Forest
Focus timer that grows a virtual tree while you stay off apps

Our verdict
Second of our top three focus apps
For: People who want a timer that keeps them off their phone
Forest is a focus timer: a virtual tree grows while a session runs and dies if you leave to use other apps, and finished sessions fill a forest that records your focused time. The free plan on iPhone and Android includes the timer, Deep Focus app blocking, focus tracking and Plant Together rooms for shared sessions with friends. Its iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 from about 49,500 ratings. It is second because it is built around the phone: no Mac or Windows app is listed, and on a computer it runs only as a Chrome or Firefox extension. Custom app allowlists, focus analytics and custom tags need Forest Plus, listed at $5.99 a month on the US App Store.
See all three and how we rankWhat is Forest?
Forest is a focus timer in the Pomodoro style: a virtual tree grows while a session runs and dies if you leave to use other apps. Finished sessions fill a personal forest that doubles as a record of focused time. The app also blocks other apps, schedules app-free windows and runs shared sessions with friends.
Forest has a free plan. Paid plans start at $5.99 / month, or from $32.49 / year (US App Store). See every plan
Good for
- People who respond to a visual reward for staying off their phone
- Friends or study groups who want to focus in a shared session
- Short timed work sessions in the Pomodoro style
Worth knowing
- Seekrtech does not publish Forest Plus prices on its site; it says they vary by region and platform and points to the app stores.
- No Mac or Windows app is listed; on a computer Forest runs only as a Chrome or Firefox extension.
- Custom app allowlists, focus analytics, custom tags and real-tree planting need Forest Plus.
- Forest Pro, the earlier unlock, is no longer available to new users; existing Pro holders keep it.
Key features
- Tree-growing focus timer
- A tree grows during a countdown or stopwatch session and dies if you leave to use other apps. Each finished session is added to your forest.
- Deep Focus Mode
- A stricter mode that blocks other apps or sends you back to Forest when you open one. It is free; building a custom allowlist of permitted apps needs Plus.
- Time Guard
- Scheduled windows during which chosen apps or sites are blocked. The free tier covers 1 app or site and Plus covers several.
- Plant Together
- Create a room, invite friends with a code and plant the same tree in a synchronized session. If one person gives up, the tree dies for everyone.
- Real tree planting
- Plus and legacy Pro users can spend coins earned from focus sessions to have real trees planted through Trees for the Future, up to 5 per account.
- Focus statistics and tags
- Your forest shows total focus time, patterns by day, week or month, and streaks. Focus analytics and custom tags are part of Plus.
Forest pricing
- Starts at
- $5.99 / month, or from $32.49 / year (US App Store)
- Free plan
- Focus timer, Deep Focus app blocking, Time Guard for 1 app or site, 1 Mindful Space soundscape, focus tracking and Plant Together group rooms.
- Free trial
- Free Forest Plus trial; the length is not stated
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Countdown and stopwatch timer, Deep Focus app blocking, Time Guard for 1 app or site, 1 soundscape and group focus rooms. |
| Forest Plus (monthly) | $5.99per month, US App Store in-app purchase | Custom app allowlist, Time Guard for multiple apps and sites, all soundscapes, focus analytics, custom tags and real-tree planting. |
| Forest Plus (annual) | $32.49 or $35.99per year, US App Store in-app purchase | The same Plus features billed yearly. The App Store lists two annual purchases and does not say which one a new subscriber pays. |
Read from apps.apple.com on Oct 4, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Forest before you buy.
Ways to pay less
- Annual discountAnnual Forest Plus costs about half of monthly
The US App Store lists the monthly Forest Plus purchase at $5.99 and annual purchases at $32.49 and $35.99, so a year paid annually costs about half of twelve monthly payments.
Stated on apps.apple.com
How people rate the Forest app
4.8
out of 5 for the iPhone and iPad app
- 5 stars88%
- 4 stars8%
- 3 stars1%
- 2 stars<1%
- 1 star2%
49,513 ratings on the App Store in the United States, read Oct 5, 2026. It rates the app, not everything the product does. See the listing
Forest alternatives
- Forest vs Session
Free plan · from $3.33/mo
- Forest vs Opal
Free plan · from $8.29/mo
- Forest vs Freedom
Free plan · from $3.33/mo
Featured in
Common questions
Is Forest free?
Forest has a free plan. Focus timer, Deep Focus app blocking, Time Guard for 1 app or site, 1 Mindful Space soundscape, focus tracking and Plant Together group rooms. Paid plans start at $5.99 / month, or from $32.49 / year (US App Store).
How much does Forest cost?
Forest lists 3 plans. Free: $0. Forest Plus (monthly): $5.99 per month, US App Store in-app purchase. Forest Plus (annual): $32.49 or $35.99 per year, US App Store in-app purchase. Prices were read from apps.apple.com on Oct 4, 2026.
What platforms does Forest work on?
Forest is available on iOS and Android. It also has a browser extension.
Does Forest offer any discounts?
Forest publicly lists the following: Annual Forest Plus costs about half of monthly.
How is Forest rated?
Forest's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 out of 5 from 49,513 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026. That is the store's rating of the app, not a score from us.
Does Forest have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 4, 2026. Forest is listed for iOS and Android.
Does Forest have a macOS app?
No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 4, 2026. Forest is listed for iOS and Android.
Is Forest open source?
Forest is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 4, 2026.
Does Forest work offline?
Yes, according to its own site. What works without a connection differs by plan and platform, so check the vendor's page for the detail.
Does Forest have a free trial?
Yes. Free Forest Plus trial; the length is not stated.
Who makes Forest?
Forest is made by Seekrtech Co., Ltd. It dates from 2014.
What are the alternatives to Forest?
The closest alternatives to Forest in our directory are Session, Opal and Freedom. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Forest.
Sources for this page
The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 4, 2026. What people say is linked where it appears.
