Skip to content

Chatwoot vs Intercom

We give Chatwoot and Intercom the same GPA: 2.4 out of 4.0. They get the same grade on all five counts.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Chatwoot

Open-source support inbox you can self-host or use in the cloud

Free plan · from $19/mo

Intercom

Helpdesk with live chat and the Fin AI agent priced per outcome

Free trial · from $29/mo

How we grade them

2.4GPAChatwootFair2.4GPAIntercomFair
Value for money
CStartups is $19 an agent a month, a little under this category's middle, with all channels and 300 AI credits. The page doesn't say if that's monthly or yearly. The free self-hosted edition needs your own server, so it doesn't lift the grade.
CEssential is $29 a seat a month billed yearly ($39 monthly), above this category's middle of $24 but short of the dearer quarter. Fin is $0.99 per resolved conversation on top, and workflows and team inboxes need Advanced at $85.
Free plan and trial
CThe free cloud plan is 2 agents and 500 conversations a month, but live chat only, with 30 days of history. The self-hosted Community Edition is free forever if you can run a server. Paid cloud plans have a 15-day trial.
CA 14-day free trial with all features, Fin and the add-ons, and no card needed, so it is a proper look. There is no free plan to drop back to when it ends, though.
Features
BOne queue for chat, email, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger, the Captain AI agent, a help center, voice calls on Business, an open API and webhooks. It covers the job, and you can read and change the source code.
BThe Messenger for websites and apps, a shared inbox with tickets, a help center on every plan, the Fin AI agent, workflows and Copilot in the inbox. Product tours and surveys cost extra, but the support job itself is covered.
Ease of use
CNo store rating on record. The cloud version means connecting each channel and training Captain on your help center. Self-hosting is real work: PostgreSQL, Redis and Docker or Kubernetes.
CNo store rating on record. The Messenger has to go into your site or app, Fin learns from your content, and the automations come with a builder to learn. Not a quick switch-on.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with an open API, webhooks and Slack, Shopify, Stripe, HubSpot, Linear and Dialogflow. There's no desktop app, so it stops at a B.
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with Salesforce, HubSpot, Shopify, Stripe, Statuspage, Zendesk and WhatsApp. Fin can even run on top of Zendesk or Salesforce. No desktop app, though.
Best foran open-source support inbox you can hostin-app chat with an AI agent answering first

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Chatwoot and Intercom. How we grade

Price against what you get

Chatwoot starts at $19 a month for each person and scores 2.7 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Intercom starts at $29 a month for each person and scores 2.7.

They score the same, and Chatwoot starts $10 a month lower. Of the other help desk and live chat tools on the chart, 1 scores higher than Chatwoot for less, and 3 score higher than Intercom for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0$5$10$20$50$100$200$500More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessChatwootIntercom

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of help desk and live chat tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • Chatwoot starts at $19 per agent / month, billing term not stated. Intercom starts at $29 per seat / month, billed annually ($39 billed monthly).
  • Chatwoot has a free plan. Intercom does not, though it has a free trial.
  • Chatwoot is open source and self-hostable, according to its own site.
  • Intercom also covers reports and help desk.
In commonWebiOSAndroidShared inboxLive chatHelp centerAI support agent

At a glance

ChatwootIntercom
PricingFree planFree trial
Starts at$19 per agent / month, billing term not stated$29 per seat / month, billed annually ($39 billed monthly)
Free planHacker cloud plan: up to 2 agents and 500 conversations a month, live chat only, 30 days of history. The self-hosted Community Edition is also free.None
Free trial15-day free trial of the cloud plans14-day free trial with all features, Fin and add-ons, no credit card required
Web
iOS
Android
Made byChatwoot IncIntercom, Inc.
Price read fromchatwoot.comintercom.com
CheckedOct 17, 2026Oct 17, 2026

Who each one suits

Chatwoot

  • Teams that want to run their support inbox on their own servers
  • Small teams starting free with website chat
  • Developers who want an open API and source code they can change

Intercom

  • Software and app companies that support customers through in-app chat
  • Teams that want an AI agent answering first, paid only when it resolves
  • Teams already on Zendesk or Salesforce that want to add Fin alone

Worth knowing

Chatwoot

  • The free Hacker plan is limited to 2 agents, 500 conversations a month, live chat only and 30 days of history.
  • Captain AI credits are 300, 500 or 800 a month by plan; more cost $20 per 1,000, and Captain is not in Hacker or the Community Edition.
  • Voice, teams and automation rules need Business at $39 per agent; SSO and audit logs need Enterprise at $99.
  • The pricing page does not say whether per-agent prices are billed monthly or annually.

