Skip to content

Ramp vs Zoho Expense

We give Ramp a 3.6 GPA and Zoho Expense a 3.0, out of 4.0. Ramp grades higher on value for money, the free plan and features. They get the same grade on ease of use and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Ramp

Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan

Free plan · from $15/mo

Zoho Expense

Expense reports, receipt scanning and travel booking from Zoho

Free plan · from $3/mo

How we grade them

3.6GPARampExcellent3.0GPAZoho ExpenseVery good
Value for money
AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Ramp Free for cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, and the listing gives no fee for ACH bill payments, with same-day ACH free too. Plus is $15 a user, 20% less yearly, plus an unstated platform fee.
BGraded against its expense-tool alternatives. Ten people on Standard cost $30 a month at $3 each, billed yearly. That's less than Expensify, Navan, Rydoo or Pleo charge for ten, though Ramp does expenses for nothing.
Free plan and trial
AThe Free plan has no user cap on record and covers unlimited cards, receipts by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account and QuickBooks or Xero sync. Plus has a 30-day trial.
BThe free plan runs the whole loop for up to 3 users: 20 AI receipt scans each a month, reports, GPS mileage, the prepaid card and accounting links. One person could live on it. Paid plans have a 14-day trial with no card.
Features
BThe whole job: cards with controls, expenses and reimbursements, travel, bills read by OCR and routed for approval, invoicing and accounting sync. Purchase orders and three-way matching are an add-on, which mostly bigger finance teams will miss.
CExpense reports are done fully, with AI scans in 38+ languages, policies, mileage, card feeds and ACH reimbursements. It's a smaller job than the category's, though: no supplier bill pay is listed, and travel booking needs Premium.
Ease of use
A4.91 from 47,070 App Store ratings, the top band. Staff can finish an expense by replying to a text, which is about as little effort as it gets.
A4.84 from 8,238 App Store ratings, the top band. Snap the receipt and it reads the lines for you, and mileage tracks itself by GPS.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365, Workday, Slack and Amazon Business. No desktop app is listed, and Workday sync needs Enterprise.
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Zoho People, Zoho CRM, Uber and Slack. No desktop app is listed, and ERP and HR integrations are an add-on on Standard.
Best forcards, expenses and bill pay at no costcheap expense reports for small teams

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Ramp and Zoho Expense. How we grade

Price against what you get

Ramp starts at $15 a month for each person and scores 3.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Zoho Expense starts at $3 a month for each person and scores 3.0.

Ramp scores higher, and starts $12 a month higher: the question is whether the extra is worth that to you. Of the other spend and bill pay tools on the chart, none scores higher than Ramp for less, and none scores higher than Zoho Expense for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessRampZoho Expense

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of spend and bill pay tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • Ramp starts at $15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. Zoho Expense starts at $3 per user / month, billed annually ($4 billed monthly).
  • Ramp also covers invoicing and bill pay.
In commonFree planWebiOSAndroidAI featuresReportsExpense trackingCompany cards

At a glance

RampZoho Expense
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size$3 per user / month, billed annually ($4 billed monthly)
Free planRamp Free: unlimited cards, expenses by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account, custom reports and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.Free: up to 3 users, 20 AI receipt scans per user a month, expense reports, GPS mileage, multi-currency expenses, accounting integrations and 5 GB of receipt storage.
Free trial30-day free trial of Ramp Plus14-day free trial, no credit card required
Web
iOS
Android
Made byRamp Business CorporationZoho Corporation
Price read fromramp.comzoho.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

Ramp

  • US companies that want cards, expenses and bill pay in one free tool
  • Finance teams closing books in NetSuite or Sage Intacct
  • Businesses that book company travel and want it tied to card spend

Zoho Expense

  • Small teams of up to 3 people who need free expense reports
  • Businesses already using Zoho Books or other Zoho apps
  • Companies that want low per-user pricing with travel booking

Worth knowing

Ramp

  • Plus adds a platform fee based on team size that the pricing page does not state; Enterprise is quoted and billed yearly.
  • Ramp says it is not a bank: checking deposits are held at First Internet Bank of Indiana, and its corporate card is issued by Celtic Bank and needs credit approval.
  • Purchase orders and three-way matching come as an add-on to Plus or Enterprise; Workday and Oracle Fusion sync need Enterprise.
  • Cards are issued in the US, Canada, the UK and the EEA. Filing 1099s costs $0.65 per IRS form, with state filing free.

