Skip to content

ScreenConnect vs Splashtop

We give ScreenConnect a 2.2 GPA and Splashtop a 2.8, out of 4.0. Splashtop grades higher on value for money and ease of use. They get the same grade on the free plan, features and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

ScreenConnect

Remote support for IT teams and MSPs, priced per concurrent technician

Free trial ยท from $30/mo

Splashtop

Remote access to your own computers, plus separate IT support plans

Free plan ยท from $23.99/yr

How we grade them

2.2GPAScreenConnectFair2.8GPASplashtopGood
Value for money
DOne is $30 a month billed annually, annual only, for a single licence with 1 session at a time and 10 unattended agents. Past that, Standard is $47 per concurrent tech. For one technician doing the same job that's dearer than Zoho Assist or Splashtop, and many integrations cost extra on top.
CRemote Support SOS is $22 per concurrent technician a month billed annually: $259 a year with 10 managed computers, or $399 with 300. For the same job that's mid-pack, above Zoho Assist and below TeamViewer's Business. For your own computers, the Anywhere Access Pack is only $23.99 a year.
Free plan and trial
CNo free plan, but there's a free trial that needs no card. ScreenConnect doesn't say how long it lasts.
CSplashtop Personal is free, but only on your home network, for up to 2 computers and never for work. Working from home counts as work. Business plans have a free trial with no card, though its length isn't stated.
Features
BOn-demand and unattended sessions, Backstage for fixing a machine silently in the background, a toolbox of scripts, a remote command line, session recording, two-factor sign-in and an on-premises option. Nothing in the listing is missing from the support job.
BUnattended access, support by session code, file transfer, remote print, and a Performance plan with 4:4:4 colour, 240 frames per second, Wacom pens and USB passthrough. Nothing in the listing is missing from the job; single sign-on and the APIs wait for Enterprise.
Ease of use
CNo App Store rating on record. It's built for IT pros: agents to deploy, a toolbox of scripts, roles and permissions to set up. Expect a learning curve if you're not one.
A4.81 from 4,713 App Store ratings for its Business app, the best on record in this category. Install the Streamer on a computer and reach it from anything.
Platforms and integrations
BWindows, Mac, Linux, iPhone and Android, with ConnectWise PSA, Automate, Zendesk, Freshdesk and Acronis. Many of those are paid add-ons, and there's no web app on record.
BWindows, Mac, Linux, Chromebook, iPhone and Android, with Intune, Jira, Freshservice, Jamf, Atera and Datto RMM. There's no web app on record, which keeps it at B, and the APIs are Enterprise only.
Best forMSPs supporting many client businessesremote access from home office to help desk

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: ScreenConnect and Splashtop. How we grade

Price against what you get

ScreenConnect starts at $30 a month and scores 2.7 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Splashtop starts at $2 a month when paid by the year and scores 3.3.

Splashtop scores higher and starts $28 a month lower. Of the other remote desktop apps on the chart, 3 score higher than ScreenConnect for less, and none scores higher than Splashtop for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$1$2$5$10$20$50$100More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessScreenConnectSplashtop

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) โ†’

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of remote desktop apps, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • ScreenConnect starts at $30 per month, billed annually (One, single licence). Splashtop starts at $23.99 per year for personal use; business plans from $6 / month, billed annually.
  • Splashtop has a free plan. ScreenConnect does not, though it has a free trial.
In commonWindowsmacOSLinuxiOSAndroidSelf-hostableRemote desktop

At a glance

ScreenConnectSplashtop
PricingFree trialFree plan
Starts at$30 per month, billed annually (One, single licence)$23.99 per year for personal use; business plans from $6 / month, billed annually
Free planNoneSplashtop Personal is free for non-commercial use on your local home network, for up to 2 computers. Reaching them from outside the home network needs the Anywhere Access Pack.
Free trialFree trial, no credit card required; length not statedFree trial of business plans, no credit card required; length not stated
macOS
Windows
Linux
iOS
Android
Made byConnectWise, LLCSplashtop Inc.
Price read fromscreenconnect.connectwise.comsplashtop.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

ScreenConnect

  • Managed service providers supporting many client businesses
  • Internal IT teams with several technicians working at once
  • Teams already using ConnectWise PSA or Automate
  • Organizations that need to host remote support on their own servers

Splashtop

  • Reaching a home computer from the couch at no cost, or from anywhere for a small yearly fee
  • People working from home who need their office computer from another device
  • Designers and video editors who need accurate color and a stylus over a remote link
  • IT teams and MSPs supporting staff or customers by concurrent technician

Worth knowing

ScreenConnect

  • Pricing is per concurrent technician, so each person connecting at the same time needs a licence.
  • The One plan is a single licence limited to 1 session and 10 unattended agents, and is sold annually only.
  • Remote Access licences need at least 25 agents and do not include on-demand support sessions.
  • Many integrations, such as ConnectWise PSA, Zendesk and Freshdesk, are listed as paid add-ons.

