Skip to content

Birch vs Motion

We give Birch a 2.2 GPA and Motion a 1.8, out of 4.0. Birch grades higher on value for money. They get the same grade on the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Birch

Rules that manage and report on ad accounts, formerly Revealbot

Free trial · from $45/mo

Motion

Creative analytics that shows which ads work and why

Free trial · from $999/mo

How we grade them

2.2GPABirchFair1.8GPAMotionWeak
Value for money
CGraded against the reporting tools it's listed with. Up to $10K of monthly ad spend, Pro, the plan with rules, is $91 a month billed annually ($99 monthly), about level with Madgicx and under Superads and Atria at that spend. Essential is $45 but has no rules. Annual billing also drops the overage fees.
FGraded against the reporting tools it's listed with. The only published price is Starter at $999 a month for up to $50K of ad spend, billing term not stated, and someone spending a tenth of that pays the same. That's several times what its rivals charge at that spend, and nothing here explains the gap.
Free plan and trial
CNo free plan, but a 14-day trial of every feature with no card. When it ends, your rules and reports switch off until you pick a plan.
CNo free plan, but a 14-day trial that needs no card. That's long enough to connect your accounts and see a few reports before paying.
Features
CRules with nested conditions across Meta, Google, TikTok and Snapchat, AI that writes rules from a sentence, creative rankings and bulk launching. It does that job fully, but it's a narrower job: it doesn't make ads or track rivals', and rules need Pro.
CVisual reports, AI tags by hook and angle, AI tasks that suggest the next brief, a feed of rivals' new ads and shareable snapshots. It's strong analysis, but it doesn't make the ads, and attribution from GA4 and Northbeam only comes on Pro, priced through sales.
Ease of use
CNo rating on record. Birch AI can turn a sentence into a rule, which helps, but you still connect accounts and think through conditions before it does anything for you.
CNo rating on record. You connect ad accounts before anything shows, and the reports and tags take some learning, though shared snapshots need no login for clients.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb only, with no apps. It runs rules on Meta, Google, TikTok and Snapchat ads, posts to Slack and Google Sheets, takes Google Analytics, AppsFlyer, Adjust and Hyros data, and has an MCP server.
BWeb only, with no phone or desktop app. It reads Meta, TikTok, YouTube and LinkedIn ad accounts, posts to Slack, takes Google Analytics 4 and Northbeam data on Pro, and offers MCP access.
Best forrules that pause and scale ads for youcreative reports for big Meta and TikTok spenders

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Birch and Motion. How we grade

Price against what you get

Birch starts at $0.83 a month when paid by the year and scores 2.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Motion starts at $50 a month and scores 2.3.

They score the same, and Birch starts $49.17 a month lower. Of the other ad creative and reporting tools on the chart, 1 scores higher than Birch for less, and 4 score higher than Motion for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0$0.5$1$2$5$10$20$50$100$200More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessBirchMotion

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of ad creative and reporting tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • Birch starts at $45 per month up to $10K ad spend, billed annually ($49 billed monthly). Motion starts at $999 per month for up to $50K ad spend a month.
  • Birch also covers workflow automation.
  • Motion also covers AI agents.
In commonWebAI featuresReportsDashboards

At a glance

BirchMotion
PricingFree trialFree trial
Starts at$45 per month up to $10K ad spend, billed annually ($49 billed monthly)$999 per month for up to $50K ad spend a month
Free planNoneNone
Free trial14-day free trial of all features, no credit card required14-day free trial, no credit card required
Web
Made byBirch Team, Inc.Motion Creative Cloud Inc.
Price read frombir.chmotionapp.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

Birch

  • Media buyers managing many Meta ad accounts by rules instead of by hand
  • App and e-commerce teams that act on attribution data from AppsFlyer, Adjust or Hyros
  • Agencies launching ads in bulk from Drive folders

Motion

  • Direct-to-consumer brands spending heavily on Meta and TikTok ads
  • Creative strategists who brief editors on which ads to make next
  • Agencies sharing visual ad reports with clients

Worth knowing

Birch

  • Prices step up with combined monthly ad spend; monthly billing adds overages of up to 1% of spend above the limit, while annual billing has none.
  • Automated rules, Explorer and the launch tools need Pro; Essential stops at $150K a month of ad spend.
  • Hub, its server-side tracking for Meta, is priced separately per gateway: free to 10,000 events a month, then from $10 for 500,000.
  • It manages and reports on ads you already run; it does not generate ad images or videos.

