Alternatives · Spend & Bills
Melio alternatives
Melio compared with 5 alternatives: BILL, Plooto, Nickel, Ramp and Airwallex.
Melio has a free plan. Paid plans start at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly). 4 of the 5 alternatives are free or have a free plan. One more offers a free trial.
5 tools · Listings checked up to Oct 18, 2026 · Where the facts come from
At a glance
| Tool | Price | Free plan | Runs on |
|---|---|---|---|
| MelioThis tool | Free plan · from $20/mo | Yes | Web, iOS, Android |
| BILL | Free plan · from $49/mo | Yes | Web, iOS, Android |
| Plooto | Free trial · from $9/mo | Trial only | Web |
| Nickel | Free plan · from $35/mo | Yes | Web |
| Ramp | Free plan · from $15/mo | Yes | Web, iOS, Android |
| Airwallex | Free plan · from $12/mo | Yes | Web, iOS, Android |
Price against what you get
Melio starts at $20 a month and scores 2.7 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. 2 of the 5 alternatives on this chart score higher and start lower: Ramp and Airwallex.
BILL scores higher without starting lower. Plooto starts lower without scoring higher.
Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
- The best score at each price
- Has a free plan
- No free plan
How each one differs from Melio
- Free plan · from $49/mo
BILL
Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses
- BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated. Melio starts at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly).
- BILL also covers company cards.
Suits: Small businesses that pay many supplier bills by ACH or check
- Free trial · from $9/mo
Plooto
Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US
- Plooto starts at $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated. Melio starts at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly).
- Melio has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Melio lists iOS and Android apps.
- Melio also covers expense tracking.
Suits: Canadian and US businesses that pay suppliers across the border
- Free plan · from $35/mo
Nickel
Free ACH invoicing and bill pay for US businesses
- Nickel starts at $35 per month, billed annually ($45 billed monthly). Melio starts at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly).
- Only Melio lists iOS and Android apps.
- Melio also covers expense tracking.
Suits: US businesses that collect large invoices by ACH
- Free plan · from $15/mo
Ramp
Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan
- Ramp starts at $15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. Melio starts at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly).
- Ramp also covers reports and company cards.
Suits: US companies that want cards, expenses and bill pay in one free tool
- Free plan · from $12/mo
Airwallex
Multi-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses
- Airwallex starts at $12 per Spend user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. Melio starts at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly).
- Airwallex also covers company cards.
Suits: Businesses that pay suppliers or staff in other countries
Limits worth knowing in Melio
- ACH payments beyond the plan's free allowance cost $0.50 each, checks $1.50, wires $10 and paying a bill by card 2.9%.
- International USD transfers cost a flat $20 (fast ones 1%, $30 to $95); local-currency payments carry a currency conversion rate instead.
- Melio does not issue cards: the expense tool works with the cards a business already holds. Pay over time loans are made by Lead Bank.
- Melio says it serves businesses across the United States; extra users cost $10 a month ($8 yearly) on Core and Boost.
Common questions
What are the alternatives to Melio?
The alternatives to Melio in this directory are BILL, Plooto, Nickel, Ramp and Airwallex. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Melio.
Is there a free alternative to Melio?
Yes. BILL, Nickel, Ramp and Airwallex have a free plan alongside paid ones.
When were these prices checked?
Every listing on this page was checked on Oct 18, 2026, against the pages it cites. Vendors change prices without notice, so confirm on their site before you buy.



