Bitwarden
Open-source password manager with a free plan and self-hosting

Our verdict
First of our top three password managers
For: Most people
Bitwarden's free plan stores unlimited logins and passkeys on unlimited devices, and it runs in a browser and on Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone and Android. It is open source and end-to-end encrypted, and it can be run on your own server instead of Bitwarden's cloud. Premium is $1.65 a month, billed annually at $19.80, and Families covers up to 6 users for $3.99 a month, billed annually. Its iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 from about 34,000 ratings. Know the limits: the free plan leaves out the integrated authenticator, file attachments and vault health reports, and individual plans share items with only one other Bitwarden user.
See all three and how we rankWhat is Bitwarden?
Bitwarden is an open-source, end-to-end encrypted password manager for individuals, families and organizations. Its free plan stores unlimited logins and passkeys on unlimited devices, and paid plans add an integrated authenticator, encrypted attachments, emergency access and organization sharing. Businesses get event logs, directory sync and SSO, and the service can be run on your own server instead of Bitwarden's cloud.
Bitwarden has a free plan. Paid plans start at $1.65 per month, billed annually at $19.80 (Premium). See every plan
Good for
- People who want a free password manager on unlimited devices
- Users who prefer open-source software or want to self-host
- Organizations that want per-user pricing with SSO and SCIM available
Worth knowing
- The free plan leaves out file attachments, the integrated authenticator, vault health reports and emergency access.
- Individual plans share items with only one other Bitwarden user; unlimited sharing starts with Families.
- Listed prices are based on annual subscriptions, and taxes are not included.
- SSO integration and enterprise policies require the Enterprise plan.
Key features
- Unlimited free vault
- The free plan stores unlimited logins, passkeys, notes, cards and identities and works on unlimited devices through browser, mobile and desktop apps.
- Open source
- Bitwarden's code is open source, and the company describes its security as independently verified.
- Passkeys, autofill and generator
- Stores and manages passkeys alongside passwords, autofills logins across devices and generates strong passwords and usernames.
- Bitwarden Send
- Shares sensitive information through a link that disappears. Free accounts can send text only; file sharing comes with paid plans.
- Self-hosting
- Bitwarden can be deployed on premises or in a private cloud. Families and Enterprise organizations can be moved to a self-hosted server.
- Business controls
- Teams adds event logs, directory synchronization and SCIM provisioning. Enterprise adds policies, SSO integration and granular access control.
Bitwarden pricing
- Starts at
- $1.65 per month, billed annually at $19.80 (Premium)
- Free plan
- Free for 1 user: unlimited logins, passkeys, notes, cards and identities on unlimited devices, a password generator and text-only Send. No file attachments or integrated authenticator.
- Free trial
- Free trials are offered on the Families, Teams and Enterprise plans; the pricing page does not state their length
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | 1 user. Unlimited passwords and passkeys on unlimited devices, a password and username generator, and two-step login. |
| Premium | $1.65per month, billed annually at $19.80 | Adds the integrated authenticator, 5 GB of encrypted file attachments, emergency access, security reports and priority support. |
| Families | $3.99per month for up to 6 users, billed annually at $47.88 | 6 premium accounts with unlimited sharing and collections, plus shared organization storage. |
| Teams | $4per user / month, billed annually | Secure credential sharing for a team, event logs, directory synchronization and SCIM provisioning. |
| Enterprise | $6per user / month, billed annually | Everything in Teams, plus enterprise policies, passwordless SSO integration, granular access control and self-hosting. |
Read from bitwarden.com on Oct 4, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Bitwarden before you buy.
Ways to pay less
- Other savingsFree Families plan for Enterprise users
Bitwarden's pricing page states that the Enterprise plan includes a free Families plan for all of its users.
Stated on bitwarden.com
How people rate the Bitwarden app
4.8
out of 5 for the iPhone and iPad app
- 5 stars89%
- 4 stars6%
- 3 stars2%
- 2 stars<1%
- 1 star3%
33,529 ratings on the App Store in the United States, read Oct 5, 2026. It rates the app, not everything the product does. See the listing
Bitwarden alternatives
- Bitwarden vs 1Password
Free trial · from $3.99/mo
- Bitwarden vs Proton Pass
Free plan · from $2.99/mo
- Bitwarden vs Dashlane
Free trial · from $5.42/mo
- Bitwarden vs NordPass
Free plan · from $4.99/mo
Featured in
Common questions
Is Bitwarden free?
Bitwarden has a free plan. Free for 1 user: unlimited logins, passkeys, notes, cards and identities on unlimited devices, a password generator and text-only Send. No file attachments or integrated authenticator. Paid plans start at $1.65 per month, billed annually at $19.80 (Premium).
How much does Bitwarden cost?
Bitwarden lists 5 plans. Free: $0. Premium: $1.65 per month, billed annually at $19.80. Families: $3.99 per month for up to 6 users, billed annually at $47.88. Teams: $4 per user / month, billed annually. Enterprise: $6 per user / month, billed annually. Prices were read from bitwarden.com on Oct 4, 2026.
What platforms does Bitwarden work on?
Bitwarden is available on Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android. It also has a browser extension.
Does Bitwarden offer any discounts?
Bitwarden publicly lists the following: Free Families plan for Enterprise users.
How is Bitwarden rated?
Bitwarden's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 out of 5 from 33,529 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026. That is the store's rating of the app, not a score from us.
Is Bitwarden open source?
Yes. Bitwarden is open source, according to its own site. It can also be run on a server of your own.
Is Bitwarden end-to-end encrypted?
Bitwarden describes itself as end-to-end encrypted on its own site. Nobody here has audited that.
Does Bitwarden have a free trial?
Yes. Free trials are offered on the Families, Teams and Enterprise plans; the pricing page does not state their length.
Who makes Bitwarden?
Bitwarden is made by Bitwarden, Inc. It dates from 2016.
What are the alternatives to Bitwarden?
The closest alternatives to Bitwarden in our directory are 1Password, Proton Pass, Dashlane and NordPass. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Bitwarden.
Sources for this page
The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 4, 2026. What people say is linked where it appears.
