetime at $14.99 and $29.99.

(Not Boring) Habits

  • Lifetime license

    Lifetime purchase of !Habits Plus for $59.99

    The US App Store lists a !Habits Plus Lifetime in-app purchase at $59.99, and the support site confirms that Habits can be owned with a single lifetime purchase.

More comparisons