Zoho Expense

  • Anyone who creates an expense or report is billed as a user. The free plan stops at 3 users and 20 receipt scans per user a month.
  • ERP and HR integrations are an add-on on Standard, travel self-booking as an add-on costs $9.99 a trip, and premium support starts at $490 a year.
  • The Zoho Prepaid Mastercard is issued by Pathward, N.A. and is loaded from a funding account rather than a credit line.
  • Travel booking, per diems, live budgets and multi-entity expenses need Premium.

Key features

Ramp

Corporate cards
Unlimited physical and virtual Visa cards with spending controls. On Plus, cards lock themselves when receipts or other policy steps are missing.
Expenses and reimbursements
Employees complete expenses by text message or Slack, receipts are matched automatically, and out-of-pocket costs are reimbursed in batches.
Travel booking
Book flights, hotels and rental cars under a custom travel policy, with 24/7 phone support for bookings on Plus.
Bill pay
Invoices are read by OCR, routed through approvals and fraud checks, and paid by ACH, card, check or wire, with free same-day ACH and wires.
Invoicing
Create invoices, follow up with customers automatically and accept payment by ACH, card or check.
Accounting automation
QuickBooks Online and Xero sync on every plan. Plus adds NetSuite and Sage Intacct, AI coding for every field and automatic sync of routine spend.

Zoho Expense

AI receipt scanning
Receipts are read in more than 38 languages and turned into itemized expenses, up to a monthly scan limit that rises with the plan.
Policies and approvals
Expense reports go through approval rules, and Zia AI flags possible fraud and alcohol on receipts from the Standard plan.
Mileage and per diem
Track drives by GPS on a phone or Apple Watch, and apply GSA per diem rates automatically on Premium.
Cards and reimbursements
Real-time Visa and Mastercard feeds, the Zoho Prepaid Mastercard, cash advances and direct ACH reimbursements to employees.
Travel booking
Premium adds employee self-booking of flights and hotels, guest booking and an in-house travel desk tool.
Zoho and accounting links
Exports to Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, Xero and NetSuite, and works with Zoho People, Zoho CRM and Zoho Projects.

Plans

Ramp

  • Free$0

    Unlimited cards with controls, receipt matching, travel booking, bill pay by ACH, card, check or wire, invoicing, and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.

  • Plus$15

    per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size

    20% off with yearly billing; the platform fee is not shown. Adds AI expense reviews, coded bill lines, batch payments, NetSuite and multi-entity support.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Billed annually. Adds Workday and Oracle Fusion integrations and full customization.

Zoho Expense

  • Free$0

    Up to 3 users, 20 receipt scans per user a month, expense reports, GPS mileage, the Zoho Prepaid Mastercard and accounting integrations.

  • Standard$3

    per user / month, billed annually ($4 billed monthly)

    200 scans per user a month, card feeds, multiple policies, cash advances, ACH reimbursements, SSO and Zia AI reporting and audit.

  • Premium$5

    per user / month, billed annually ($6 billed monthly)

    1,000 scans per user a month, travel self-booking, a travel desk, GSA per diems, live budgets and multi-entity expenses.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    A spend platform combining travel, expenses, cards, procurement, accounts payable and payroll, quoted for large organizations.

Ways to pay less

Ramp

  • Annual discount

    Save 20% on Plus with yearly billing

    Ramp says Plus costs 20% less when billed annually than the $15 per user a month shown.

Zoho Expense

  • Annual discount

    Save up to 25% with yearly billing

    Standard costs $3 per user a month billed yearly instead of $4 monthly, and Premium $5 instead of $6.

  • Nonprofit

    Discounted pricing for nonprofits

    Zoho says Zoho Expense is available at discounted pricing for nonprofit organizations; the discount is not stated.

More comparisons