Alternatives · Spend & Bills
Nickel alternatives
Nickel compared with 4 alternatives: Melio, BILL, Plooto and Ramp.
Nickel has a free plan. Paid plans start at $35 per month, billed annually ($45 billed monthly). 3 of the 4 alternatives are free or have a free plan. One more offers a free trial.
4 tools · Listings checked up to Oct 18, 2026 · Where the facts come from
At a glance
Price against what you get
Nickel starts at $35 a month and scores 2.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. 2 of the 4 alternatives on this chart score higher and start lower: Melio and Ramp.
BILL scores higher without starting lower. Plooto starts lower without scoring higher.
Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
- The best score at each price
- Has a free plan
- No free plan
How each one differs from Nickel
- Free plan · from $20/mo
Melio
Bill pay and invoicing for small US businesses, with a free plan
- Melio starts at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly). Nickel starts at $35 per month, billed annually ($45 billed monthly).
- Only Melio lists iOS and Android apps.
- Melio also covers expense tracking.
Suits: US small businesses that want to pay suppliers by card or ACH
- Free plan · from $49/mo
BILL
Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses
- BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated. Nickel starts at $35 per month, billed annually ($45 billed monthly).
- Only BILL lists iOS and Android apps.
- BILL also covers expense tracking and company cards.
Suits: Small businesses that pay many supplier bills by ACH or check
- Free trial · from $9/mo
Plooto
Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US
- Plooto starts at $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated. Nickel starts at $35 per month, billed annually ($45 billed monthly).
- Nickel has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
Suits: Canadian and US businesses that pay suppliers across the border
- Free plan · from $15/mo
Ramp
Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan
- Ramp starts at $15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. Nickel starts at $35 per month, billed annually ($45 billed monthly).
- Only Ramp lists iOS and Android apps.
- Ramp also covers reports, expense tracking and company cards.
Suits: US companies that want cards, expenses and bill pay in one free tool
Limits worth knowing in Nickel
- Card payments cost 2.9% (another 1% for international cards), and you choose whether you or the customer pays; mailed checks cost $2 and wires $25.
- The free plan stops at 3 users and $25,000 per payment; Plus lifts that to unlimited users and $1 million.
- Native sync is QuickBooks Online and Desktop only; Xero, NetSuite or Salesforce need custom integration, included on Pro.
- Nickel says it is not a bank: banking services and its Visa commercial card are provided by Grasshopper Bank, N.A.
Common questions
What are the alternatives to Nickel?
The alternatives to Nickel in this directory are Melio, BILL, Plooto and Ramp. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Nickel.
Is there a free alternative to Nickel?
Yes. Melio, BILL and Ramp have a free plan alongside paid ones.
Which Nickel alternatives work on Android?
The Nickel listing does not include an Android app. Melio, BILL and Ramp list one.
Which Nickel alternatives work on iOS?
The Nickel listing does not include an iOS app. Melio, BILL and Ramp list one.
When were these prices checked?
Every listing on this page was checked on Oct 18, 2026, against the pages it cites. Vendors change prices without notice, so confirm on their site before you buy.


