Skip to content

Atoms vs (Not Boring) Habits

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Atoms

Official Atomic Habits app for building identity-based habits

Free plan · from $4.99/mo

(Not Boring) Habits

Habit builder for iPhone and iPad framed as a 60-repetition quest

Free plan · from $14.99/yr

Where they differ

  • Atoms starts at $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases). (Not Boring) Habits starts at $14.99 per year for !Habits Plus ($1.25 per month).
  • Only Atoms lists an Android app.
  • (Not Boring) Habits can be bought with a one-time purchase.
  • Atoms also covers goals.
In commonFree planiOSHabit tracking

At a glance

Atoms(Not Boring) Habits
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases)$14.99 per year for !Habits Plus ($1.25 per month)
Free plan1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout. Mindset content and daily lessons are not included.Free to use in a limited capacity with no time limit. Unlimited habits, widgets, skins and custom app icons need Plus; the vendor's pages do not state the free habit limit.
Free trialTrial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier. Its length is not stated.None listed
iOS
Android
Made byAtomic Development Inc.Not Boring Software Ltd.
Price read fromapps.apple.comnotbor.ing
CheckedOct 5, 2026Oct 6, 2026

Who each one suits

Atoms

  • Readers of Atomic Habits who want the book's four laws built into an app
  • People who prefer to start with a few small habits rather than a long list
  • iPhone users who want to log habits from an Apple Watch

(Not Boring) Habits

  • People who lose motivation when a streak resets after one missed day
  • Building or breaking a small number of habits on an iPhone or iPad
  • Anyone who wants habit data kept on the device, with no account

Worth knowing

Atoms

  • The web checkout's comparison table gives Free 1 habit and Pro 6 habits; no tier with unlimited habits is listed.
  • Mindset content and the daily lessons from James Clear are marked Pro-only in that table.
  • Apps are listed for iPhone, Apple Watch and Android only; the web site sells and manages subscriptions but is not a web app.
  • The length of the trial is not stated on the homepage, the support page or the store listings.

(Not Boring) Habits

  • iPhone and iPad only: the support site says no Android versions are planned and there are no standalone Mac apps.
  • Habit data is stored on one device and does not sync between devices; it is covered by iCloud Backup, and deleting the app deletes the data.
  • The free version caps the number of habits at a limit the vendor does not state; widgets, skins and custom app icons need Plus.
  • There is no free trial of Plus and Family Sharing is not supported; refunds are handled by Apple.

Key features

Atoms

Guided habit creation
Each habit is a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place. Suggestions are offered for every segment and can be replaced with your own wording.
Press-and-hold logging
A habit is logged by pressing and holding its atom until it fills, or with a + button in Compact View. Earlier days can be logged or undone from the habit's history.
Daily goals
A habit can carry a daily target counted in times or another unit such as steps, and it is logged automatically once the target is met.
Habit stacking and Focus Mode
Release notes describe habit stacks built from existing habits, and a Focus Mode that plays audio from a Spotify account or from the app's own music library.
Daily lessons and Mindset content
The Mindset tab holds articles and a daily lesson from James Clear; a new lesson appears only after the previous one is read. The web checkout lists both under Pro.
Reminders, widgets and Apple Watch
Reminders can fire at a habit's exact time or several times a day. The iOS app has interactive widgets, and an Apple Watch app logs habits away from the phone.

(Not Boring) Habits

60-repetition quest
Every check-in moves a habit one step along a quest of 60 repetitions and eight levels, revealing another line of its story. Missed days do not reset anything, and logging can continue past 60.
Daily goals and partial completion
Set a daily goal such as 5 times or 10,000 steps a day and log it in parts. The habit counts as done for the day once the goal is reached, shown by a progress circle until then.
Schedules and reminders
Choose the days a habit applies to and up to 5 times a day for it, with optional push reminders. Reminders are muted when a habit has not been viewed for 7 days.
Calendar, statistics and recaps
A calendar view shows completed days year by year, each habit has a statistics page with a total-repetitions chart, and recap notifications can arrive weekly, monthly or yearly.
Personal Quests
On a device with Apple Intelligence turned on and set to English, a newly created habit gets a quest story written around it. The vendor says this runs on the device and nothing is shared.
Widgets and skins
Home screen widgets show progress for one habit, several habits or the week, and skins change the look and feel of the whole app. Both are part of Plus.

Plans

Atoms

  • Free$0

    1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner. No Mindset content or daily lessons.

  • Atoms Pro$4.99

    per month, or $39.99 per year

    6 habits, plus Mindset content and daily lessons from James Clear. Listed in the App Store as Atoms Pro Monthly and Atoms Pro Annual.

(Not Boring) Habits

  • Free$0

    The app in a limited capacity for as long as you need. The number of habits is capped, and the cap is not stated.

  • Plus$14.99

    per year ($1.25 per month), for this one app

    Unlimited habits, skins, widgets and custom app icons, plus access to the studio's wallpapers. Sold in the App Store as !Habits Plus Yearly.

  • Super$49.99

    per year (shown as $4.25/mo)

    Plus for all six Not Boring apps, a shop discount and early beta access. The US App Store lists Super !Boring Yearly at $29.99 and Monthly at $7.99.

  • !Habits Plus Lifetime$59.99

    one-time purchase

    In-app purchase on the US App Store listing. The support site says Habits can be owned with a single lifetime purchase.

Ways to pay less

Atoms

  • Annual discount

    Annual plan costs about 33% less than monthly

    The US App Store lists Atoms Pro Monthly at $4.99 and Atoms Pro Annual at $39.99, about 33% less than 12 monthly payments ($59.88).

  • Other savings

    20% off Pro through the web checkout

    A banner on the Atoms homepage advertises 20% off a Pro subscription and links to the web checkout. It gives no end date, and the checkout shows prices only after sign-in.

(Not Boring) Habits

  • Lifetime license

    Lifetime purchase of !Habits Plus for $59.99

    The US App Store lists a !Habits Plus Lifetime in-app purchase at $59.99, and the support site confirms that Habits can be owned with a single lifetime purchase.

More comparisons