Skip to content

Scribe vs Whale

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Scribe

Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work

Free plan · from $13/mo

Whale

SOP documentation and employee training platform with AI

Free plan · from $249/mo

Where they differ

  • Scribe starts at $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum). Whale starts at $249 per month, billed yearly ($399 billed monthly).
  • Only Scribe lists macOS and Windows apps.
  • Only Whale lists iOS and Android apps.
  • Scribe also covers screenshots and documents.
  • Whale also covers AI search, wiki, templates, screen recording and reports.
In commonFree planWebBrowser extensionAI features

At a glance

ScribeWhale
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum)$249 per month, billed yearly ($399 billed monthly)
Free planBasic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan.Free Forever: up to 10 members, 1 creator and 20 Playbook items across the workspace, with 20 AI credits a month. No PDF or Word export, version history or insights.
Free trialNone listedNone listed
Web
macOS
Windows
iOS
Android
Browser extension
Made byColony Labs, Inc. dba ScribeWhale BV
Price read fromscribe.comusewhale.io
CheckedOct 5, 2026Oct 6, 2026

Who each one suits

Scribe

  • Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
  • Training new hires on web-based software
  • Solo consultants documenting processes for clients

Whale

  • Companies documenting SOPs and training staff on them in one tool
  • Frontline and warehouse teams opening instructions by QR code or phone
  • Organizations with many readers and only a few content creators
  • Nonprofits, which get a 20% discount

Worth knowing

Scribe

  • The free Basic plan captures web apps only; the Mac and Windows desktop apps are a Pro and Enterprise feature.
  • Basic leaves out unlimited guide creation, exports, custom branding and redaction; the pricing page does not state the guide limit.
  • Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
  • SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.

Whale

  • The Free plan is capped at 10 members, 1 creator and 20 Playbook items, and has no PDF or Word export, version history or insights.
  • Paid plans start at $249 a month billed yearly with 3 creators; extra creators on Scale cost $29 each a month, or $39 on monthly billing.
  • Enforced SSO and the video editor need Advance, and API access, SCIM provisioning and approval flows are Enterprise only.
  • Vendor pages disagree on members: the plan cards say limited on Scale and Advance, while the machine-readable pricing file says unlimited.

Key features

Scribe

Automatic guide capture
Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
Autocapture
Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
On-screen walkthroughs
Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
Editing and redaction
Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
Sharing and export
Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
Workflow insights
Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.

Whale

AI SOP writer and importers
AI drafts new procedures, polishes wording and gives each SOP a health score, and existing PDF and Word documents can be imported and turned into editable SOPs.
Step and screen recorders
The Step Recorder captures a process on screen as a visual step-by-step guide, and recorded or uploaded videos are transcribed by AI into written SOPs.
Ask Alice
Members put questions to Alice, an AI assistant trained on the workspace's own content, to find an SOP or learn how to do something. Asking Alice does not use AI credits.
Training flows and quizzes
Training flows assign content by team and role, and AI generates quiz questions from Whale content. Scale includes 5 flows and 15 quizzes; Advance removes the limits.
Sharing where work happens
SOPs are shared by link, QR code or read assignment with a due date, opened in the iOS and Android apps, and consulted from the CoPilot browser extension.
Insights and access control
Paid plans add knowledge-use and team performance insights, user groups, user roles and version history. Approval flows are limited to Enterprise.

Plans

Scribe

  • Basic$0

    Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video.

  • Pro Personal$25

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly)

    From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word.

  • Pro Team$13

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seats

    Everything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    SAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations.

Whale

  • Free$0

    Up to 10 members, 1 creator and 20 Playbook items, with the step recorder, screen recorder, video-to-SOP converter and checklists.

  • Scale$249

    per month, billed yearly ($399 billed monthly)

    3 creators included, with extra creators from $29 each a month, unlimited documentation, 5 training flows, AI quizzes and Whale MCP access.

  • Advance$499

    per month, billed yearly ($799 billed monthly)

    5 creators included, with extra creators from $39 each a month, adding the video editor, AI voiceovers, enforced SSO and granular permissions.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Priced on request with yearly billing only. Adds approval flows, automatic redaction, SCIM user provisioning, HRIS integrations and API access.

Ways to pay less

Scribe

  • Annual discount

    Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing

    Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $13 against $17. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%.

  • Education

    Pro discount for schools and universities

    The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.

  • Nonprofit

    Pro discount for nonprofits

    501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated.

Whale

  • Annual discount

    Save about 37% with yearly billing

    The pricing page marks yearly billing as saving 37%: Scale is $249 a month instead of $399 billed monthly, and Advance $499 instead of $799.

  • Nonprofit

    20% off for nonprofits

    Whale's pricing FAQ says nonprofits get a 20% discount on all of its subscriptions.

More comparisons