Monica vs Poe
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Monica
AI assistant with many models, built around a browser sidebar
Poe
One app for chatting with AI models from many different labs
Where they differ
- Monica starts at $8.3 per month, billed annually ($99 per year). Poe starts at $4.99 per month, or $49.99 per year (US App Store).
- Only Monica lists a browser extension.
- Monica also covers AI agents and grammar & style.
At a glance
| Monica | Poe | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $8.3 per month, billed annually ($99 per year) | $4.99 per month, or $49.99 per year (US App Store) |
| Free plan | 40 requests to basic models a day, basic writing, translation and summaries, and limited trials of image and video generation, ChatPDF and the AI Agent. | Free accounts can chat with a smaller allowance of compute points than subscribers. Poe's plans page does not state the size of the free allowance. |
| Free trial | The help center mentions a trial period, capped at 100 advanced queries; its length and how it starts are not stated | None listed |
| Web | ||
| macOS | ||
| Windows | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Browser extension | ||
| Made by | Butterfly Effect Pte. Ltd. | Quora, Inc. |
| Price read from | monica.im | poe.com |
| Checked | Oct 9, 2026 | Oct 9, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Monica
- People who want AI help inside the browser on any web page
- Summarizing web pages, YouTube videos and PDFs
- Using several model families under one subscription
Poe
- Comparing many AI models without a subscription to each one
- Text, image and video models under a single points balance
- Developers who want one API key for models from many labs
Worth knowing
Monica
- The Free plan allows 40 basic-model requests a day and gives only limited trials of image and video generation, ChatPDF and the AI Agent.
- Pro is capped at 5,000 basic and 200 advanced queries a month. Max and Ultra slow to 100 queries a day after 1,600 advanced and 12,000 basic queries in a month.
- Accounts are for personal use only, and Monica says a team subscription has not launched. The prices listed are for annual billing.
- Monica's help center describes an August 2026 transition in which data created since December 29, 2025 was set to be deleted for users in certain regions.
Poe
- Usage is metered in compute points, from 10 thousand a day on the lowest plan to 8.25 million a month on the highest; add-on points are sold separately.
- Prices vary by region: the plans page says the final price depends on regional taxes and currency conversion.
- The plans page does not say how many points a free account receives.
- US dollar prices here cover the two lowest plans, as listed on the US App Store; the three larger plans were shown only in rupees.
Key features
Monica
- Many models in one chat
- Chats with models such as GPT-6.1 Sol, Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Gemini 3.8 Flash from one account, and can show answers from several models side by side for comparison.
- Browser sidebar and toolbar
- The Chrome and Edge extension opens an AI sidebar on any web page, and a toolbar explains, translates or summarizes whatever text you select.
- Summaries of pages, videos and files
- Summarizes web pages and files, pulls highlights with timestamps from YouTube videos, and answers questions about PDFs through ChatPDF.
- Writing and translation
- Drafts and rewrites text on any page, checks grammar, suggests replies in Gmail and Outlook, and translates whole web pages for side-by-side bilingual reading.
- AI Agent tools
- Deep Research, Create Slides, Image Studio and Browser Operator run as agent tasks. Each one spends Advanced Credits from the plan's monthly allowance.
- Image and video generation
- Generates images and video with models such as Nano Banana 2, GPT Image 2.5 Flare, Sora 2 and Veo 3.1, also charged in Advanced Credits.
Poe
- Many models, one account
- Reaches models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and other labs, plus image and video generators, with one sign-in and one points balance.
- Multi-bot chat
- Compare answers from several models and combine bots for a task inside a single chat thread. Chats can be private or shared as a group chat.
- Image and video generation
- Creates images and video with generators such as FLUX, Ideogram, Veo and Runway from inside the same app.
- Custom bots
- Build and share your own bots, with custom knowledge bases if needed. Poe's App Store listing cites more than 1 million custom bots.
- Web search
- A search mode returns answers drawn from the web, and bots can search for current news.
- Poe API
- An OpenAI-compatible endpoint reaches hundreds of models and bots with one key. Subscribers spend their existing points on it at no additional cost.
Plans
Monica
Free$0
40 requests to basic models a day, with limited trials of image and video generation, ChatPDF and the AI Agent. Up to 3 login devices.
Pro$8.3
per month, billed annually ($99 per year)
5,000 basic and 200 advanced model queries a month, 1,500 Advanced Credits, the AI Agent, and image and video generation.
Max$16.6
per month, billed annually ($199 per year)
Called unlimited; queries slow to 100 a day after 1,600 advanced and 12,000 basic a month. 4,500 Advanced Credits. In beta, and shown as a flash sale from $299 per year.
Ultra$82.9
per month, billed annually ($995 per year)
Called unlimited, with the same monthly thresholds as Max before queries slow to 100 a day. 20,000 Advanced Credits and up to 10 login devices.
Poe
Free$0
A smaller points allowance than subscribers get, across free and subscription bots.
10 thousand points/day$4.99
per month, or $49.99 per year (US App Store prices)
The entry plan, listed as Basic on the App Store: more messages, more models and each bot's maximum input size and chat history.
660 thousand points/month$19.99
per month, or $199.99 per year (US App Store prices)
A monthly pool of 660 thousand points to spend across any model or bot.
1.65 million points/month₹4,999
per month, or ₹49,900 per year (as shown in India)
A larger monthly pool. The US dollar price was not shown when the plans page was read from India.
3.3 million points/month₹9,999
per month, or ₹99,900 per year (as shown in India)
A larger monthly pool. The US dollar price was not shown when the plans page was read from India.
8.25 million points/month₹24,999
per month, or ₹249,900 per year (as shown in India)
The largest pool. The US dollar price was not shown when the plans page was read from India.
Ways to pay less
Monica
- Annual discount
Save 17% with annual billing
The pricing page marks Pro ($99 per year) and Ultra ($995 per year) as saving 17% with annual billing. Max is shown at $199 per year, crossed out from $299, as a 33% flash sale with no end date given.
Poe
- Annual discount
Save 17% with yearly billing
Poe's plans page marks yearly billing as saving 17% against monthly billing. On the US App Store the lowest plan is $49.99 a year or $4.99 a month.