Motion

  • Not the Motion planner: this is a separate product from a different company, for analyzing ad creative.
  • Only Starter has a published price; Pro and Growth, for over $50K and $125K of monthly ad spend, are priced through sales.
  • Plan limits follow average monthly ad spend over the last 3 months; going over brings a sales contact, not a cutoff.
  • It analyzes ads and suggests briefs but does not make the videos or images itself.

Key features

Birch

Automated rules
Nested conditions and 20+ actions across Meta, Google, TikTok and Snapchat, checked as often as every 15 minutes, with custom metrics and AppsFlyer, Adjust or Hyros data.
Birch AI
Turns a sentence into a working rule using your business context, and answers questions about account health and where to scale.
Explorer
Ranks ads and creative groups by performance, flags creative fatigue and finds top assets, with Google Analytics and attribution data mixed in.
Launcher and Stage
Uploads creatives in bulk from Google Drive and builds ad sets from combinations of them by duplicating your existing setups.
Reports and Slack alerts
Campaign performance reports and rule alerts posted to Slack channels, where reports can also be called up on request.
MCP server
Opens your Birch account to Claude and other assistants that support MCP, so it can be queried from scripts or your own tools.

Motion

Visual creative reports
Top performer, comparison and launch reports put each ad's image or video next to its numbers, grouped by creative, and update themselves.
AI tags
Tags every ad by asset type, visual format, hook and angle, so results can be compared by element and gaps in creative variety stand out.
AI tasks and chat
One-click tasks analyze a report, review creative variety or find ads to iterate on, with follow-up chat and a recommended next brief.
Inspo competitor feed
Follow other advertisers to see their newly launched ads in a feed, save ads to boards, and run AI analyses on what rival brands are doing.
Snapshots for sharing
Share live or frozen reports and AI outputs by link with teammates, clients or agencies, who need no Motion login, and hide sensitive data.
Attribution data
Brings Google Analytics 4 and Northbeam attribution and custom conversions into reports, from the Pro plan up.

Plans

Birch

  • Essential$45

    per month up to $10K ad spend, billed annually ($49 billed monthly)

    Workspaces, reports, post boosting and Slack updates; no automated rules. Rises with spend: $458 a month billed annually up to $150K, its ceiling.

  • Pro$91

    per month up to $10K ad spend, billed annually ($99 billed monthly)

    Adds automated rules, Explorer, Launcher, Stage, custom metrics and audiences, and live chat. $733 a month billed annually up to $150K ad spend.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Sold through sales for spend over $500K a month: no limits or overages, custom Stage limits, onboarding and setup help, premium support.

Motion

  • Starter$999

    per month for up to $50K ad spend a month; billing term not stated

    Unlimited seats and ad accounts, AI tags and tasks, ad leaderboard, creative analytics, competitor inspiration, benchmarks, MCP access and Slack requests.

  • ProCustom

    For brands spending over $50K a month: adds unlimited view-only guests, Northbeam and Google Analytics attribution, video QA in Slack and onboarding.

  • GrowthCustom

    For brands spending over $125K a month: adds a dedicated customer success manager, solutions engineering, advanced security and private Slack support.

Ways to pay less

Birch

  • Annual discount

    About 8% off with annual billing

    Paid yearly, Pro up to $10K ad spend is $1,090 ($91 a month) against $99 monthly, and Essential $540 ($45 a month) against $49. Annual plans carry no overage fees.

Motion

No public discounts listed.

More comparisons