Skip to content

Chatwoot vs Tidio

We give Chatwoot a 2.4 GPA and Tidio a 3.2, out of 4.0. Chatwoot grades higher on features. Tidio grades higher on value for money, ease of use and platforms. They get the same grade on the free plan.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Chatwoot

Open-source support inbox you can self-host or use in the cloud

Free plan · from $19/mo

Tidio

Live chat, ticketing and the Lyro AI agent priced by conversations

Free plan · from $24.17/mo

How we grade them

2.4GPAChatwootFair3.2GPATidioVery good
Value for money
CStartups is $19 an agent a month, a little under this category's middle, with all channels and 300 AI credits. The page doesn't say if that's monthly or yearly. The free self-hosted edition needs your own server, so it doesn't lift the grade.
AGrowth, from 250 conversations, is $49.17 a month billed yearly for the whole team, about $9.83 a head for five, just under 60% of what the cheaper quarter of help desks charges. Starter is $24.17 for 100 conversations, under $5 a head.
Free plan and trial
CThe free cloud plan is 2 agents and 500 conversations a month, but live chat only, with 30 days of history. The self-hosted Community Edition is free forever if you can run a server. Paid cloud plans have a 15-day trial.
CA free plan with 10 seats, live chat, ticketing and the social channels, plus a 7-day trial with no card. The cap you'll hit is 50 answered conversations a month, and Lyro's 50 free conversations come once, not monthly.
Features
BOne queue for chat, email, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger, the Captain AI agent, a help center, voice calls on Business, an open API and webhooks. It covers the job, and you can read and change the source code.
CLive chat with a visitor list, one inbox for five channels, ticketing, the Lyro AI agent, rule-based Flows and AI reply help. But the listing has no help center or phone support, and ongoing Lyro use is an add-on from $39 a month.
Ease of use
CNo store rating on record. The cloud version means connecting each channel and training Captain on your help center. Self-hosting is real work: PostgreSQL, Redis and Docker or Kubernetes.
A4.76 from 4,767 App Store ratings, the top band for support apps. Adding the chat box to a Shopify or WordPress store is what it's built around.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with an open API, webhooks and Slack, Shopify, Stripe, HubSpot, Linear and Dialogflow. There's no desktop app, so it stops at a B.
AWeb, Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android apps for agents, with Shopify, WordPress, Zendesk, Salesforce and Zapier, and an API. That's every device type covered.
Best foran open-source support inbox you can hostlive chat for small online stores

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Chatwoot and Tidio. How we grade

Price against what you get

Chatwoot starts at $19 a month for each person and scores 2.7 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Tidio starts at $24.17 a month and scores 3.3.

Tidio scores higher, and starts $5.17 a month higher: the question is whether the extra is worth that to you. Of the other help desk and live chat tools on the chart, 1 scores higher than Chatwoot for less, and none scores higher than Tidio for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0$5$10$20$50$100$200$500More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessChatwootTidio

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of help desk and live chat tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • Chatwoot starts at $19 per agent / month, billing term not stated. Tidio starts at $24.17 per month for 100 conversations, billed annually ($29 monthly).
  • Only Tidio lists macOS and Windows apps.
  • Chatwoot is open source and self-hostable, according to its own site.
  • Chatwoot also covers shared inbox and help center.
  • Tidio also covers help desk.
In commonFree planWebiOSAndroidPublic APILive chatAI support agent

At a glance

ChatwootTidio
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$19 per agent / month, billing term not stated$24.17 per month for 100 conversations, billed annually ($29 monthly)
Free planHacker cloud plan: up to 2 agents and 500 conversations a month, live chat only, 30 days of history. The self-hosted Community Edition is also free.50 billable conversations a month and 10 seats, with live chat, ticketing, email, Instagram, Messenger and WhatsApp, 50 one-off Lyro AI conversations and 100 Flows visitors a month.
Free trial15-day free trial of the cloud plans7-day free trial of all plans and add-ons, no credit card required
Web
macOS
Windows
iOS
Android
Made byChatwoot IncTidio LLC
Price read fromchatwoot.comtidio.com
CheckedOct 17, 2026Oct 17, 2026

Who each one suits

Chatwoot

  • Teams that want to run their support inbox on their own servers
  • Small teams starting free with website chat
  • Developers who want an open API and source code they can change

Tidio

  • Small online stores, especially on Shopify or WordPress
  • Teams of up to 10 agents with modest monthly chat volume
  • Businesses that want to add an AI agent without changing help desk

Worth knowing

Chatwoot

  • The free Hacker plan is limited to 2 agents, 500 conversations a month, live chat only and 30 days of history.
  • Captain AI credits are 300, 500 or 800 a month by plan; more cost $20 per 1,000, and Captain is not in Hacker or the Community Edition.
  • Voice, teams and automation rules need Business at $39 per agent; SSO and audit logs need Enterprise at $99.
  • The pricing page does not say whether per-agent prices are billed monthly or annually.