Intercom

  • Every Fin outcome costs $0.99 on top of seats, and WhatsApp, SMS, phone and bulk email are billed by usage.
  • Unlimited Copilot costs $29 per agent / month billed annually ($35 monthly); the Pro add-on with Operator starts at $100 a month per workspace.
  • Fin can run on another helpdesk such as Zendesk or Salesforce for $0.99 per outcome with a monthly minimum and no seat fees, sold through sales.
  • Outbound features such as product tours and surveys need Proactive Support Plus, from $99 a month for 500 messages.

Key features

Chatwoot

One queue for every channel
Website chat, email from Gmail, Outlook or any IMAP inbox, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger are threaded into a single conversation queue.
Captain AI agent
Learns from your help center, PDFs and website, answers routine questions, hands off to a person, and drafts replies for agents.
Help center
A public knowledge base on paid plans that Captain also draws on, with suggestions for questions the articles do not yet answer.
Self-hosting
Runs on a Linux server with PostgreSQL and Redis, with guides for Docker and Kubernetes. Paid self-hosted plans add AI and support.
Open API and webhooks
Send messages, create channels and listen to events through the API, and export conversations and contacts at any time.
Voice calls
Voice calls are included on the Business and Enterprise cloud plans and on paid self-hosted plans.

Intercom

Fin AI Agent
Answers customers across channels and hands off to the team inbox. It costs $0.99 per outcome, charged at most once per conversation and not when a human takes over.
Messenger live chat
A chat widget for websites and mobile apps that feeds the same inbox as email and other channels.
Shared inbox and tickets
Conversations and tickets in one inbox with pre-built reports. Advanced adds multiple team inboxes and round-robin assignment.
Help center
A public help center on every plan; Advanced adds private and multilingual help centers and Expert adds one per brand.
Workflows
Basic automation on Essential and a visual workflow automation builder from Advanced up, with SLAs on Expert.
Copilot
An AI assistant in the inbox. Each agent gets 10 Copilot conversations a month free; unlimited use is a paid add-on per agent.

Plans

Chatwoot

  • Hacker$0

    Cloud plan for up to 2 agents and 500 conversations a month, live chat only, with 30 days of data retention. No AI, help center or automation.

  • Community Edition$0

    The open-source edition you host yourself, free forever. No Captain AI, voice calls, custom branding or SSO; help comes through Discord and GitHub.

  • Startups$19

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Cloud plan with all channels, unlimited conversations under fair use, a help center, 300 Captain AI credits a month and 1 year of history.

  • Premium Support$19

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Self-hosted plan adding Captain AI, voice calls, custom branding, agent capacity, roles and permissions, and priority email support.

  • Business$39

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Cloud plan adding voice, teams and automation rules, with 500 Captain AI credits a month and 2 years of history.

  • Enterprise$99

    per agent / month, billing term not stated

    Cloud plan adding SSO and SAML, audit logs, 800 AI credits and 3 years of history. The self-hosted Enterprise Edition costs the same and adds SLA policies.

Intercom

  • Essential$29

    per seat / month, billed annually ($39 billed monthly)

    Messenger live chat, a shared inbox and tickets, pre-built reports, a public help center and basic automation. Fin costs $0.99 per outcome on top.

  • Advanced$85

    per seat / month, billed annually ($99 billed monthly)

    Adds a workflow automation builder, multiple team inboxes, round-robin assignment, a private and multilingual help center and 20 free Lite seats.

  • Expert$132

    per seat / month, billed annually ($139 billed monthly)

    Adds SSO and identity management, HIPAA support, SLAs, a multibrand Messenger and help center, and 50 free Lite seats.

Ways to pay less

Chatwoot

  • Other savings

    Startups plan free for open-source projects

    Chatwoot gives open-source projects the Startups plan free of charge and asks open-source projects and nonprofits to email it to arrange this.

Intercom

  • Annual discount

    Save up to 26% with annual billing

    Intercom's pricing page says paying annually saves up to 26%: Essential is $29 per seat a month billed annually against $39 billed monthly.

  • Startups

    Early Stage: 93% off the first year

    Startups with under $10M raised and fewer than 15 employees get 93% off in year one, 50% in year two and 25% in year three, plus a year of Fin with 300 outcomes.

More comparisons