Skip to content

Scribe vs Waybook

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Scribe

Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work

Free plan · from $13/mo

Waybook

SOP, onboarding and training playbook for growing teams

Free trial · from $99/mo

Where they differ

  • Scribe starts at $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum). Waybook starts at $99 per month for 20 members, billed annually ($119 billed monthly).
  • Scribe has a free plan. Waybook does not, though it has a free trial.
  • Only Scribe lists macOS and Windows apps.
  • Only Waybook lists iOS and Android apps.
  • Scribe also covers documents.
  • Waybook also covers AI search, wiki, templates, diagrams and reports.
In commonWebBrowser extensionAI featuresScreenshots

At a glance

ScribeWaybook
PricingFree planFree trial
Starts at$13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum)$99 per month for 20 members, billed annually ($119 billed monthly)
Free planBasic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan.None
Free trialNone listed7-day free trial
Web
macOS
Windows
iOS
Android
Browser extension
Made byColony Labs, Inc. dba ScribeWaybook Limited
Price read fromscribe.comwaybook.com
CheckedOct 5, 2026Oct 9, 2026

Who each one suits

Scribe

  • Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
  • Training new hires on web-based software
  • Solo consultants documenting processes for clients

Waybook

  • Companies of 20 or more documenting SOPs and onboarding new hires in one place
  • Teams that need a record of who has read and acknowledged a policy
  • Compliance training with deadlines, tests and completion reports

Worth knowing

Scribe

  • The free Basic plan captures web apps only; the Mac and Windows desktop apps are a Pro and Enterprise feature.
  • Basic leaves out unlimited guide creation, exports, custom branding and redaction; the pricing page does not state the guide limit.
  • Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
  • SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.

Waybook

  • There is no free plan, only a 7-day trial, and every plan is priced for a minimum of 20 members.
  • Approvals, the audit log, SSO and directory sync, enforced 2FA and custom domains need Pro, which costs twice as much as Core.
  • Core limits the glossary to 5 terms, and self-serve pricing stops at 500 seats; larger teams are sent to sales.
  • The pricing page says SSO and directory sync carry minimum seat requirements that depend on the identity provider.

Key features

Scribe

Automatic guide capture
Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
Autocapture
Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
On-screen walkthroughs
Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
Editing and redaction
Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
Sharing and export
Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
Workflow insights
Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.

Waybook

Subjects, documents and steps
Every plan allows unlimited subjects, documents and steps. A step can hold video, images, checklists, tables, callouts, code, maps, PDFs and web embeds, added with a slash command.
Learning paths, tests and tracking
Learning paths put documents and tasks in a guided order for a role, with tests, fixed due dates and reports on who has completed what. Recurring due dates need Pro.
Search and Waybook Ask
Search covers every title and step, and Waybook Ask answers questions in plain English from the workspace's own published documents, respecting each member's permissions.
AI writer, templates and flow charts
The AI content writer is unlimited on every plan, alongside a template library for SOPs, policies and training and interactive flow charts with decision points.
Waybook Shots
A Chrome extension that captures a workflow on screen and turns each click into a step of an SOP, which can be shared by link, embedded in Waybook or exported as PDF.
Approvals and audit trail
Pro adds approval stages that block publishing until signed off, document verification with review dates, confirmation steps, full version history and an audit log.

Plans

Scribe

  • Basic$0

    Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video.

  • Pro Personal$25

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly)

    From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word.

  • Pro Team$13

    per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seats

    Everything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    SAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations.

Waybook

  • Core$99

    per month for 20 members, billed annually ($119 billed monthly)

    Extra members $5 each a month ($6 on monthly billing). Unlimited documents, AI writer, tests, learning paths, mobile app and a glossary of up to 5 terms.

  • Pro$198

    per month for 20 members, billed annually ($238 billed monthly)

    Extra members $10 each a month ($12 on monthly billing). Adds approvals, document verification, audit log, SSO, custom domain and Waybook MCP.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Priced on request. Adds dedicated support, setup consultation, custom reporting, bespoke integrations, a custom email sender and IP whitelisting.

Ways to pay less

Scribe

  • Annual discount

    Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing

    Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $13 against $17. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%.

  • Education

    Pro discount for schools and universities

    The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount.

  • Nonprofit

    Pro discount for nonprofits

    501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated.

Waybook

  • Annual discount

    Save 17% with annual billing

    The pricing page marks annual billing as saving 17%: Core is $99 a month instead of $119, and Pro $198 instead of $238, each for 20 members.

More comparisons