Splashtop

  • Splashtop Personal is free only on your home network and only for non-commercial use; working from home needs a business plan.
  • Business plan prices are shown only as annual billing on the pricing page.
  • Remote Support SOS is priced per concurrent technician, with the number of managed computers capped by the option you buy (10 or 300 per licence, up to 1,200).
  • Enterprise, with single sign-on, APIs and the on-premises option, has no public price and is quoted by sales.

Key features

ScreenConnect

On-demand and unattended sessions
Start a support session with a user, or install access agents for round-the-clock access to desktops, laptops, servers and mobile devices.
Backstage
Troubleshoot and fix a machine silently in the background, without disrupting the person using it. Included from the Standard plan.
Toolbox and command line
Keep shared scripts and executables in a toolbox to run on remote machines during sessions, and run commands remotely.
Security controls
AES-256 encryption, two-factor authentication, role-based permissions, consent options, audit reports, and sign-in through LDAP, SAML or OAuth.
Session recording and video auditing
Record sessions on Standard; Premium adds video auditing and a remote diagnostics toolkit.
On-premises option
Besides the cloud service, ScreenConnect can be installed on your own server, with licensing arranged through sales.

Splashtop

Unattended access to your own computers
Install the Streamer on a computer and reach it later from a phone, tablet or another computer, with file transfer and remote print.
On-demand support by session code
Remote Support SOS lets a technician connect to any computer or mobile device the user opens a session code on, with or without someone present on managed machines.
High-performance streaming
The Performance plan adds 4:4:4 color, up to 240 frames per second, high-fidelity audio, Wacom stylus support and USB passthrough for creative work.
Endpoint management add-on
Autonomous Endpoint Management adds real-time patching, monitoring and remediation, and is sold on its own or added to SOS and Enterprise.
Enterprise and on-premises
Enterprise adds single sign-on, granular and scheduled access, SIEM logging, cloud recording, APIs and unattended Android access, with an on-premises option.
Help desk and RMM integrations
Launch sessions from tools such as Freshservice, Jira, Jamf, Atera and Datto RMM, and manage Bitdefender antivirus from the Splashtop console.

Plans

ScreenConnect

  • One$30

    per month, billed annually (annual only)

    A single licence for individual use: 1 session at a time and 10 unattended access agents, with file transfer, remote printing and the toolbox.

  • Remote Access$35

    per month for 25 agents, billed annually

    Unattended access only, priced by the number of agents installed, from a minimum of 25; the cost per device falls as the count rises.

  • Standard$47

    per concurrent tech / month, billed annually ($62 billed monthly)

    Unlimited unattended agents, up to 3 sessions per tech, Backstage, remote command line, Wake-on-LAN, session recording, VoIP and mobile guests.

  • Premium$57

    per concurrent tech / month, billed annually ($72 billed monthly)

    Adds video auditing, a remote diagnostics toolkit, remote camera sharing (view) and up to 10 sessions per tech.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Custom and multi-year licensing, premium support and escalation, privileged access management and enterprise deployment options.

Splashtop

  • Personal$0

    Non-commercial use only, on your home Wi-Fi network, for up to 2 Windows or Mac computers. Working from home counts as commercial use.

  • Anywhere Access Pack$23.99

    per year ($5.99 a month billed monthly)

    Add-on to Personal for reaching up to 2 home computers from anywhere over the internet. Personal use only.

  • Solo$6

    per month, billed annually ($72 a year)

    One user with unattended access from any device, file transfer with drag and drop, and remote print.

  • Pro$8.25

    per user / month, billed annually ($99 a year)

    Adds multi-monitor support, user roles and access management, chat, session recording and up to 3 users into one computer.

  • Performance$13

    per user / month, billed annually ($149 a year)

    Adds 4:4:4 color accuracy, up to 240 frames per second, high-fidelity audio, remote stylus with Wacom Bridge and USB passthrough.

  • Remote Support SOS$22

    per concurrent technician / month, billed annually

    $259 a year with 10 managed computers, or $399 a year with 300; on-demand sessions by code to unlimited computers and mobile devices.

Ways to pay less

ScreenConnect

  • Annual discount

    Annual billing saves about a quarter

    Standard is $47 per tech a month billed annually against $62 billed monthly, and Premium $57 against $72.

Splashtop

  • Annual discount

    Anywhere Access Pack is cheaper paid yearly

    The pack costs $23.99 a year against $5.99 a month, which is $71.88 over twelve months: about two-thirds less.

  • Other savings

    Volume discounts on Pro and Performance

    The pricing page marks volume discounts on the Pro and Performance plans for teams buying several user licences.

More comparisons