Skip to content

Alternatives · Spend & Bills

BILL alternatives

BILL compared with 6 alternatives: Melio, Plooto, Ramp, Brex, Nickel and 1 more.

BILL has a free plan. Paid plans start at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated. 5 of the 6 alternatives are free or have a free plan. One more offers a free trial.

6 tools · Listings checked up to Oct 18, 2026 · Where the facts come from

At a glance

ToolPriceFree planRuns on
BILLThis toolFree plan · from $49/moYesWeb, iOS, Android
MelioFree plan · from $20/moYesWeb, iOS, Android
PlootoFree trial · from $9/moTrial onlyWeb
RampFree plan · from $15/moYesWeb, iOS, Android
BrexFree plan · from $12/moYesWeb, iOS, Android
NickelFree plan · from $35/moYesWeb
AirwallexFree plan · from $12/moYesWeb, iOS, Android

Price against what you get

BILL starts at $49 a month for each person and scores 3.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. None of the 6 alternatives on this chart both scores higher and starts lower.

Melio, Plooto, Ramp, Brex, Nickel and Airwallex start lower without scoring higher.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessBILLMelioPlootoRampBrexNickelAirwallex

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of spend and bill pay tools, and the best at every price

How each one differs from BILL

  1. Melio

    Bill pay and invoicing for small US businesses, with a free plan

    • Melio starts at $20 per month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly). BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
    • BILL also covers company cards.

    Suits: US small businesses that want to pay suppliers by card or ACH

  2. Plooto

    Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US

    • Plooto starts at $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated. BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
    • BILL has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
    • Only BILL lists iOS and Android apps.
    • BILL also covers expense tracking and company cards.

    Suits: Canadian and US businesses that pay suppliers across the border

  3. Ramp

    Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan

    • Ramp starts at $15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
    • Ramp also covers reports.

    Suits: US companies that want cards, expenses and bill pay in one free tool

  4. Brex

    Corporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies

    • Brex starts at $12 per user / month, billing term not stated. BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
    • Brex also covers reports.
    • BILL also covers invoicing.

    Suits: Startups that want corporate cards and expenses at no software cost

  5. Nickel

    Free ACH invoicing and bill pay for US businesses

    • Nickel starts at $35 per month, billed annually ($45 billed monthly). BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
    • Only BILL lists iOS and Android apps.
    • BILL also covers expense tracking and company cards.

    Suits: US businesses that collect large invoices by ACH

  6. Airwallex

    Multi-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses

    • Airwallex starts at $12 per Spend user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.

    Suits: Businesses that pay suppliers or staff in other countries

Limits worth knowing in BILL

  • Payments carry fees on every plan: $0.59 per ACH payment, $1.99 per mailed check, $19.99 per USD wire abroad, and 2.9% to pay a bill by card.
  • The Essentials plan exchanges data with QuickBooks and Xero only by CSV file; automatic two-way sync starts on Team, and NetSuite or Sage Intacct needs Enterprise.
  • Spend & Expense is provided by Divvy Pay LLC, the Divvy Card is issued by its bank partners, and credit lines depend on approval.
  • Every Essentials and Team user pays the full seat price; cheaper approver-only seats come with Corporate and Enterprise.
BILL pricing and details

Common questions

What are the alternatives to BILL?

The alternatives to BILL in this directory are Melio, Plooto, Ramp, Brex, Nickel and Airwallex. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with BILL.

Is there a free alternative to BILL?

Yes. Melio, Ramp, Brex, Nickel and Airwallex have a free plan alongside paid ones.

When were these prices checked?

Every listing on this page was checked on Oct 18, 2026, against the pages it cites. Vendors change prices without notice, so confirm on their site before you buy.