Skip to content

Monica vs Nova

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Monica

AI assistant with many models, built around a browser sidebar

Free plan · from $8.3/mo

Nova

AI chatbot app that puts several leading models in one interface

Free plan · from $4.99

Where they differ

  • Monica starts at $8.3 per month, billed annually ($99 per year). Nova starts at $4.99 to $7.99 per week, or $39.99 to $59.99 per year (US App Store).
  • Only Monica lists a Windows app.
  • Only Monica lists a browser extension.
  • Monica also covers AI agents and grammar & style.
In commonFree planWebmacOSiOSAndroidAI featuresChat assistantAI search

At a glance

MonicaNova
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$8.3 per month, billed annually ($99 per year)$4.99 to $7.99 per week, or $39.99 to $59.99 per year (US App Store)
Free plan40 requests to basic models a day, basic writing, translation and summaries, and limited trials of image and video generation, ChatPDF and the AI Agent.Free to download and use for the main features, which the vendor says will not change. The site does not state where free use stops.
Free trialThe help center mentions a trial period, capped at 100 advanced queries; its length and how it starts are not stated3-day free trial on the 1-week and 1-month subscriptions, according to Nova's subscription terms.
Web
macOS
Windows
iOS
Android
Browser extension
Made byButterfly Effect Pte. Ltd.ScaleUp Yazılım Hizmetleri A.S.
Price read frommonica.imapps.apple.com
CheckedOct 9, 2026Oct 9, 2026

Who each one suits

Monica

  • People who want AI help inside the browser on any web page
  • Summarizing web pages, YouTube videos and PDFs
  • Using several model families under one subscription

Nova

  • Casual users who want several AI models in one mobile app
  • Students looking for homework, essay and proofreading help
  • People who prefer to pay by the week instead of committing longer

Worth knowing

Monica

  • The Free plan allows 40 basic-model requests a day and gives only limited trials of image and video generation, ChatPDF and the AI Agent.
  • Pro is capped at 5,000 basic and 200 advanced queries a month. Max and Ultra slow to 100 queries a day after 1,600 advanced and 12,000 basic queries in a month.
  • Accounts are for personal use only, and Monica says a team subscription has not launched. The prices listed are for annual billing.
  • Monica's help center describes an August 2026 transition in which data created since December 29, 2025 was set to be deleted for users in certain regions.

Nova

  • Prices are not on the website: the vendor says they are shown in the app, and the US App Store lists the same plan at several price points.
  • The vendor's pages do not say where free use stops or which features need a subscription.
  • The site lists macOS, but the Mac version is the iPad app: the App Store marks it as not verified for macOS and requires an Apple M1 chip or later.
  • Refunds are generally limited to requests made within 3 days of purchase and after fewer than 20 messages.

Key features

Monica

Many models in one chat
Chats with models such as GPT-6.1 Sol, Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Gemini 3.8 Flash from one account, and can show answers from several models side by side for comparison.
Browser sidebar and toolbar
The Chrome and Edge extension opens an AI sidebar on any web page, and a toolbar explains, translates or summarizes whatever text you select.
Summaries of pages, videos and files
Summarizes web pages and files, pulls highlights with timestamps from YouTube videos, and answers questions about PDFs through ChatPDF.
Writing and translation
Drafts and rewrites text on any page, checks grammar, suggests replies in Gmail and Outlook, and translates whole web pages for side-by-side bilingual reading.
AI Agent tools
Deep Research, Create Slides, Image Studio and Browser Operator run as agent tasks. Each one spends Advanced Credits from the plan's monthly allowance.
Image and video generation
Generates images and video with models such as Nano Banana 2, GPT Image 2.5 Flare, Sora 2 and Veo 3.1, also charged in Advanced Credits.

Nova

Several models in one app
The App Store listing names OpenAI GPT-5.6, Google Gemini 3.6 Flash, Anthropic Claude Opus 5, Kimi K3, xAI Grok 4.5 and DeepSeek V4 Pro as the models behind the assistant.
Web search and research
Searches the web for real-time information, and a deeper research mode compares information and analyzes sources on a topic.
Writing help and proofreading
Drafts and rewrites essays, posts and other text, checks grammar, clarity and tone, and translates between more than 140 languages.
Image generation and voice mode
Generates images from a prompt, and a voice mode allows hands-free spoken conversations with the assistant.
Files and scan-and-solve
Works on files such as Word and Excel documents, and can scan a document, question or homework problem and answer it.
Cross-device sync
Chats continue across devices, with a web app at chat.novaapp.ai alongside the mobile apps.

Plans

Monica

  • Free$0

    40 requests to basic models a day, with limited trials of image and video generation, ChatPDF and the AI Agent. Up to 3 login devices.

  • Pro$8.3

    per month, billed annually ($99 per year)

    5,000 basic and 200 advanced model queries a month, 1,500 Advanced Credits, the AI Agent, and image and video generation.

  • Max$16.6

    per month, billed annually ($199 per year)

    Called unlimited; queries slow to 100 a day after 1,600 advanced and 12,000 basic a month. 4,500 Advanced Credits. In beta, and shown as a flash sale from $299 per year.

  • Ultra$82.9

    per month, billed annually ($995 per year)

    Called unlimited, with the same monthly thresholds as Max before queries slow to 100 a day. 20,000 Advanced Credits and up to 10 login devices.

Nova

  • Free$0

    The main chat features at no cost. The vendor's pages do not list the free limits or which features need a subscription.

  • 1 Week Chatbot Pro$4.99 to $7.99

    per week (US App Store)

    Weekly subscription with a 3-day trial. The listing shows this item at $4.99, $6.99 and $7.99 without saying what separates the price points.

  • 1 Month Chatbot OpenAI Subs$9.99

    per month (US App Store)

    Monthly subscription with a 3-day trial. An item named Nova Premium Subscription is also listed at $9.99, with no period shown.

  • 1 Year Chatbot Pro$39.99 to $59.99

    per year (US App Store)

    Yearly subscription, which the vendor describes as discounted against the weekly price. The listing shows it at $39.99 and $59.99.

Ways to pay less

Monica

  • Annual discount

    Save 17% with annual billing

    The pricing page marks Pro ($99 per year) and Ultra ($995 per year) as saving 17% with annual billing. Max is shown at $199 per year, crossed out from $299, as a 33% flash sale with no end date given.

Nova

  • Annual discount

    Yearly plan priced below the weekly rate

    Nova's subscription terms describe the 1-year subscription as a discount on the weekly price. The US App Store lists it at $39.99 to $59.99 a year against $4.99 to $7.99 a week.

More comparisons