Tidio

  • Plans are capped by conversations a human answers: 50 a month free, 100 on Starter and up to 2,000 on Growth; above that is Plus, from $300 a month plus usage.
  • Lyro is free for 50 conversations once; ongoing use is an add-on from $39 a month for 50 conversations, up to $700 for 1,000, on monthly billing.
  • Free, Starter and Growth are limited to 10 seats; more seats need Plus.
  • Flows reach 100 visitors a month free; more cost from $29 a month for 2,000 visitors on monthly billing.

Key features

Chatwoot

One queue for every channel
Website chat, email from Gmail, Outlook or any IMAP inbox, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger are threaded into a single conversation queue.
Captain AI agent
Learns from your help center, PDFs and website, answers routine questions, hands off to a person, and drafts replies for agents.
Help center
A public knowledge base on paid plans that Captain also draws on, with suggestions for questions the articles do not yet answer.
Self-hosting
Runs on a Linux server with PostgreSQL and Redis, with guides for Docker and Kubernetes. Paid self-hosted plans add AI and support.
Open API and webhooks
Send messages, create channels and listen to events through the API, and export conversations and contacts at any time.
Voice calls
Voice calls are included on the Business and Enterprise cloud plans and on paid self-hosted plans.

Tidio

Live chat widget
A chat box for websites and stores, with a list of visitors on the site right now, operating hours and live video calls.
One inbox for every channel
Chat, email, Instagram, Messenger and WhatsApp conversations arrive in a single inbox, with a ticketing system for issues that need follow-up.
Lyro AI Agent
Answers questions from your FAQ and website content and hands off to a person. It can also be bought alone and added to Zendesk or Salesforce.
Flows
Rule-based chat automations built in a visual editor from sales and FAQ templates, such as quote requests or capturing missed conversations.
AI reply help
An AI reply assistant and Copilot help agents write answers; Premium adds Advanced Copilot, AI insights and CSAT.
Apps on every platform
Agents can work in a browser or in apps for Windows, Mac, iOS and Android.

Plans

Chatwoot

  • Hacker$0

    Cloud plan for up to 2 agents and 500 conversations a month, live chat only, with 30 days of data retention. No AI, help center or automation.

  • Community Edition$0

    The open-source edition you host yourself, free forever. No Captain AI, voice calls, custom branding or SSO; help comes through Discord and GitHub.

  • Startups$19

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Cloud plan with all channels, unlimited conversations under fair use, a help center, 300 Captain AI credits a month and 1 year of history.

  • Premium Support$19

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Self-hosted plan adding Captain AI, voice calls, custom branding, agent capacity, roles and permissions, and priority email support.

  • Business$39

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Cloud plan adding voice, teams and automation rules, with 500 Captain AI credits a month and 2 years of history.

  • Enterprise$99

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Cloud plan adding SSO and SAML, audit logs, 800 AI credits and 3 years of history. The self-hosted Enterprise Edition costs the same and adds SLA policies.

Tidio

  • Free$0

    50 billable conversations a month and 10 seats, with live chat, ticketing, social channels and 50 Lyro AI conversations for the life of the account.

  • Starter$24.17

    per month for 100 conversations, billed annually ($29 monthly)

    100 billable conversations a month and 10 seats, adding a live visitors list, operating hours and basic analytics.

  • Growth$49.17

    per month from 250 conversations, billed annually ($59 monthly)

    Adds advanced analytics, permissions, auto-assignment and macros. The price rises with volume, to $349 a month at 2,000 conversations on monthly billing.

  • Plus$300

    per month, plus usage for AI and human conversations

    Custom limits and seat counts, departments, several projects, custom branding, ticketing automations, OpenAPI and a success manager. Sold through sales.

  • PremiumCustom

    From 3,000 Lyro conversations with a guaranteed 50% resolution rate, pay-per-resolution billing, a mobile SDK, SSO and Lyro run as a managed service.

Ways to pay less

Chatwoot

  • Other savings

    Startups plan free for open-source projects

    Chatwoot gives open-source projects the Startups plan free of charge and asks open-source projects and nonprofits to email it to arrange this.

Tidio

  • Annual discount

    Two months free with annual billing

    Tidio's pricing page gives two months free on annual billing: Starter works out to $24.17 a month billed annually against $29 billed monthly.

More comparisons